1	HOUSE BILL 352
2	57TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SESSION, 2025
3	INTRODUCED BY
4	Susan K. Herrera and Joseph L. Sanchez and Leo Jaramillo
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	AN ACT
11	RELATING TO COURTS; CLOSING MAGISTRATE CIRCUIT COURTS IN THE
12	MCKINLEY, SANTA FE, TORRANCE, DONA ANA AND LEA DISTRICTS;
13	RELOCATING MAGISTRATE DISTRICT COURTS IN THE GRANT AND SAN JUAN
14	DISTRICTS; RELOCATING A CIRCUIT COURT IN THE RIO ARRIBA
15	DISTRICT.
16	
17	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:
18	SECTION 1. Section 35-1-10 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968,
19	Chapter 62, Section 12, as amended) is amended to read:
20	"35-1-10. MAGISTRATE COURTDONA ANA DISTRICTThere
21	shall be seven magistrates in Dona Ana magistrate district.
22	Divisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7 shall operate as a single
23	court in Las Cruces and shall rotate riding circuit to Anthony
24	[and Hatch] on a regularly scheduled basis."
25	SECTION 2. Section 35-1-12 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968,
	.230349.1

<u>underscored material = new</u> [bracketed material] = delete

1	Chapter 62, Section 14) is amended to read:
2	"35-1-12. MAGISTRATE COURTGRANT DISTRICT
3	A. Prior to January 1, 2027, there shall be two
4	magistrates in Grant magistrate district, division 1 in Silver
5	City and division 2 in Bayard.
6	B. Beginning January 1, 2027, there shall be two
7	magistrates in Grant magistrate district, and divisions 1 and 2
8	shall operate as a single court in Silver City."
9	SECTION 3. Section 35-1-16 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968,
10	Chapter 62, Section 18, as amended) is amended to read:
11	"35-1-16. MAGISTRATE COURTLEA DISTRICT
12	[A. Through December 31, 2010, there shall be five
13	magistrates in Lea magistrate district, division l in
14	Lovington, divisions 2 and 5 operating as a single court in
15	Hobbs, division 3 in Eunice and division 4. The division 3
16	magistrate shall ride circuit to Jal on a regularly scheduled
17	basis and shall ride circuit to Hobbs as needed. The division
18	4 magistrate shall ride circuit to Lovington, Hobbs and Eunice.
19	B. On January 1, 2011] <u>A.</u> there shall be four
20	magistrates in the Lea magistrate district, divisions 1 and 2
21	operating as a single court in Hobbs, division 3 in Eunice and
22	division 4 in Lovington. The division 3 magistrate [shall ride
23	circuit to Jal on a regularly scheduled basis and] shall ride
24	circuit to Hobbs as needed.

[C.] <u>B.</u> Magistrate judges shall not be elected at .230349.1 - 2 -

[bracketed material] = delete <u>underscored material = new</u>

25

1 large from the district but shall be elected by the voters of 2 the division for which the magistrate sits. Magistrate judges 3 shall reside in their divisions but shall have district-wide 4 jurisdiction. For the 2010 and subsequent elections, the 5 composition of the divisions for elections and residence purposes is as follows: 6 7 division l is composed of Lea county (1)8 precincts 23 through 30, 32 and 41 through 43; 9 division 2 is composed of Lea county (2) 10 precincts 33 through 35, 44, 51 through 55 and 61; 11 (3) division 3 is composed of Lea county 12 precincts 20, 22, 31, 36, 62 and 71 through 74; and 13 (4) division 4 is composed of Lea county 14 precincts 2, 3, 10 through 18 and 21." 15 SECTION 4. Section 35-1-20 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968, 16 Chapter 62, Section 22, as amended) is amended to read: 17 "35-1-20. MAGISTRATE COURT--MCKINLEY DISTRICT.--There 18 shall be three magistrates in McKinley magistrate district, 19 divisions 1, 2 and 3 operating as a single court in Gallup. 20 [The division 3 magistrate shall ride circuit to Thoreau.]" 21 SECTION 5. Section 35-1-24 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968, 22 Chapter 62, Section 26, as amended) is amended to read: 23 "35-1-24. MAGISTRATE COURT--RIO ARRIBA DISTRICT.--24 A. Prior to January 1, 2027, there shall be two 25 magistrates in Rio Arriba magistrate district, divisions 1 and .230349.1 - 3 -

underscored material = new
[bracketed material] = delete

2 operating as a single court in Espanola. The magistrates shall rotate riding circuit to Chama as needed.

<u>B. Beginning January 1, 2027, there shall be two</u> <u>magistrates in Rio Arriba magistrate district, divisions 1 and</u> <u>2 operating as a single court in Espanola. The magistrates</u> <u>shall ride circuit to Tierra Amarilla as needed.</u>"

SECTION 6. Section 35-1-27 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968, Chapter 62, Section 29, as amended) is amended to read:

9 "35-1-27. MAGISTRATE COURT--SAN JUAN DISTRICT ELECTION
10 DIVISION PRECINCTS.--

A. <u>Prior to January 1, 2027</u>, there shall be six magistrate divisions in San Juan magistrate district, each division having its own magistrate. Divisions 1, 4 and 6 shall operate as a single court in Aztec and divisions 2, 3 and 5 shall operate as a single court in Farmington.

B. Beginning January 1, 2027, there shall be six magistrate divisions in San Juan magistrate district, each division having its own magistrate. Divisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 shall operate as a single court in Aztec.

[B-] <u>C.</u> Magistrate judges shall not be elected at large from the district, but shall be elected by the voters of the division for which the magistrate sits. Magistrate judges may reside anywhere within the magistrate district and shall have district-wide jurisdiction. The composition of the divisions for elections purposes is:

- 4 -

.230349.1

underscored material = new
[bracketed material] = delete

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

1 division 1 is composed of San Juan county (1) 2 precincts 41, 48, 55, 57, 58, 60 through 67 and 72; division 2 is composed of San Juan county 3 (2) 4 precincts 1 through 7, 20, 21, 23, 24 and 50; 5 division 3 is composed of San Juan county (3) precincts 28, 31, 32, 38 through 40, 42 through 44, 46, 47, 49 6 7 and 59; 8 division 4 is composed of San Juan county (4) 9 precincts 8 through 19, 52, 53, 71 and 77; 10 division 5 is composed of San Juan county (5) 11 precincts 22, 25 through 27, 29, 30, 33 through 37, 45 and 51; 12 and 13 division 6 is composed of San Juan county (6) 14 precincts 54, 56, 68 through 70 and 73 through 76." 15 SECTION 7. Section 35-1-29 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968, 16 Chapter 62, Section 31, as amended) is amended to read: 17 "35-1-29. MAGISTRATE COURT--SANTA FE DISTRICT.--There 18 shall be four magistrates in the Santa Fe magistrate district, 19 divisions 1, 2, 3 and 4 operating as a single court in Santa Fe 20 [however, one magistrate shall ride circuit to Pojoaque on a 21 regularly scheduled basis]." 22 Section 35-1-33 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968, SECTION 8. 23 Chapter 62, Section 35, as amended) is amended to read: 24 "35-1-33. MAGISTRATE COURT--TORRANCE DISTRICT.--There 25 shall be one magistrate in Torrance magistrate district whose .230349.1 - 5 -

underscored material = new
[bracketed material] = delete

1	principal court is in Moriarty. [The magistrate shall ride
2	circuit to Estancia on a regularly scheduled basis.]"
3	- 6 -
4	
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
	.230349.1

underscored material = new
[bracketed material] = delete