Fiscal impact reports (FIRs) are prepared by the Legislative Finance Committee (LFC) for standing finance committees of the NM Legislature. The LFC does not assume responsibility for the accuracy of these reports if they are used for other purposes.

Current and previously issued FIRs are available on the NM Legislative Website (www.nmlegis.gov).

FISCAL IMPACT REPORT

SPONSOR Sedillo Lopez SHORT TITLE Change Ed Re		illo Lopez	ORIGINAL DATE 02/11/21 LAST UPDATED		НВ		
		Change Ed Retirement Board Membership			SB	303	
				ANAI	LYST	Jorgensen	

ESTIMATED ADDITIONAL OPERATING BUDGET IMPACT (dollars in thousands)

	FY21	FY22	FY23	3 Year Total Cost	Recurring or Nonrecurring	Fund Affected
Total		Minimal	Minimal	Minimal		

(Parenthesis () Indicate Expenditure Decreases)

SOURCES OF INFORMATION

LFC Files

Responses Received From
Education Retirement Board (ERB)
Higher Education Department (HED)

SUMMARY

Synopsis of Bill

Senate Bill 303 (SB303) increases the Education Retirement Board from seven members to nine members including: a member elected to a four-year term by members of the American Federation Of Teachers, New Mexico; and the Secretary of Higher Education, or a designee. An HED designee would be required to be a New Mexico resident, a current HED employee, and have relevant experience.

FISCAL IMPLICATIONS

Increasing the number of board members may lead to a minor increase in costs for per diem and mileage reimbursements as well as any other training costs. These costs would be paid from ERB funds.

SIGNIFICANT ISSUES

Currently, the Board is composed of seven members:

• the secretary of the Public Education Department (or a designee of the secretary);

Senate Bill 303 – Page 2

- the State Treasurer (or a designee of the treasurer);
- one member elected to a four-year term by members of the New Mexico Association of Educational Retirees;
- one member elected to a four-year term by members of the National Education Association of New Mexico;
- one member elected to a four-year term by the New Mexico members of the American Association of University Professors; and
- two members appointed by the governor for terms of four years each.

CJ/sb