54th legislature - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - first session, 2019


Pete Campos









     WHEREAS, New Mexico has experienced an unprecedented boom in film and television production because of the state's competitive incentives, talented crew both behind and in front of the camera, robust infrastructure, perfect weather, welcoming residents and great locations; and

     WHEREAS, New Mexico is now recognized nationally and internationally by the film industry as a place not only to shoot its projects but to base its operations permanently; and

     WHEREAS, the film industry continues to look at legislation upon which to build its success; and

     WHEREAS, the following prominent New Mexicans, locations and films are being recognized by the New Mexico film and televison hall of fame for their significant contributions to New Mexico film:

          A. Greer Garson, actor and benefactor;

          B. Wes Studi, actor;

          C. Maura Dhu Studi, educator and advocate;

          D. Rod McCall, producer and director;

          E. Mark Medoff, writer and producer;

          F. Alton Walpole, producer;

          G. Anne Lerner, former head of the Albuquerque film office;

          H. Jo Edna Boldin, casting director;

          I. the city of Las Vegas, where New Mexico film was first established and the filming location of three of the films being recognized for significant anniversaries, Easy Rider, Red Dawn and All the Pretty Horses; and

          J. other films to be recognized, The Book of Eli,

Crazy Heart, Journey to the Center of the Earth and The Tao of Steve; and

      WHEREAS, the New Mexico film and television hall of fame is also honoring the following rising stars: actor Amber Midthunder, who is currently starring in Legion on national television; director and writer Julie Burris; independent filmmaker Joe Lonesome; winner of The Voice Chevel Shepherd, and local filmmaker Denali Tiller; and

     WHEREAS, the New Mexico film and television hall of fame is also recognizing those who have passed on: production coordinator Janie Elliott and all-around crew member Jason Jester Smith, along with Sam Shepard, Roberta Leeds and Dennis Hopper; and

     WHEREAS, film week features panels, presentations and an educators' conference; and

     WHEREAS, actor Ed Asner, the former president of the screen actors guild, will accept a lifetime achievement award during film week; and

     WHEREAS, programs will also honor Native American and Latin and African American filmmakers;

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO that February 15, 2019 be designated "Film Day" in the senate; and

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this memorial be transmitted to the acting director of the New Mexico film office and the chair of the board of the Santa Fe film festival.

- 3 -