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SUMMARY 
 
     Synopsis of SPAC Amendement 
  
SPAC amdendment to SB 19 strikes “younger” on page 2, line 15, and inserts “no more” so that 
the line reads 
 
     Synopsis of Bill 
 
SB 159 amends Section 30-6-1 NMSA 1978 by distinguishing the penalties for intentional abuse 
of a child and negligent abuse of a child, as follows: 

 Intentional abuse of a child that does not result in death or great bodily harm is a second 
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degree felony for the first offense. 
 Intentional abuse of a child that does not result in death or great bodily harm is a first 

degree felony for every subsequent offense.  
 Negligent abuse of a child that does not result in death or great bodily harm is a third 

degree felony for the first offense.  
 Negligent abuse of a child that does not result in death or great bodily harm is a second 

degree felony for every subsequent offense. 
 Both Intentional and Negligent abuse of a child resulting in death is a first degree felony. 

 
SB 159 also amends Section 30-6-1(L) to clarify that a person who leaves an infant 90 days old 
or younger at a safe haven site may be prosecuted for abuse of the infant for actions of the person 
occurring before the infant was left at the safe haven site. 
 
The effective date of the Act is July 1, 2017. 
 
FISCAL IMPLICATIONS  
 
Enhanced sentences over time will increase the population of New Mexico’s prisons and long-
term costs to the general fund. According to the New Mexico Corrections Department (NMCD), 
the average cost per day to house an inmate in a state prison is $123, or about $45,250 per year.  
A longer length of stay would increase the cost to house the offender in prison. In addition, 
sentencing enhancements could contribute to overall population growth as increased sentence  
lengths decrease releases relative to the rate of admissions. 
 
The AOC reported any additional fiscal impact to the judiciary would be proportional to the 
enforcement of this law and the commenced hearings.  Increased penalties cases may result in an 
increase in the number of accused persons who will invoke their right to trial and their right to 
trial by jury.  More trials and more jury trials will require additional judge time, courtroom staff 
time, courtroom availability, and jury fees.  There will be a minimal administrative cost for 
statewide update, distribution and documentation of statutory changes.  
 
There is no appropriation included in this bill; no additional impact on the operating budgets for  
the Children, Youth and Families Department (CYFD) was reported.  
 
The AODA previously reported a possibility of fiscal impact for District Attorney’s Offices 
statewide for additional prosecutorial resources.  
 
The PDD previously reported the proposed change in punishment is not likely to increase 
caseloads; however significantly increasing penalties for intentional child abuse resulting in 
death making resolution by plea agreement less likely and increasing the number of cases going 
to trial. Additionally, the PDD stated such cases will need to be handled by higher-paid, more 
experienced attorneys. There could also be an increased need for investigators or experts. Any 
increase in the demand or need for more experienced attorneys or other personnel may bring an 
associated need for an increase in indigent defense funding to maintain compliance with 
constitutional mandates.  
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SIGNIFICANT ISSUES 
 
The AOC reported this bill separates out and increases the penalties for intentional child abuse 
not resulting in death or great bodily harm from what is currently called abuse not resulting in 
death or great bodily harm.  The amended language in Section 30-6-1(E) adds the term 
“negligent” before the term “abuse,” thus creating a section for negligent abuse and another 
section for intentional abuse.  The purpose of HB 68 is to enact increased penalties for 
intentional child abuse. However, in adding the word “negligent” in Subsection (E), HB 68 is 
likely to perpetuate confusion that has existed in both case law and the Rules for Uniform Jury 
Instructions.  This issue has been the subject of two recent NM Supreme Court cases, State v 
Consaul and State v Montoya.  
 
In State v Consaul, 2014-NMSC-30, the NM Supreme Court expressly overruled prior case law 
regarding criminal child abuse stating that, “…what has long been called criminally negligent 
child abuse should be hereafter labeled reckless child abuse without any reference to 
negligence.” State v Consaul, 2014-NMSC-30, ¶37, 332 P.3d 850. Consaul explains the Court’s 
history of discomfort with language often associated with civil negligence used in the context of 
criminal negligence.  The Court specifically mentions Section 30-6-1(A)(3) and the phrase 
“knew or should have known,” concluding that the legislature must have “intended the term 
‘reckless disregard’ to prevail when ‘knew or should have known’ conflicts.” Id. ¶40. 
 
In State v Montoya, 2015-NMSC-10, the New Mexico Supreme Court reiterated its holding in 
Consaul, stating that, “…thus we now expressly adopt the same rule that ‘criminally negligent 
child abuse’ should hereafter be labeled ‘reckless child abuse’ without any reference to 
negligence.” 
 
In addition, AOC reported SB 159 reflects that, pursuant to the Safe Haven for Infants Act, 
Section 24-22-1 NMSA 1978  et seq., an infant may be left at a safe haven site.  Section 24-22-
2(F) defines a "safe haven site" to mean a hospital, law enforcement agency or fire station that 
has staff on-site at the time an infant is left at such a site. 
 
CYFD stated negligent abuse of a child and intentional abuse of a child are different with regard 
to the mindset of the offender.  To be convicted of negligent child abuse, it must be proven that 
the defendant acted with reckless disregard for the safety and health of the child. This is more 
than mere negligence or carelessness, but does not rise to the level of intentional conduct. 
Reckless disregard is defined as causing or permitting a substantial and unjustifiable risk of 
serious harm to the safety or health of the child.  (14-612 NMRA) A person acts intentionally 
when they purposefully do the criminal act. (14-141 NMRA) This bill changes the penalty to 
match the level of the defendant’s culpability by increasing the degree of felony when the abuse 
is done intentionally. 
 
PERFORMANCE IMPLICATIONS 
 
The courts are participating in performance-based budgeting.  This bill may have an impact on 
the measures of the district courts in the following areas: 

 Cases disposed of as a percent of cases filed 
 Percentage change in case filings by case type 
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ADMINISTRATIVE IMPLICATIONS  
 
AOC reported the following: 

 These cases may increase the workload for court staff as well as judges. 
 Appeals of conviction may also require increased court staff and judicial time. 

 
CONFLICT, DUPLICATION, COMPANIONSHIP, RELATIONSHIP 
 
HB 45 conflicts with SB 159 because it does not distinguish between intentional and negligent 
child abuse penalties, whereas SB 159 creates that distinction.  
 
HB 45 amends NMSA 1978 Section 30-6-1(G-H) by removing age distinctions, increasing 
the penalty for intentional abuse of a child that results in death a first degree felony resulting 
in life imprisonment regardless of age.  SB 159 leaves the age distinction penalties intact.   
 
HB13 (“Three Strikes Law”) cites subsections E, F, G, and H of § 30-6-1. Those citations would 
have to be adjusted if the subsections are reordered as proposed in SB159.  
 
TECHNICAL ISSUES 
 
AOC suggest amending 30-6-1 to reflect the recent NM Supreme Court decisions by replacing 
the word “negligent” in Section 30-6-1 with the word “reckless” wherever it appears. Replace 
the definition of negligently in Section 30-6-1(A)(3) with reckless 
 
“negligently” refers to criminal negligence and 
means that a person knew or should have 
known of the danger involved and acted with a 
reckless disregard for the safety or health of the 
child. 

“reckless” means to consciously disregard a 
substantial and unjustifiable risk of such a 
nature and degree that its disregard involves a 
gross deviation from a reasonable standard of 
conduct.  

 
AGO suggested, to be consistent with the definition of “infant” found at § 24-22-2(D) of the Safe 
Havens for Infants Act, § 30-6-1(C) should use the term “no more than ninety days old” rather 
than “less than” or “younger than” ninety days old.  Otherwise, § 24-22-2(D) covers children 
who are exactly 90 days old, but § 30-6-1(C) does not. (SB159 does amend reordered subsection 
L to say “no more than ninety days old.”) 
 
OTHER SUBSTANTIVE ISSUES 
 
AGO stated by its terms, reordered subsection L applies to both negligent and intentional abuse, 
insofar as it provides that “[e]vidence that a child has been knowingly, intentionally or 
negligently allowed to enter or remain in a motor vehicle, building or any other premises” shall 
be deemed “prima facie evidence of abuse of the child” under certain circumstances. By contrast, 
reordered subsection K provides that “evidence that demonstrates that a child has been 
knowingly or intentionally exposed to the use of methamphetamine shall be deemed prima facie 
evidence of abuse of the child.” If evidence that a child was negligently exposed to use of 
methamphetamine also is meant to be deemed prima facie evidence of abuse, this subsection 
should be appropriately amended. 
 
KK/sb/al               


