25

# 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

1

2

3

5

6

7

8

## HOUSE MEMORIAL 38

# 56TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - SECOND SESSION, 2024

#### INTRODUCED BY

Joseph L. Sanchez

### A MEMORIAL

SUPPORTING THE TRANSFER OF THE EL VALLE SCHOOLHOUSE BY THE PENASCO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT TO THREE ACEQUIA ASSOCIATIONS IN EL VALLE.

WHEREAS, the El Valle schoolhouse is a one-room building that served as the educational facility for students in the community of El Valle in the early to mid-1900s; and

WHEREAS, since 1999, Taos county has leased the El Valle schoolhouse from the Penasco independent school district and dedicated the use of the building to the local community; and

WHEREAS, approximately twenty years ago, Taos county appropriated funds for use by a local community association to make improvements to the El Valle schoolhouse, and community members led the renovation effort; and

WHEREAS, since the mid-1900s, the El Valle schoolhouse has .227751.1

primarily been used by the three acequia associations in El Valle for the purpose of holding parciante and other organizational meetings; and

WHEREAS, the acequia de Arriba, acequia de Abajo and acequia del Llano de San Miguel are organized as political subdivisions of the state of New Mexico and intend to seek the transfer of ownership of the El Valle schoolhouse from the Penasco independent school district to the three acequia associations, which will ensure that the building is dedicated to community use;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO that the prospective
request be supported to transfer ownership of the El Valle
schoolhouse from the Penasco independent school district to the
acequia de Arriba, acequia de Abajo and acequia del Llano de
San Miguel in El Valle, in accordance with applicable law and
consistent with the process followed by the school district for
the transfer of the property; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this memorial be transmitted to the superintendent of the Penasco independent school district and the presidents of the acequia de Arriba, acequia de Abajo and acequia del Llano de San Miguel.

- 2 -