1	SENATE MEMORIAL 2
2	54TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SPECIAL SESSION, 2020
3	INTRODUCED BY
4	Peter Wirth and Stuart Ingle
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	A MEMORIAL
11	RECOGNIZING SENATOR MARY KAY PAPEN, SENATOR JOHN ARTHUR SMITH,
12	SENATOR RICHARD C. MARTINEZ, SENATOR CLEMENTE "MEMÉ" SANCHEZ,
13	SENATOR JAMES P. WHITE, SENATOR GREGG FULFER AND SENATOR
14	GABRIEL RAMOS FOR THEIR SIGNIFICANT SERVICE AND LEADERSHIP TO
15	NEW MEXICO.
16	
17	WHEREAS, Senator Mary Kay Papen was first elected in 2001
18	and has served twenty years in the senate representing Dona Ana
19	county in district thirty-eight; and
20	WHEREAS, Senator Papen has served on many standing and
21	interim committees during her tenure in the senate, including
22	as chair of the senate committees' committee, as vice chair of
23	the senate education committee and as a co-chair on the New
24	Mexico legislative council; and
25	WHEREAS, Senator Papen was selected to serve as president
	.218013.2

<u>underscored material = new</u> [<del>bracketed material</del>] = delete pro tempore of the senate in 2013 and has served in that role for eight years; and

WHEREAS, some of Senator Papen's most notable legislation includes the Assisted Outpatient Treatment Act, the Wholesale Prescription Drug Importation Act and Katie's Law; and

WHEREAS, outside of the legislature, Senator Papen has volunteered and served on various foundation and committee boards, which has led her to receive numerous awards, including the governor's award for outstanding New Mexico women in 2000; and

WHEREAS, Senator John Arthur Smith was first elected in 1989 and has served thirty-two years in the senate, representing Dona Ana, Hidalgo, Luna and Sierra counties in district thirty-five; and

WHEREAS, Senator Smith has served as chair of the senate finance committee since 2008, and he formerly served as chair of the senate corporations and transportation committee and as vice chair of the senate public affairs committee; and

WHEREAS, Senator Smith has worked countless hours helping the state to maintain a balanced budget; and

WHEREAS, apart from his work on the state budget, Senator Smith has worked on legislation for health coverage for unmarried dependents, legislative oversight of the New Mexico lottery and the Learning Center Act; and

WHEREAS, Senator Richard C. Martinez was first elected in .218013.2

<u>underscored material = new</u> [<del>bracketed material</del>] = delete 1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

2001 and has served twenty years in the senate representing Los Alamos, Rio Arriba, Santa Fe and Taos counties in district five; and

WHEREAS, Senator Martinez served as vice chair on the senate judiciary committee from 2005 to 2010 and as chair from 2011 to 2019, and he also served as vice chair of the senate conservation committee; and

WHEREAS, Senator Martinez received the New Mexico mining association's Senator Ben D. Altamirano award for legislative excellence in 2010; and

WHEREAS, during his tenure in the senate, Senator Martinez has worked on the following notable legislation: the firearm sale background check, use of public water and landowner protection and providing authority to the northern New Mexico state school to develop and implement a teacher education program; and

WHEREAS, Senator Clemente "Memé" Sanchez was first elected in 2013 and has served eight years in the senate representing Cibola, McKinley, Socorro and Valencia counties in district thirty; and

WHEREAS, Senator Sanchez has served as vice chair on the senate corporations and transportation committee from 2013 to 2015 and as chair from 2016 to present, and he also served as chair on the committee on compacts; and

WHEREAS, Senator Sanchez has worked on numerous pieces of .218013.2

<u>underscored material = new</u> [<del>bracketed material</del>] = delete 1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

legislation throughout his time in the senate, most notably legislation on raising the minimum wage, providing authority for creation of an off-campus instructional center for the university of New Mexico in Valencia county and narrowing a gross receipts tax deduction for chemicals and reagents; and

WHEREAS, Senator James P. White, who was first elected in 2009 and served as a member of the house of representatives until 2014 and was elected as a member of the senate in 2016, has served a total of nine years in the legislature representing Bernalillo, Sandoval, Torrance and Santa Fe counties; and

WHEREAS, Senator White served as a member of numerous standing and interim committees during his time in the senate, including the senate education committee, the senate finance committee and the senate corporations and transportation committee; and

WHEREAS, Senator White is a retired United States air force colonel who served in the air force for twenty-six years and whose experience in the air force influenced his time in the legislature, as exemplified by his work on an aviation gross receipts tax reduction bill for which he received a greater Albuquerque chamber of commerce start to finish award in 2014; and

WHEREAS, Senator Gregg Fulfer was appointed to the senate in 2019 and served two years in the senate representing Lea and .218013.2

<u>underscored material = new</u> [<del>bracketed material</del>] = delete 1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

1 2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

## Eddy counties in district forty-one; and

WHEREAS, Senator Fulfer served as a member of the senate corporations and transportation committee and the senate education committee; and

WHEREAS, during his time in the senate, Senator Fulfer sponsored the engineering and surveying scholarship program; and

WHEREAS, Senator Gabriel Ramos was appointed to the senate in 2019 and served two years in the senate representing Catron, Grant and Socorro counties in district twenty-eight; and

WHEREAS, Senator Ramos served as vice chair of the senate Indian and cultural affairs committee in 2019 and served as chair in 2020, and he also served as a co-chair of the tobacco settlement revenue oversight committee in 2019; and

WHEREAS, Senator Ramos has sponsored various pieces of legislation during his time in the senate, most notably the Tobacco Products Tax Act and the temporary election changes for the 2020 general election;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO that Senator Mary Kay Papen, Senator John Arthur Smith, Senator Richard C. Martinez, Senator Clemente "Memé" Sanchez, Senator James P. White, Senator Gregg Fulfer and Senator Gabriel Ramos be recognized for their significant service and leadership to New Mexico; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this memorial be .218013.2

<u>underscored material = new</u> [<del>bracketed material</del>] = delete

[ <del>bracketed material</del> ] = delete	1	transmitted to Senator Mary Kay Papen, Senator John Arthur
	2	Smith, Senator Richard C. Martinez, Senator Clemente "Memé"
	3	Sanchez, Senator James P. White, Senator Gregg Fulfer and
	4	Senator Gabriel Ramos.
	5	- 6 -
	6	
	7	
	8	
	9	
	10	
	11	
	12	
	13	
	14	
	15	
	16	
	17	
	18	
	19	
	20	
	21	
	22	
	23	
	24	
	25	
		.218013.2

<u>underscored material = new</u>