AGENDA

Legislative Education Study Committee State Capitol, Room 322 Santa Fe, New Mexico December 5-7

Monday, December 5

8:30	(1)	Call to Order, Introductions, and Approval of November and December Agenda and October and November Minutes.
8:35	(2)	Early Childhood Education and Care Department. Elizabeth Groginsky, Secretary, Early Childhood Education and Care Department (ECECD); Sandy Trujillo-Medina, Division Director, Early Care, Education, and Nutrition, ECECD; Mayra Gutierrez, Division Director, Family Support and Early Intervention, ECECD
10:00	(3)	Cook Center for Human Connection. Stan Rounds, Executive Director, New Mexico Coalition for Educational Leaders, New Mexico Superintendents Association; Anne Brown, President and CEO, Cook Center for Human Connection; Adele Winter, Director of Advancement, Cook Center for Human Connection; Dawn Apodaca, Superintendent, Mountainair Public Schools
11:00	(4)	New Mexico School for the Arts. Cindy Montoya, President, New Mexico School for the Arts-Art Institute; Eric Crites, Head of School, New Mexico School for the Arts (NMSA); Paula Tackett, Governing Council Secretary, NMSA
12:00		Lunch
1:00	(5)	New Mexico Educational Retirement Board. David Archuleta, Executive Director, New Mexico Educational Retirement Board
2:15	(6)	Office of Broadband and Statewide Education Network Update. Dianne Lindstrom, Deputy Director, Department of Information Technology, Office of Broadband; Ovidiu Viorica, Broadband and Technology Manager, Public Schools Facilities Authority
3:30	(7)	 <u>Director's Report.</u> <u>Informational Items</u> December Newsletter FY23 Budget Update
4:00		Public Comment
		Announcements
4:30		Recess

Tuesday, December 6

9:00	(8)	Public Education Department. Kurt Steinhaus, Ed.D., Secretary, Public Education
		Department (PED); Simon Miller, Principal Analyst, New Mexico Department of
		Finance and Administration

10:15 (9) <u>2023 Legislative Session Budget and Policy Priorities.</u>

EDUCATION PARTNERS AND STAKEHOLDERS

10:15-10:30 Joint Partners Priorities

Joe Guillen, Executive Director, New Mexico School Board Association Mary Parr-Sanchez, President, National Education Association-NM Stan Rounds, Executive Director, New Mexico Coalition of Education Leaders, New Mexico Superintendents' Association

10:30-10:45 New Mexico School Board Association

Dymorie Maker, President, New Mexico School Board Association **Joe Guillen**, Executive Director, New Mexico School Board Association

10:45-11:00 New Mexico Coalition of Education Leaders and New Mexico School Board Association

Bonnie Lightfoot, President, New Mexico Superintendents' Association **Stan Rounds**, Executive Director, New Mexico Coalition of Education Leaders, New Mexico Superintendents' Association

11:00-11:15 National Education Association New Mexico

Mary Parr-Sanchez, President, National Education Association-NM Steve Sianez, Government Relations and Communications Director, National Education Association-NM

11:15-11:30 Albuquerque Teachers Federation and American Federation of Teachers Whitney Holland, President, American Federation of Teachers-NM John Dyrcz, State Affiliate Political Organizer, American Federation of Teachers-NM

11:30-11:45 New Mexico Parent Teacher Association

Reneta Witte, Vice-President, Legislation and Advocacy, Parent Teacher Association

Fatima Ceballos, Bylaws Chair, Parent Teacher Association - NM **Colleen Herst**, Special Education Chair, Parent Teacher Association -NM

11:45-12:00 Public Charter Schools of New Mexico

Matthew Pahl, Executive Director, Public Charter Schools of New Mexico

12:00-12:30 Member Questions

12:30 Lunch

1:45 (10) <u>LESC Budget Considerations and Discussion.</u> **Daniel Estupiñan**, Senior Fiscal Analyst II, LESC

3:00 (11) Committee Endorsed Legislation. Gwen Perea Warniment, Ph.D., Director, LESC

4:00 Announcements

Recess

Public comment may be sent to lesc@nmlegis.gov. If you require special accommodations to attend and participate in any scheduled Legislative Education Study Committee meeting, such as an American Sign Language interpreter or reader, please contact Marissa Branch at 505-986-4594 at least five (5) working days prior to a scheduled meeting.

Wednesday, December 7

- 9:00 (12) New Mexico Public Schools Insurance Authority. Patrick Sandoval, Executive Director, New Mexico Public Schools Insurance Authority (NMPSIA); Martha Quintana, Deputy Director, NMPSIA
- 10:00 (13) HM18 Teacher Workforce Task Force. Patricia Trujillo, Ph.D., Deputy Secretary, Higher Education Department; Seana Flanagan, Interim Managing Director, PED; Glenabah Martinez, Ph.D., House Memorial 18 Task Force Member; Karina Todechine, Native American Teacher Educator Pathway, University of New Mexico
- 11:15 (14) <u>Student Panel.</u> Daniyal Hussain, student, Cottonwood Classical Preparatory School; Amber Maberry, student, Estancia High School; Newcomb High School Student (invited); Eliza Lamborn, student, Los Alamos High School
- 12:30 Announcements

Adjourn