11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
~-

SENATE BILL 1230

43RD LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SESSION, 1997

INTRODUCED BY

RAYMOND L. KYSAR

5

1

2

7

9

10

1

7

8

9

1

25

AN ACT

RELATING TO THE PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION: PROVIDING FOR THE APPORTIONMENT OF DISTRICTS.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:

Section 1. SHORT TITLE. -- This act may be cited as the "Public Regulation Commission Apportionment Act".

Section 2. MEMBERSHIP. -- The public regulation commission is composed of five members to be elected from districts established by law.

RESIDENCE. -- At the time of filing a declaration Section 3. of candidacy for the office of public regulation commission member, a candidate shall reside in the district for which he files. If any elected member of the public regulation commission permanently removes his residence from or maintains no residence in the district from which he was elected, he shall

be deemed to have resigned and his successor shall be selected as provided in the Public Regulation Commission Apportionment Act.

Section 4. ELECTION--VACANCY.--

A. Members of the public regulation commission shall be elected for staggered four-year terms; provided that commission members elected at the 1998 general election shall classify themselves by lot so that two commission members shall initially serve terms of two years and three commission members shall serve terms of four years. Thereafter, all commission members shall serve four-year terms. After serving two terms, a commission member shall be ineligible to hold office as a commission member until one full term has intervened.

B. The governor shall by appointment fill vacancies on the public regulation commission. All appointments to fill vacancies on the public regulation commission shall be for a term ending on January 1 subsequent to the next general election at which election a person shall be elected to fill any remainder of the unexpired term.

Section 5. PRECINCTS. --

A. Designations and boundaries used in the Public Regulation Commission Apportionment Act are those precinct designations and boundaries established pursuant to the Precinct Boundary Adjustment Act and revised and approved by the secretary of state as of November 5, 1996.

. 117334. 1

B. A board of county commissioners shall not create any precinct that lies in more than one public regulation commission district, nor shall any board of county commissioners divide any precinct so that the divided parts of the precinct are situated in two or more public regulation commission districts. Votes cast in any general, primary or other statewide election from precincts created or divided in violation of this subsection are invalid and shall not be counted or canvassed.

Section 6. PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT

ONE. -- Public regulation commission district one is composed of
Bernalillo county precincts 1 through 18, 20 through 22, 24
through 55, 61 through 67, 71 through 77, 80 through 88, 88A, 90
through 99, 101 through 107, 111 and 112, 120 through 125, 131
through 133, 135, 135A, 150 through 154, 161 through 166, 180
through 187, 191 through 197, 211 and 212, 214 through 217, 221,
223 through 226, 241 through 246, 251 through 258, 271 through
275, 278, 281 through 287, 311 and 312, 318, 321 through 323,
326 and 327, 341 through 347, 351 through 358, 371, 374 and 375,
381 through 387 and 438; and Sandoval county precincts 11
through 13 and 29 through 50.

Section 7. PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT

TWO. --Public regulation commission district two is composed of

Chaves, Colfax, Curry, De Baca, Eddy, Harding, Lea, Mora, Quay,

Roosevelt, San Miguel, Taos and Union.

. 117334. 1

1

2

3

5

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

Section 8. PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT THREE. --Public regulation commission district three is composed of San Juan, Rio Arriba, Los Alamos, McKinley, Cibola and Valencia counties; Sandoval county precincts 1 through 10, 14 through 28 and 52; Santa Fe county precincts 1 through 7, 23, 58 and 59, 61 and 79; and Socorro county precinct 15.

PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT FOUR. --Section 9. Public regulation commission district four is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 289 through 308, 313 through 317, 328 through 333, 372 and 373, 400 through 437, 439 through 446, 450 through 454, 461 through 466, 471 through 478, 480 through 500, 502 through 540, 542 through 569 and 601 and 602; Santa Fe county precincts 8 through 14, 16 through 22, 24 through 28, 30 through 33, 36, 38 and 39, 41 through 57, 60, 62, 64 and 66 through 78; and Torrance county precincts 5 and 13.

Section 10. PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT FIVE. --Public regulation commission district five is composed of Catron, Dona Ana, Grant, Guadalupe, Hidalgo, Lincoln, Luna, Otero and Sierra counties; Socorro county precincts 1 through 14 and 16 and 17; and Torrance county precincts 1 through 4 and 6 through 12.

4 -