1	HOUSE BILL 1299
2	43rd Legislature - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SESSION, 1997
3	I NTRODUCED BY
4	GARY K. KING
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	AN ACT
11	RELATING TO THE PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION; PROVIDING FOR THE
12	APPORTIONMENT OF DISTRICTS.
13	
14	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:
15	Section 1. SHORT TITLE This act may be cited as the
16	"Public Regulation Commission Apportionment Act".
17	Section 2. MEMBERSHIPThe public regulation commission
18	is composed of five members to be elected from districts
19	established by law.
20	Section 3. RESIDENCEAt the time of filing a declaration
21	of candidacy for the office of public regulation commission
22	member, a candidate shall reside in the district for which he
23	files. If any elected member of the public regulation
24	commission permanently removes his residence from or maintains
25	no residence in the district from which he was elected, he shall

.113587.1

be deemed to have resigned and his successor shall be selected as provided in the Public Regulation Commission Apportionment Act.

## Section 4. ELECTION--VACANCY.--

A. Members of the public regulation commission shall be elected for staggered four-year terms; provided that commission members elected at the 1998 general election shall classify themselves by lot so that two commission members shall initially serve terms of two years and three commission members shall serve terms of four years. Thereafter, all commission members shall serve four-year terms. After serving two terms, a commission member shall be ineligible to hold office as a commission member until one full term has intervened.

B. The governor shall by appointment fill vacancies on the public regulation commission. All appointments to fill vacancies on the public regulation commission shall be for a term ending on January 1 subsequent to the next general election at which election a person shall be elected to fill any remainder of the unexpired term.

## Section 5. PRECINCTS. --

A. Designations and boundaries used in the Public Regulation Commission Apportionment Act are those precinct designations and boundaries established pursuant to the Precinct Boundary Adjustment Act and revised and approved by the secretary of state as of November 5, 1996.

.113587.1

B. A board of county commissioners shall not create any precinct that lies in more than one public regulation commission district, nor shall any board of county commissioners divide any precinct so that the divided parts of the precinct are situated in two or more public regulation commission districts. Votes cast in any general, primary or other statewide election from precincts created or divided in violation of this subsection are invalid and shall not be counted or canvassed.

Section 6. PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT

ONE. --Public regulation commission district one is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 4 through 18, 86, 150, 180 through 185, 191 through 197, 214 through 217, 257 and 258, 275, 278, 281 through 287, 289 through 308, 311 through 318, 321 through 323, 326 through 333, 341 through 347, 351 through 358, 371 through 375, 381 through 387, 400 through 446, 450 through 454, 461 through 466, 471 through 478, 480 through 500, 502 through 540, 542 through 550, 560 through 569, 601 and 602.

Section 7. PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT

TWO. -- Public regulation commission district two is composed of Colfax, Union, Harding, Quay, Curry, De Baca, Roosevelt, Chaves, Lea, Eddy and Otero counties.

Section 8. PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT THREE. -Public regulation commission district three is composed of Rio
Arriba, Taos, Sandoval, Los Alamos, Mora, San Miguel and

.113587.1

Guadal upe counties; Santa Fe county precincts 1 through 14, 16 through 28, 30 through 33, 36, 38, 39, 41 through 62, 64, 66 through 72, 74 through 79; and Bernalillo county precincts 1 through 3, 20 through 22, 24 through 29, 30, 80 through 83, 85, 87, 111, 112 and 120.

Section 9. PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT FOUR. -Public regulation commission district four is composed of
Cibola, McKinley and San Juan counties; and Bernalillo county
precincts 31 through 55, 61 through 67, 71 through 77, 88, 88A,
90 through 92, 94 through 99, 101 through 107, 121 through 125,
131 through 133, 135A, 151 through 154, 161 through 166, 186 and
187, 211 and 212, 221, 223 through 226, 241 through 246, 251
through 256 and 271 through 274.

Section 10. PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT FIVE. -Public regulation commission district five is composed of
Valencia, Torrance, Lincoln, Socorro, Sierra, Dona Ana, Luna,
Grant, Catron and Hidalgo counties; Bernalillo county precincts
93 and 551 through 559; and Santa Fe county precincts 18 and 73.

- 4 -