1	SENATE BILL 1157
2	43rd legislature - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SESSION, 1997
3	I NTRODUCED BY
4	MI CHAEL S. SANCHEZ
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	AN ACT
11	RELATING TO THE PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION; PROVIDING FOR THE
12	APPORTIONMENT OF DISTRICTS.
13	
14	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:
15	Section 1. SHORT TITLEThis act may be cited as the
16	"Public Regulation Commission Apportionment Act".
17	Section 2. MEMBERSHIPThe public regulation commission
18	is composed of five members to be elected from districts
19	established by law.
20	Section 3. RESIDENCEAt the time of filing a declaration
21	of candidacy for the office of public regulation commission
22	member, a candidate shall reside in the district for which he
23	files. If any elected member of the public regulation
24	commission permanently removes his residence from or maintains
25	no residence in the district from which he was elected, he shall
	. 117032. 1

be deemed to have resigned and his successor shall be selected as provided in the Public Regulation Commission Apportionment Act.

Section 4. ELECTION--VACANCY.--

A. Members of the public regulation commission shall be elected for staggered four-year terms; provided that commission members elected at the 1998 general election shall classify themselves by lot so that two commission members shall initially serve terms of two years and three commission members shall serve terms of four years. Thereafter, all commission members shall serve four-year terms. After serving two terms, a commission member shall be ineligible to hold office as a commission member until one full term has intervened.

B. The governor shall by appointment fill vacancies on the public regulation commission. All appointments to fill vacancies on the public regulation commission shall be for a term ending on January 1 subsequent to the next general election, at which election a person shall be elected to fill any remainder of the unexpired term.

Section 5. PRECINCTS. --

A. Designations and boundaries used in the Public Regulation Commission Apportionment Act are those precinct designations and boundaries established pursuant to the Precinct Boundary Adjustment Act and revised and approved by the secretary of state as of November 5, 1996.

. 117032. 1

B. A board of county commissioners shall not create any precinct that lies in more than one public regulation commission district, nor shall any board of county commissioners divide any precinct so that the divided parts of the precinct are situated in two or more public regulation commission districts. Votes cast in any general, primary or other statewide election from precincts created or divided in violation of this subsection are invalid and shall not be counted or canvassed.

Section 6. PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT ONE. -Public regulation commission district one is composed of
Bernalillo county precincts 4 through 18, 20 through 22, 24
through 55, 61 through 67, 71 through 77, 81 through 83, 86, 88,
88A 90 through 99, 101 through 107, 111 and 112, 120 through
125, 131 through 133, 135, 135A, 150 through 154, 161 through
166, 180 through 187, 191 through 197, 211 and 212, 214 through
217, 221, 223 through 226, 241 through 246, 251 through 257, 271
through 275, 278, 281 through 287, 311 through 318, 321 through
323, 326 and 327, 341 through 347, 351 through 358, 371 through
375, 381 through 387, 401 and 402, 411 through 417, 431 through
433, 435 through 438, 441 through 446, 461 through 466, 471
through 478, 491 and 492 and 502.

Section 7. PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT TWO. -Public regulation commission district two is composed of Chaves,
Colfax, Curry, De Baca, Eddy, Harding, Lea, Otero, Quay,

. 117032. 1

Roosevelt and Union counties.

Section 8. PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT THREE. -Public regulation commission district three is composed of
Guadalupe, Mora, San Miguel and Taos counties; Bernalillo county
precincts 258, 289 through 308, 328 through 333, 400, 403
through 410, 418 through 430, 434, 439 and 440, 450 through 454,
480 through 490, 493 through 500, 503 through 540, 542 through
550, 554 through 556, 558 through 569, 601 and 602; Sandoval
county precincts 7 and 28; and Santa Fe county precincts 8
through 14, 16 and 17, 19 through 22, 24 through 28, 30 through
33, 36, 38 and 39, 41 through 57, 60, 62, 64, 66 through 72 and
74 through 78.

Section 9. PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT FOUR. -Public regulation commission district four is composed of
Cibola, Los Alamos, McKinley, Rio Arriba and San Juan counties;
Bernalillo county precincts 1 through 3, 80, 85 and 87; Sandoval
county precincts 1 through 6, 8 through 27, 29 through 50 and
52; and Santa Fe county precincts 1 through 7, 23, 58 and 59, 61
and 79.

Section 10. PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT FIVE. -Public regulation commission district five is composed of
Catron, Dona Ana, Grant, Hidalgo, Lincoln, Luna, Sierra,
Socorro, Torrance and Valencia counties; Bernalillo county
precincts 551 through 553, 553A and 557; and Santa Fe county
precincts 18 and 73.

. 117032. 1