## A MEMORIAL

DECLARING FEBRUARY 27, 2017 AS "COMMUNITY COLLEGE DAY" IN THE SENATE AND RECOGNIZING THE 2017 COMMUNITY COLLEGE ALL-STATE ACADEMIC TEAM.

WHEREAS, community colleges in New Mexico are strategically located around the state for easy access to the post-secondary colleges and the lifelong learning needs of residents; and

WHEREAS, community colleges now educate and train more than seventy-four thousand New Mexicans in credit programs, or sixty-one percent of the total higher education undergraduate enrollment, and educate and train another estimated ninety thousand New Mexicans in non-credit adult and continuing education classes; and

WHEREAS, community colleges play an important role in local, regional and statewide efforts in literacy training, workforce development, economic development and welfare reform; and

WHEREAS, community colleges are committed to teaching excellence and producing students who excel in their academic and career development;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO that, in recognition of the importance of community colleges in New Mexico, February 27, 2017 be

designated "Community College Day" in the senate; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the nominated community college all-state academic teams from the following colleges be recognized: central New Mexico community college; Clovis community college; eastern New Mexico university-Roswell; eastern New Mexico university-Ruidoso; Luna community college; Mesalands community college; New Mexico junior college; New Mexico military institute; New Mexico state university Alamogordo; New Mexico state university Carlsbad; New Mexico state university Dona Ana; New Mexico state university Grants; northern New Mexico college; San Juan college; Santa Fe community college; southwestern Indian polytechnic institute; university of New Mexico-Los Alamos; university of New Mexico-Taos; and university of New Mexico-Valencia; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this memorial be transmitted to the presidents of central New Mexico community college; Clovis community college; eastern New Mexico university-Roswell; eastern New Mexico university-Ruidoso; Luna community college; Mesalands community college; New Mexico junior college; New Mexico military institute; New Mexico state university Alamogordo; New Mexico state university Carlsbad; New Mexico state university Dona Ana; New Mexico state university Grants; northern New Mexico college; San Juan college; Santa Fe community college;

1	southwestern Indian polytechnic institute; university of	
2	New Mexico-Los Alamos; university of New Mexico-Taos; and	
3	university of New Mexico-Valencia	_ SM 80
4		Page 3
5		
6		
7		
8		
9		
10		
11		
12		
13		
14		
15		
16		
17		
18		
19		
20		
21		
22		
23		
24		
25		