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NOTE: As provided in LFC policy, this report is intended for use by the standing finance committees
of the legislature. The Legislative Finance Committee does not assume responsibility for the accuracy
of the information in this report when used in any other situation.

FISCAL IMPACT REPORT

SPONSOR _McSherry DATE TYPED _3/17/97 HB 498/aHTRC
SHORT TITLE _Wine Excise Tax SB
ANALYST Greoepler
REVENUE*
Estimated Revenue Subsequent Recurring Fund
FY97 FY98 Years Tmpact or Non-Rec Affected
S 0.0 None in foreseeable future. Recurring General Fund

*Revenue estimate supplied by TRD.

SOURCES OF INFORMATION

Taxation and Revenue Department (TRD)
Department of Health (DOH)

SUMMARY

Synopsis of HTRC Amendments

The HTRC amendments changes the definition of “small winer or winegrower.” The original
statute defined them as producing less than 220,000 liters of wine per year. The original bill
would have changed this to 836,000 liters per year. The HTRC amendments change this to
375,000 liters. According to TRD, this now makes the New Mexico definition of small winer or
winegrower conform with the federal definition, which they say will make this bill more
administrable.

The HTRC amendments also change the excise tax due from small winers or winegrowers. The
original statute called for a tax of 10 cents for the first 80,000 liters, and 20 cents on all other
wine sold less than 220,000 liters. The original bill called for a tax 10 cents per liter for the first
380,000 liters produced and then 20 cents per liter on amounts produced up to 836,000 liters.
The HTRC amendments would change the tax to 10 cents per liter on the first 80,000 liters
produced and 20 cents per liter on amounts produced up to 375,000 gallons (note this last
measure probably should be liters).

The TRD also notes that Section F, page 4 should be amended to state that these are amounts
produced per year.
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This bill proposes to change the tax rate on wine produced by small winers or winegrowers from
one based on liters to one based on gallons. This change is revenue neutral.

This bill also proposes to change the definition of small winer or winegrower from a person that
produces less than 220,000 liters (58,125 gallons) of wine per year to a person that produces less
than 220,000 gallons (832,700 liters) of wine per year.

The tax rate on small winers or winegrowers is changed from 38 cents per gallon for the first
21,136 gallons (80,000 liters) to 38 cents per gallon on the first 100,000 gallons. Thereafter, the
rate is changed to 76 cents per gallon on all gallons sold over 100,000 gallons but less than
220,000.

Significant Issues

The TRD estimates that less than one half of the small winer or winegrower wine taxes are
collected from in-state wineries. They also note that only one producer in New Mexico is
approaching the 80,000 liter limit. These figures imply that the main beneficiaries of this bill
would be out-of-state wineries and it may be years before this bill would help New Mexico
wineries. If this is correct, then increased competition from out-of-state small wineries may hurt
New Mexico wineries.

FISCAL IMPLICATIONS _ .
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TRD estimates that this bill would cause a $100.0 general fund revenue loss due to sales from
out-of-state wineries, and $2.0 from in-state wineries.

ADMINISTRATIVE IMPLICATIONS
Minor according to TRD.
TECHNICAL ISSUES

See attached TRD analysis.

RFG/prr:jl
Attachment

)



Fp WS We L UF U UL FUUNG DY

BILL ANALYSIS AND FISCAL IMPACT REPORT Page 1 of 2
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JOHN J. CHAVEZ, SECRETARY

- BILL NUMBER: HB-498 as amended by House Taxation & Revenue Committee (3/11/97)

SPONSOR: Representative McSherry
BILL SHORT TITLE: Wine Excise Tax
CONFLICTS, DUPLICATES, COMPANIONS: HB-108, HB-574

DESCRIPTION: The original bill changed the definition of “small winer or winegrower” from one who produces
220,000 Ziters (58,125 gallons) of wine per year to be one who produces 220,000 gallons (832,700 liters) per year.
The Liquor Excise Tax rate imposed on wine manufactured by a “small winer” was revised from 10 cents per liter
to 38 cents per gallon for the first 100,000 gallons (currently 80,000 liters, or 21,136 gallons) and from 20 cents
per liter to 76 cents per gallon for amounts over 100,000 gallons.

The amended bill revises the definition of “small winer or winegrower” from one who produces 220,000 liters
(58,125 gallons) of wine per year to be one who produces 375,000 liters (about 99,075 gallons) per year. The
current $0.10 tax per liter imposed on the first 80,000 liters is unchanged (restored), and the $0.20 tax per liter
currently imposed on volumes over 80,000 liters but under 220,000 liters would be apphed to volumes up to
375,000 liters.

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 1997

FISCAL IMPACT: No fiscal impact in the foreseeable future. It will presumably be a number of years before
any single New Mexico winery is producing more than 220,000 liters (the current threshold for the $0.20 tax as
opposed to the regular wine tax of $0.45 per liter).

TECHNICAL ISSUES:

1) An additional revision should be added to clean-up the bill in accordance with the HTRC amendments. On
page 4, line 24, strike “gallons” and insert “liters”.

2) Under current law, the tax rates on small producers is set at 10 cents and 20 cents per liter of wine “sold in this
state” -- not “sold [each calendar year]”. The department has administered the provision as an annual calculation,
but Section 7-17-5, Subsections F NMSA 1978 should probably be revised to insert “annually” or “each calendar
year” after “sold” on both lines 20 and 22 on page 2.

ADMINISTRATIVE IMPACT: No substantial administrative impact on the department. Some positive
administrative affects may result from closer alignment to federal definitions.

SUBSTANTIVE ISSUES:

1) The federal definition of a “small domestic producer” of wine who may claim a tax credit against federal wine
excise tax is one “who produces not more than 250,000 wine gallons of wine during the calendar year”. One level
of credit is available “on the 1st 100,000 wine gallons of wine” (other than champagne and other sparkling wines),
and that credit is subsequently reduced “by 1 percent for each 1,000 wine gallons of wine produced in excess of
150,000 wine gallons of wine during the calendar year”. By aligning approximately with the 100,000 gallons
federal tax threshold (approximately 375,000 liters), administration of the tax on “small domestic producers” should
be made more administrable.



~

BILL ANALYSIS (Continued) Page 2 of 2

DATE: March 12, 1997 Submitted by: TAXATION AND REVENUE DEPT.

. JOHN J. CHAVEZ, SECRETARY (\
BILL NUMBER: HB-498 as amended by House Taxation & Revenue Committee (3/11/97) 9 )

SUBSTANTIVE ISSUES (continued):

2) At least one New Mexico wine producer is approaching the 80,000 liter (New Mexico taxable sales) threshold
which will tax additional volumes at the 20 cent tax rate rather their current 10 cent tax rate. While the winery
does not appear to be in immediate danger of loosing “small producer” status, the bill’s higher volume definition
for “small producer” should assure the $0.20 per liter preferential tax rate for the foreseeable future.

The amended bill is not expected to affect state taxation of the small amount of out-of-state wines which currently
claim the small producer tax rate. The change proposed by the bill, in more closely aligning with a federal tax
threshold, may contribute to administrative verification of the proper tax status of some of these out-of-state wines.



