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ESTIMATED ADDITIONAL OPERATING BUDGET IMPACT* 

(dollars in thousands) 
 

 FY23 FY24 FY25 3 Year 
Total Cost 

Recurring or 
Nonrecurring 

Fund 
Affected 

NMCD No Fiscal Impact No Fiscal Impact No Fiscal 
Impact 

No Fiscal 
Impact   

County Jails $3,828.0 $3,828.0 $3,828.0 $11,484.0 Recurring County Funds 
Total       

Parentheses ( ) indicate expenditure decreases. 
*Amounts reflect most recent version of this legislation. 
 
Sources of Information 
 
LFC Files 
 
Responses Received From 
Children, Youth and Families Department (CYFD) 
New Mexico Attorney General (NMAG) 
New Mexico Corrections Department (NMCD) 
New Mexico Counties (NM Counties) 
New Mexico Sentencing Commission (NMSC) 
 
SUMMARY 
 
Synopsis of Senate Bill 399 
 
Senate Bill 399 amends the Restrictive Housing Act to reduce the period of time each day that an 
inmate may be confined in restricted housing without any rehabilitative programming that 
includes daily, meaningful and sustained human interaction from 22 hours to 17 hours per day. 
 
SB 399 also amends restrictions on the use of restrictive housing: 

• The current prohibition on using restricted housing for inmates under 18 now excludes 
inmates younger than 21 or older than 55; 

• The current prohibition on using restricted housing for inmates known to be pregnant is 
expanded to include those inmates who are eight or fewer weeks postpartum; 

• The use of involuntary restricted housing or protective custody for inmates who belong to 
vulnerable populations (including those who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, 
transgender, or queer) is newly prohibited; 



Senate Bill 399 – Page 2 
 

• For inmates housed in facilities operated by NMCD (including its contractors), the use of 
restricted housing for more than 15 consecutive days or more than 90 total days in a 12-
month period is newly prohibited; 

• If an inmate requires housing in restricted housing for more than 90 total days in a 12-
month period, the person in charge of the correctional facility is now required to make a 
written record of the reason behind the need for using restricted housing and prepare a 
written action plan for transitioning the inmate out of restricted housing as soon as 
possible; and 

• The use of restricted housing for inmates housed in a county jail or other local 
government facility is now prohibited for the first three days of incarceration unless a 
suicide screening finds that the inmate is unlikely to engage in self-harm. 

 
Existing law requiring quarterly reports concerning inmates in restrictive housing is amended to 
require inclusion of every inmate’s name and identification number and to remove the 
requirement that the report include the reason each inmate was placed in restrictive housing. 
NMCD remains responsible for posting every report on its public website. 
 
This bill does not contain an effective date and, as a result, would go into effect June 16, 2023, 
(90 days after the Legislature adjourns) if signed into law. 
 
FISCAL IMPLICATIONS 
 
NMCD budgets a correctional officer vacancy at $66 thousand per year. Assuming SB399 
requires at least two new officers to be employed at each of the 11 prisons in the state to 
supervise inmates from restrictive housing, the cost to NMCD would be approximately $1.5 
million per year. Given the agency’s $23 million in vacancy savings, this cost likely can be 
absorbed by the agency, resulting in no fiscal impact. Assuming that same need at the county 
level, LFC staff estimates the fiscal impact to be $3.8 million (two correctional officers each at 
29 jails) per year. 
 
SIGNIFICANT ISSUES 
 
The proportion of individuals in custody for violent offenses has increased substantially since 
2010, according to NM Counties based on a 2020 study by NMSC of detention populations in 
six counties. NM Counties explains the reasons for and difficulties in housing at least some of 
these inmates in restricted housing: 

There are several reasons why someone might be placed in restricted confinement. It is 
an important component of discipline for detainees that assault staff or each other. It is a 
tool for protective custody for individuals who are vulnerable or dangerous. It can be 
required for individuals on medical quarantine. 
 
Detention facility housing units with cells have day rooms where detainees spend their 
out of cell time. Detainees who cannot be mixed cannot be out of their cells and in the 
common area at the same time. Housing units typically contain at least 10 cells. There are 
not enough hours in the day to provide everyone in a mixed classification housing unit 
with 7 hours of out of cell time per day. 
 

 Further: 
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Out of cell time for violent and dangerous individuals in restricted confinement is 
extremely staff intensive with 2 or more staff required to move such individuals to and 
from their cells. County detention facilities are currently experiencing a staffing crisis 
with more than half having a staff vacancy rate of more than 20% and some with vacancy 
rates of over 30, 40 and even 50%. 

 
In short, NM Counties argues that increasing the number of hours per day that persons in 
detention must be outside their cells will compromise safety and security, require substantial 
physical plant expansion, and cause a significant increase in detention personnel.  NMCD raises 
similar concerns: 

In August 2016, the Standards Committee of the American Correctional Association—a 
professional association and accrediting organization for corrections—voted to pass 
comprehensive standards regulating the use of restrictive housing. NMCD has adopted 
these standards. This bill drastically diverges from existing best practices in corrections 
that define restricted housing as no more than 22 hours in a 24-hour period without daily 
meaningful human interaction.   

 
These decisions are operational in nature and must be left up to experienced corrections 
leaders who are ultimately responsible for managing New Mexico’s most dangerous 
criminals. Even when done for well-intended purposes, failure to properly secure an 
inmate who has proven to be dangerous and violent is irresponsible and risks the lives of 
hundreds of staff and other inmates. 
 

NMCD reports it already limits the number of days an inmate can be placed in restricted housing 
to 30 consecutive days and no longer places female inmates in restrictive housing. According to 
NMCD, the number of inmates in restricted housing at any given time represents less than 2 
percent of the total inmate population of NMCD. 
 
Both NM Counties and NMCD object to the restriction barring the placement of members of a 
vulnerable population in protective custody, arguing that such placement is used only as 
necessary to reduce the threat of harm or due to the inmate’s own safety concerns.  NM Counties 
notes that, while federal regulation provide that a person’s gender identity or sexual orientation 
should not be the sole reason for classification decisions, it believes that SB399 imposes “blanket 
requirements that ignore the many legitimate factors that should be considered.” Similarly, 
NMAG comments that this type of bright-line rule could limit a facility’s ability to maintain 
order and safety for all inmates. NMSC points out that the use of the phrase “vulnerable 
population” without definition may lead to difficulties in implementation and NMAG believes 
could result in litigation. 
 
Addressing the impact of SB399 on juvenile detention and adjudication, CYFD advises Juvenile 
Justice Services does not classify clients into restrictive housing units like segregation or 
isolation units. According to CYFD, as a matter of policy and procedure, its clients are generally 
not placed in long-term isolated confinements. It notes that, during room confinement, its clients 
are offered programming and services that address SB399’s mandate of rehabilitative 
programming.  It does note, however, the bill does not provide exceptions for quarantine or other 
medical circumstances that might require client segregation. CYFD, along with NM Counties, 
notes that requiring names in public quarterly reports could violate Children’s Code provisions 
and regulations. See Section 32A-2-32, NMSA 1978 and 8.14.14.11(G) NMAC.  NM Counties 
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asserts, as well, that there is no legitimate public purpose for requiring names in the quarterly 
reports. 
 
PERFORMANCE IMPLICATIONS 
 

CYFD reports it has performance measures related to physical assaults involving juvenile 
clients. Removing clients from the milieu can reduce tension in the general population 
and placing an unsafe client in the milieu could contribute to an increase in assaultive 
incidents. 

 
TECHNICAL ISSUES 
 
NMSC notes that, as drafted, Section 2 (D) and (E) conflict.  Subsection D could be revised to 
state “Except as provided in Subsection (E)” at the beginning of the subsection. 
 
OTHER SUBSTANTIVE ISSUES 
 
NMSC comments: 

Advocates for the reform or abolition of the use of restricted housing argue that the 
practice does not improve safety in correctional facilities and may increase the rate of 
recidivism, in addition to having negative effects on the psychological, neurological, and 
physiological wellbeing of inmates. See, e.g., “The Impacts of Solitary Confinement” 
published by the Vera Institute of Justice, April 2021, available here: 
https://www.vera.org/downloads/publications/the-impacts-of-solitary-confinement.pdf.  
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