3	
_	

1

2

4

5

6

7

8

9

10 11

12

13

14

15

16

17 18

19

21

20

22 23

24

25

RELATING TO COURTS; CLOSING MAGISTRATE CIRCUIT COURTS IN THE MCKINLEY, SANTA FE, TORRANCE, DONA ANA AND LEA DISTRICTS; RELOCATING A CIRCUIT COURT IN THE RIO ARRIBA DISTRICT.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:

SECTION 1. Section 35-1-10 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968, Chapter 62, Section 12, as amended) is amended to read:

"35-1-10. MAGISTRATE COURT--DONA ANA DISTRICT.--There shall be seven magistrates in Dona Ana magistrate district. Divisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7 shall operate as a single court in Las Cruces and shall rotate riding circuit to Anthony on a regularly scheduled basis."

SECTION 2. Section 35-1-16 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968, Chapter 62, Section 18, as amended) is amended to read: "35-1-16. MAGISTRATE COURT--LEA DISTRICT.--

There shall be four magistrates in the Lea magistrate district, divisions 1 and 2 operating as a single court in Hobbs, division 3 in Eunice and division 4 in Lovington. The division 3 magistrate shall ride circuit to Hobbs as needed.

B. Magistrate judges shall not be elected at large from the district but shall be elected by the voters of the division for which the magistrate sits. Magistrate judges shall reside in their divisions but shall have district-wide

1	jurisdiction. For the 2010 and subsequent elections, the
2	composition of the divisions for elections and residence
3	purposes is as follows:
4	(1) division l is composed of Lea county
5	precincts 23 through 30, 32 and 41 through 43;
6	(2) division 2 is composed of Lea county
7	precincts 33 through 35, 44, 51 through 55 and 61;
8	(3) division 3 is composed of Lea county
9	precincts 20, 22, 31, 36, 62 and 71 through 74; and
10	(4) division 4 is composed of Lea county
11	precincts 2, 3, 10 through 18 and 21."
12	SECTION 3. Section 35-1-20 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968,
13	Chapter 62, Section 22, as amended) is amended to read:
14	"35-1-20. MAGISTRATE COURTMCKINLEY DISTRICTThere
15	shall be three magistrates in McKinley magistrate district,
16	divisions 1, 2 and 3 operating as a single court in Gallup."
17	SECTION 4. Section 35-1-24 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968,
18	Chapter 62, Section 26, as amended) is amended to read:
19	"35-1-24. MAGISTRATE COURTRIO ARRIBA DISTRICT
20	A. Prior to January 1, 2027, there shall be two
21	magistrates in Rio Arriba magistrate district, divisions l
22	and 2 operating as a single court in Espanola. The
23	magistrates shall rotate riding circuit to Chama as needed.
24	B. Beginning January 1, 2027, there shall be two
25	magistrates in Rio Arriba magistrate district, divisions l HB 352/a

Page 2

1	and 2 operating as a single court in Espanola. The	
2	magistrates shall ride circuit to Tierra Amarilla as needed."	
3	SECTION 5. Section 35-1-29 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968,	
4	Chapter 62, Section 31, as amended) is amended to read:	
5	"35-1-29. MAGISTRATE COURTSANTA FE DISTRICTThere	
6	shall be four magistrates in the Santa Fe magistrate	
7	district, divisions 1, 2, 3 and 4 operating as a single court	
8	in Santa Fe."	
9	SECTION 6. Section 35-1-33 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968,	
10	Chapter 62, Section 35, as amended) is amended to read:	
11	"35-1-33. MAGISTRATE COURTTORRANCE DISTRICTThere	
12	shall be one magistrate in Torrance magistrate district whose	
13	principal court is in Moriarty."	
14		Page 3
15		
16		
17		
18		
19		
20		
21		