A MEMORIAL

DECLARING FEBRUARY 15, 2023 "COMMUNITY COLLEGE DAY" IN THE SENATE AND RECOGNIZING THE 2023 COMMUNITY COLLEGE ALL-STATE ACADEMIC TEAM.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

16

17

18

19

WHEREAS, community colleges in New Mexico are strategically located around the state for easy access to post-secondary education and the lifelong learning needs of the state's residents; and

WHEREAS, community colleges educate and train more than fifty-four thousand New Mexicans in credit programs, accounting for fifty-three percent of the total higher education undergraduate enrollment, and another estimated ninety thousand New Mexicans are enrolled in noncredit adult and continuing education programs; and

WHEREAS, community colleges play an important role in local, regional and statewide efforts in literacy training, workforce development, economic development and welfare reform; and

20 WHEREAS, community colleges are committed to teaching 21 excellence and producing students who excel in academic and 22 career development; and

WHEREAS, the nominated community college all-state
academic team consists of the following students:
Myriaha K. Briseno, central New Mexico community college

SM 36 Page 1

1 Serina Burks, central New Mexico community college 2 Cassandra Butler, central New Mexico community college 3 Matthew D. Waite, central New Mexico community college Miriam J. Arita, central New Mexico community college 4 Candice J. Clark, central New Mexico community college 5 Aerial M. Valenzuela, central New Mexico community college 6 Amber K. Duran, central New Mexico community college 7 8 Sandra K. Roddy, central New Mexico community college Noah Juarez, central New Mexico community college 9 Alejandro Torres, central New Mexico community college 10 Abbigail Chabries, New Mexico state university-Alamogordo 11 Rhiannon Chavez, New Mexico state university-Grants 12 Melissa Lee, New Mexico state university-Grants 13 Jerrick Billy, San Juan college 14 Adriana King, San Juan college 15 Julie Robinson, San Juan college 16 Rachael Ryan, Santa Fe community college 17 Alexis Aragon, university of New Mexico-Gallup 18 Rachel Chavez, university of New Mexico-Gallup 19 Lily Houghteling, university of New Mexico-Los Alamos 20 Nathan Oswald, university of New Mexico-Taos 21 Miranda Duran, university of New Mexico-Valencia; 22 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE 23 STATE OF NEW MEXICO that in recognition of the importance of 24

community colleges in New Mexico, February 15, 2023 be

25

SM 36 Page 2

1	designated "Community College Day" in the constant and	
	designated "Community College Day" in the senate; and	
2	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this memorial be	
3	transmitted to members of the community college all-state	
4	academic team	SM 36 Page 3
5		
6		
7		
8		
9		
10		
11		
12		
13		
14		
15		
16		
17		
18		
19		
20 21		
22		
22		
23		
24		
23		