Revised: August 21, 2023

TENTATIVE AGENDA for the SECOND MEETING of the

RADIOACTIVE AND HAZARDOUS MATERIALS COMMITTEE

August 21, 2023 Council Chambers Los Alamos County Municipal Building 1000 Central Avenue Los Alamos

Monday, August 21

		_
9:00 a.m.		Call to Order, Welcome and Introductions —Representative Joanne J. Ferrary, Chair, Radioactive and Hazardous Materials Committee —Linda Matteson, Deputy County Manager, Los Alamos County
9:15 a.m.	(1)	 Chromium Plume Cleanup and Other Environmental Management Issues —Michael Mikolanis, Manager, Los Alamos Field Office, Office of
10:30 a.m.	(2)	<u>Issues Concerning Downwinders</u> —Tina Cordova, Co-Founder, Tularosa Basin Downwinders Consortium —Barbara Webber, Executive Director, Health Action New Mexico
11:15 a.m.	(3)	 Weapons-Grade Plutonium Transport —Craig Tucker, State Hazardous Materials Coordinator, Homeland Security and Emergency Management Department —Cynthia Weehler, Co-Chair, 285 All
12:00 noon		Break
12:15 p.m.	(4)	Working Lunch <u>Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (DNFSB) Report</u> —Mark Sautman, Associate Technical Director, Field Operations, DNFSB

1:00 p.m.	(5)	Plutonium Pit Production and Other Los Alamos National Laboratory
		(LANL) Projects
		—Rick Shean, Director, Resource Protection Division, NMED
		—Greg Mello, Executive Director, Los Alamos Study Group
		—Jay Coghlan, Executive Director, Nuclear Watch New Mexico
1:45 p.m.		Recess and Travel to LANL for Executive Session and Tour*
2:00 p.m.		LANL Welcome, Visitor Badging and Escort to the J. Robert Oppenheimer Study Center
2:45 p.m.		Executive Session (Closed Meeting): Update on Plutonium Pit Production, Weapons-Grade Plutonium Transport and Other LANL Projects —Thom Mason, Laboratory Director, LANL
		—Ted Wyka, Manager, Los Alamos Field Office, National Nuclear Security Administration, United States Department of Energy
3:45 p.m.		Break and Bus Trip to the Los Alamos Neutron Science Center (LANSCE)
4:10 p.m.		Tour of the Isotope Production Facility at LANSCE
5:00 p.m.		Adjourn

^{*}This is an invitation-only tour for committee members and staff.