

### **Educator Preparation**

**Date:** May 27, 2021 Prepared By: Canada

State law and PED regulations shape how teachers are prepared in New Mexico. The Legislature has taken very little action to regulate educator preparation programs and has left regulation and oversight almost entirely up to PED's discretion, except for licensure requirements. Educator preparation programs must align with state requirements, both statutory and regulatory, and prepare candidates to meet licensure requirements upon graduation.

### Laws and Regulations that Guide New Mexico Educator Preparation

Occupational licensing requires people to secure a license from the government to practice a trade or a profession. In New Mexico, the Legislature and PED determine licensure requirements for the teaching profession. Educator preparation programs design programs through curriculum development and course offerings to meet these licensure requirements.

### **Teacher Licensing Impacts Preparation**

State law requires PED to issue licenses to individuals who meet specific requirements designed to ensure they are qualified to teach. Enacted through law by the Legislature in 2003, New Mexico's three-tiered licensure system requires candidates to enter the teaching field on a level 1 license with the opportunity for them to progress through three levels based on duration of teaching and demonstrations of competency. In return, candidates have higher expectations and pay increases of \$10 thousand per level. Section 22-10A-7 NMSA 1978 proclaims a teacher-candidate for licensure must complete a PED-approved educator preparation program and attain a bachelor's degree from an accredited educational institution. See <a href="https://doi.org/10.2016/j.com/nc-10.2016/">Attachment 1. Section 22-10A-7 NMSA 1978</a>. In addition, statute and rule require completion of specific education courses, passage of teacher licensure exams, and participation in a student teaching experience for licensure.

General Education Course Requirements. The Legislature has established general course requirements for licensed teachers to meet through state law, but has left specific educator preparation program course requirements up to PED to develop. According to Section 22-10A-6 NMSA 1978, individuals seeking licensure in elementary, special, early childhood, or secondary education must complete a minimum of 41 credit hours in the college of arts and sciences that include:

- 9 credit hours in communication,
- 6 credit hours in mathematics,
- 8 credit hours in laboratory science,
- 9 credit hours in social and behavioral science, and
- 9 credit hours in humanities and fine arts.

**Reading Course Requirements.** In addition to general course requirements, statute requires licensed teachers to complete courses in reading. Required course requirements range from 3 credit hours for elementary teachers to 6

Section 22-10A-4 NMSA 1978, outlines New Mexico's threetiered licensure framework. A level 1 license is a five-year provisional license that requires a formal mentorship to become a quality teacher. Teachers may move to a level 2 license after 3 years teaching on a Level 1 license. Level 2 teachers are expected to ensure students are exceeding PED-adopted academic content performance standards. A level 3-A is the highest teaching licensure level and can include additional responsibilities such curriculum development, peer intervention, and mentoring.

The minimum salary for a Level 1 license is \$40 thousand. The minimum salary for a Level 2 license is \$50 thousand. The minimum salary for a Level 3 license is \$60 thousand.

PED requires the same general education requirements for candidates pursuing licenses in early childhood, prekindergarten through 12<sup>th</sup> grade, middle grades fifth through ninth, and visual impairment birth through 12<sup>th</sup> grade to meet, although these requirements are not required by statute for these specific licenses.



### Reading Course Requirements Per License Type

тур	<u> </u>
License	Course Hour Requirements
Elementary Education (K-8)	6
Middle Level Education (5-9)	3
Secondary Education (7-12)	3
PreK-12	3
Special Education (PreK-12)	6
Secondary Vocation- Technical Education	0
Blindness/Visual Impairment (Birth-12)	6
Early Childhood Education (Birth-3)	6
Early Childhood Education (Birth-PreK)	6
Early Childhood Education (PreK-3)	6

Source: LESC

Section 22-10A-6 NMSA 1978 requires individuals seeking specific licenses to complete general education course requirements, teaching reading coursework, student teaching requirements, and pass teacher assessments. See Attachment 3, Section 22-10A-6 NMSA 1978.

credit hours for secondary teachers. PED's licensure requirements are in line with statutory requirements and PED has determined course requirements for those licenses not named in state law. PED is statutorily required to withhold program approval of an educator preparation program if they fail to provide a course on the teaching of reading aligned with research and PED-reading standards.

Student Teaching Requirements. State statute stipulates prior to licensure, teacher-candidates must participate in 16 weeks of student teaching during preparation. Educator preparation programs must ensure teacher-candidates participate in student teaching over the duration of the program. For example, a portion of the student teaching must occur in the first 30 credit hours of the program under a supervising teacher and the other portion must occur during the student's senior year with the student teacher being responsible for the classroom. For program design elements, PED regulations require clinical experiences to begin upon entry of a candidate into an educator preparation program and must align with the area, subject, or category of license pursued by the candidate. According to PED, educator preparation programs are required to create partnerships with stakeholder groups to develop clinical experiences that meet the needs of surrounding school districts and charter schools. Programs must also ensure all teacher candidates receive instruction in pedagogy related to department standards.

**Required Teacher Assessments.** According to statute, traditional and alternative teacher candidates are required to pass teacher licensure exams to receive a license. PED requires the passage of licensure exams, including testing of subjectarea specialization, as a requirement for the 10 licenses and 18 endorsement areas PED issues. See <u>Attachment 2</u>, <u>New Mexico Teaching Assessment Requirements</u>.

### Additional Subject-area and Grade-level Specific Education Course Requirements.

The School Personnel Act requires PED to establish competencies and qualifications for specific grade levels and subject areas. PED has set standards and qualifications for specific types of licenses and endorsements through regulation.

- Licenses specify and prepare individuals for the grade level and at times, the specialty in which teachers are authorized to teach. Qualifications are primarily met through course requirements attained in a higher education public institution. See <a href="Attachment 4">Attachment 4</a>, <a href="Statutory and Regulatory Course Requirements for Licensure">Licensure</a>.
- Endorsements attach to a teaching license to specify which teaching field a teacher is authorized by PED to teach. Typically, to meet endorsement requirements, candidates must complete between 24 and 36 credit hours in a specific content area. See <a href="Attachment 5">Attachment 5</a>, Content-Area Specific Endorsement Course Requirements.

### Licensure-specific Exemptions

**Vocational teacher licensure requirements.** According to statute, educator preparation programs that prepare vocational teachers are exempt from general education coursework, teaching of reading coursework, and student teaching requirements. According to PED regulation, individuals who have



attained a high school diploma, associate degree, or bachelor's degree are all eligible to receive a license if they meet specific requirements.

- For candidates with a bachelor's degree, they must complete at least 32 credit hours of vocational-technical training in the specific occupation they are licensed to teach.
- For candidates with an associate's degree, they must also complete two years of work experience in the related occupational area.
- For candidates with a high school diploma, they must complete at least 5 years of experience in the specific occupation.

Vocational-technical licensed teachers must complete continuing education requirements within three years of employment to demonstrate competency. Licensed teachers can meet this requirement through completion of a student teaching experience, 15 credit hours in the subject they are teaching, or completion of professional development through a professional development plan.

Native-language teacher licensure requirements. Section 22-10A-13 NMSA 1978 of the School Personnel Act, allows PED to issue and renew a Native American language certificate to an individual proficient in a Native American language and culture of a New Mexico tribe or pueblo who meets criteria established by the department. The statute states a bachelor's degree is not required to qualify for this certificate. Through regulation, PED explained department collaboration with tribes and pueblos would drive the development of standards and criteria for certification. The current standards are currently not publicly available in PED's licensure requirements. See <a href="https://doi.org/10.1001/journal

*Reciprocity.* State statute allows for teachers licensed in another state to transfer their license to New Mexico if they meet specific requirements and can demonstrate competency. Through PED regulation, PED determined what requirements out-of-state teachers must meet to transfer their license. Teacher-candidates must show evidence of completion of teacher licensing exams, degree attainment, educator preparation program completion, among other measures. Depending on education attainment and years of experience, out-of-state candidates can qualify for a level 1, level 2, or level 3-A license. See <u>Attachment 7</u>, 22-10A-12 NMSA 1978 and NMAC 6.60.4.6 through 6.60.4.10.

Alternative License Requirements

The School Personnel Act allows individuals to teach in New Mexico on an alternative license. The alternative licensure pathway requires less educator preparation program course completion than the traditional pathway and candidates who have bachelor's degrees can start teaching right away. Alternatively licensed teachers must be 18 and at a minimum have a bachelor's degree.

- For a teacher-candidate with a bachelor's degree, the candidate must also pass a state-approved subject-area specific teacher licensure exam.
- For a teacher-candidate with a master's degree, the candidate must also complete 12 credit hours of graduate-level coursework in the subject areas of instruction they are applying for.

PED regulations outline the requirements individuals who seek specific types of licenses and endorsements must meet. Generally, these regulations include requirements around:

- General education course completion,
- Specific course completion for teacher subject-area,
- Number of credit hours in reading,
- Student Teaching,
- Completion of licensure exams, and
- Competencies that must be met.

According to PED rule, teachercandidates for licensure may also qualify if they possess a valid National Board of Professional Teaching Standards for the appropriate grade level and subject area they are applying to teach.

Section 22-2-2 NMSA 1978 requires PED to approve education curricula and programs offered in all two-year public post-secondary educational institutions that lead to alternative licenses.



Laws 2021, Chapter 129 (House Bill 266) adds an additional 15-week student teaching requirement for candidates participating in an alternative license program for special education. PED has until July 1, 2022, to implement this new licensure requirement.

PED regulation describes three alternative licensure pathways and the accompanying requirements to pursue each pathway. See Attachment 10 for regulations. See Attachment 9, NMAC 6.60.3.7 through 6.60.3.10.

• For a teacher-candidate with a doctoral or law degree, the individual is not required to take additional steps to demonstrate subject-area expertise.

All individuals on this pathway must pass a teacher licensing exam determined by PED. Within two years of beginning teaching, all individuals must complete 12 credit hours of instruction in teaching principals in a PED-approved educator preparation program or the individual can demonstrate they have met department-approved level 1 competencies that correspond to the grade level they are teaching. See <u>Attachment 8, Section 22-10A-8 NMSA 1978.</u>

PED-determined Alternative License Pathways. Through administrative rule, PED established three types of alternative license options for new teachers. The first alternative license option requires teachers to complete an educator preparation program while serving as the teacher of record for two years. The second alternative license option requires less coursework than the first, but the license relies on the candidates evaluation score. PED regulation refers to the now defunct teacher evaluation system, NMTEACH, making it unclear if this particular pathway is currently available to alternative license teacher-candidates. The last type of license allows teacher-candidates to teach on a one-year alternative license if have a bachelor's and master's degree in a field outside education and have post-secondary teaching experience of at least five years. This option also relies on the teacher evaluation of the teacher, but it is unclear how this current requirement is met with a lapse in teacher evaluations over the past two years.

### **Educator Preparation Approval Process**

Prospective teachers are required to complete licensure coursework in a PED-approved educator preparation program. PED created an approval process and accountability processes for educator preparation programs in regulation. See <u>Attachment 10, NMAC 6.65.3.6 through NMAC 6.65.3.12</u>

PED's ongoing approval process for educator preparation programs includes four elements:

- 1) Initial approval through the Professional Practices and Standards Committee (PPSC);
- 2) Ongoing quality assessment of programs through the Educator Accountability Report;
- 3) Site visits; and
- 4) Potential action required from the findings of the site visit.

*Professional Practices and Standards Committee* Created originally in 2005, PED has maintained a council tasked with advising the PED Secretary on matters related to educator preparation programs, licensure, professional development, and ethics of licensed personnel. Pursuant to NMAC, the purpose of the council is to ensure high standards are maintained in the preparation and practice of professional school personnel. The council is responsible for establishing procedures for ensuring educator preparation programs comply with PED standards. New programs and existing programs seeking adjustments must submit applications to the PPSC.

PED's PPSC purpose, structure, and duties are outlined in regulation. See <u>Attachment 11.</u> NMAC 6.2.8.2 through 6.2.815.



Educator Accountability Report. State law requires PED work with educator preparation programs to create a publicly facing annual statewide educator accountability report. According to the School Personnel Act, this report must track teacher and administrator education candidates from pre-entry to post-graduation to benchmark the productivity and accountability of New Mexico's educator workforce. The statute and rule that explain report requirements outline 10 metrics meant to indicate program success. Through PED rule, the department tied this report and the information it provides regarding educator preparation programs to the state approval process for these programs.

Site Visit. According to PED regulation, comprehensive site visits are required every three years. The approval processes goal is to assess four components on a review rubric: 1) curriculum design and delivery, 2) clinical experience, 3) candidate quality, and 4) continuous improvement. Within 90 days of the review, the certified review team gives an assessment of the performance of the program ranging from "industry leader" to "underdeveloped." During this process, the department can determine if an educator preparation program can continue operating, is put on probation, or has its' approval revoked.

### **Educator Preparation Program Authority**

Educator preparation programs are required to ensure their specific programs are aligned with licensure requirements, endorsement requirements, and competencies that candidates must be able to demonstrate tied to specific content-area specialization. Educator preparation programs create curriculum and course offerings to meet the competencies and course requirements determined by PED. PED also requires a written recommendation from the educator preparation program that verifies the candidate demonstrates the dispositions necessary for success for the classroom and other learning environments.

*Entry and Exit Requirements.* According to PED, educator preparation programs must establish rigorous entry and exit requirements. The department requires exit requirements align with licensure requirements and, at a minimum, candidates demonstrate successful competency for licenses and endorsements through applicable New Mexico teacher licensure assessments.

Each educator preparation program must report the following measures of success to PED annually for the Educator Accountability Report:

- The standards for entering and exiting the program;
- The number of hours required for clinical experience;
- The number and percentage of candidates needing development work upon program entry;
- The number and percentage of completers for each program;
- The number and types of degrees received by completers;
- The number and percentage of completers who pass teacher assessment for initial licensure on the first attempt;
- A description of each program's placement practices;
- The number and percentage of completers hire by New Mexico school districts;
- The demographics of an EPP's candidates and completers; and
- An evaluation plan aimed at increasing student achievement, teacher retention and training teachers in targeted areas.



### 22-10A-7. Level one licensure.

- A. A level one license is a provisional five-year license for beginning teachers that requires as a condition of licensure that the licensee undergo a formal mentorship program for at least one full school year and an annual intensive performance evaluation by a school administrator for at least three full school years before applying for a level two license.
- B. Each school district, in accordance with department rules, shall provide for the mentorship and evaluation of level one teachers. At the end of each year and at the end of the license period, the level one teacher shall be evaluated for competency. If the teacher fails to demonstrate satisfactory progress and competence annually, the teacher may be terminated as provided in Section 22-10A-24 NMSA 1978. If the teacher has not demonstrated satisfactory progress and competence by the end of the five-year period, the teacher shall not be granted a level two license.
- C. Except in exigent circumstances defined by department rule, a level one license shall not be extended beyond the initial period.
- D. The department shall issue a standard level one license to an applicant who is at least eighteen years of age who:
  - (1) holds a baccalaureate degree from an accredited educational institution;
- (2) has successfully completed a department-approved teacher preparation program from a nationally accredited or state-approved educational institution;
- (3) has passed the New Mexico teacher assessments examination, including for elementary licensure beginning January 1, 2013, a rigorous assessment of the candidate's knowledge of the science of teaching reading; and
- (4) meets other qualifications for level one licensure, including clearance of the required background check.
- E. The department shall issue an alternative level one license to an applicant who meets the requirements of Section 22-10A-8 NMSA 1978.
- F. The department shall establish competencies and qualifications for specific grade levels, types and subject areas of level one licensure, including early childhood, elementary, middle school, secondary, special and vocational education.
- G. The minimum salary for a level one teacher is forty thousand dollars (\$40,000) for a standard nine and one-half month contract; provided that teachers in an extended learning time program or K-5 plus program shall receive additional salary at the same rate as their base salary for that teaching time.

**History:** 1978 Comp., § 22-10A-7, enacted by Laws 2003, ch. 153, § 38; 2005, ch. 315, § 5; 2005, ch. 316, § 2; 2010, ch. 113, § 1; 2011, ch. 95, § 1; 2018, ch. 72, § 1; 2019, ch. 206, § 21; 2019, ch. 207, § 21.

### New Mexico Teaching Assessment Requirements

			QUALIFYING		PRAXIS	QUALIFYING
TEACHING LICENSE	NMTA	NMTA TEST CODE	SCORE	PRAXIS	TEST CODE	SCORE
Birth to Pre-K Early Childhood Education	Essential Academic Skills	NT001, NT002, NT003	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading/Writing/Mathematics	5752	Score reported by individual test
	Essential Academic Skills: Reading	NT001	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading, and	5713	156
	Essential Academic Skills: Writing	<u>NT002</u>	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Writing, and	5723	162
	Essential Academic Skills: Mathematics	NT003	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Mathematics (On-screen four-function calculator provided.)	5733	150
	Early Childhood Education Birth–Prekindergarten	<u>NT106</u>	220	Pre-Kindergarten Education	5531	155
Pre-K to Gradd 3 Early Childhood Education	Essential Academic Skills	NT001, NT002, NT003	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading/Writing/Mathematics	5752	Score reported by individual test
	Essential Academic Skills: Reading	NT001	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading, and	5713	156
	Essential Academic Skills: Writing	<u>NT002</u>	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Writing, and	5723	162
	Essential Academic Skills: Mathematics	<u>NT003</u>	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Mathematics (On-screen four-function calculator provided.)	5733	150
	Early Childhood Education Age 3–Age 8	<u>NT107</u>	220	Education of Young Children	5024	160
Elementary Education K-8	Essential Academic Skills	NT001, NT002, NT003	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading/Writing/Mathematics	5752	Score reported by individual test
	Essential Academic Skills: Reading	<u>NT001</u>	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading, and	5713	156
	Essential Academic Skills: Writing	<u>NT002</u>	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Writing, and	5723	162
	Essential Academic Skills: Mathematics	NT003	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Mathematics (On-screen four-function calculator provided.)	5733	150
	Assessment of Professional Knowledge: Elementary	NT051	220	Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades K-6	5622	160
	Elementary Education Subtests I and II	NT102 & NT103	220 & 220	Elementary Education: Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment	5017	153
	Essential Components of Elementary Reading Instruction	NT104	220	Teaching Reading: Elementary	5205	159
Middle Level (5-9)	Essential Academic Skills	NT001, NT002, NT003	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading/Writing/Mathematics	5752	Score reported by individual test
	Essential Academic Skills: Reading	<u>NT001</u>	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading, and	5713	156
	Essential Academic Skills: Writing	<u>NT002</u>	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Writing, and	5723	162
	Essential Academic Skills: Mathematics	NT003	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Mathematics (On-screen four-function calculator provided.)	5733	150
	Assessment of Professional Knowledge: Elementary, or	NT051	220	Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades K-6, <b>or</b>	5622	160
	Assessment of Professional Knowledge: Secondary	<u>NT052</u>	220	Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades 7-12	5624	157
	Content Assessments for the First Endorsement on the License	*	*	One of the Content Assessments for the First Endorsement on the License	*	*
Secondary 7-12	Essential Academic Skills 001, 002, 003	NT001, NT002, NT003	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading/Writing/Mathematics	5752	Score reported by individual test
	Essential Academic Skills: Reading	<u>NT001</u>	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading, and	5713	156
	Essential Academic Skills: Writing	<u>NT002</u>	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Writing, and	5723	162
	Essential Academic Skills: Mathematics	<u>NT003</u>	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Mathematics (On-screen four-function calculator provided.)	5733	150
	Assessment of Professional Knowledge: Secondary	<u>NT052</u>	220	Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades 7-12	5624	157
	Content Assessments for the First Endorsement on the License	*	*	One of the Content Assessments for the First Endorsement on the License	*	*

TEACHING LICENSE	NMTA	NMTA TEST CODE	QUALIFYING SCORE	PRAXIS	PRAXIS TEST	QUALIFYING SCORE
					CODE	
Special Education PRE K-12	Essential Academic Skills	NT001, NT002, NT003	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading/Writing/Mathematics	5752	Score reported by individual test
	Essential Academic Skills: Reading	NT001	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading, and	5713	156
	Essential Academic Skills: Writing	NT002	220		5723	162
	Essential Academic Skills: Mathematics	<u>NT003</u>	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Mathematics (On-screen four-function calculator provided.)	5733	150
	Assessment of Professional Knowledge: Elementary, or	NT051	220	Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades K-6, or	5622	160
	Assessment of Professional Knowledge: Secondary	NT052	220	Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades 7-12	5624	157
	Special Education	NT601	220	Special Education: Core Knowledge and Applications	5354	151
Specialty Grades	Essential Academic Skills	NT001, NT002, NT003		Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading/Writing/Mathematics	5752	Score reported by individual test
T NE IN-17	Essential Academic Skills: Reading	NT001	220		5713	156
	Essential Academic Skills: Writing	NT002	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Writing, and	5723	162
	Essential Academic Skills: Mathematics	NT003	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Mathematics (On-screen four-function calculator provided.)	5733	150
	Assessment of Professional Knowledge: Elementary, or	NT051	220	Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades K-6, or	5622	160
	Assessment of Professional Knowledge: Secondary	<u>NT052</u>	220	Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades 7-12	5624	157
	Content Assessments for the First Endorsement on the License	*	*	One of the Content Assessments for the First Endorsement on the License	*	*
Content Knowledge Assessments*	Art	NT503	220	Art: Content Knowledge	5134	158
	Assessment of Professional Knowledge: Elementary	NT051	220	Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades K-6	5622	160
	Assessment of Professional Knowledge: Secondary	NT052	220	Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades 7-12	5624	157
	Early Childhood Education Birth–Prekindergarten	NT106	220	Education of Young Children or	5024	160
	Early Childhood Education Age 3–Age 8	NT107	220	Pre-Kindergarten Education	5531	155
	English Language Arts	NT301	220	English Language Arts: Content Knowledge	5038	167
	English to Speakers of Other Languages ESOL	NT507	220	English to Speakers of Other Languages	5362	155
	Essential Academic Skills	NT001, NT002, NT003	220	Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading/Writing/Mathematics	5752	Score reported by individual test
	Essential Components of Elementary Reading Instruction	NT104	220	Teaching Reading: Elementary	5205	159
	Family and Consumer Sciences	<u>NT310</u>	220	Family and Consumer Sciences	5122	153
	French	<u>NT402</u>	220	French: World Language	5174	162
	General Science	<u>NT311</u>	220	General Science: Content Knowledge	5435	152
	German	<u>NT403</u>	220	German: World Language	5183	163
	Gifted Education	<u>NT312</u>	220	Gifted Education	5358	157
	Health	<u>NT505</u>	220	Health Education	5551	155
	Mathematics	NT304	220	Mathematics: Content Knowledge ( <i>On-screen graphing calculator</i> provided.)	5161	160
	Middle Grades English Language Arts	NT201	220	Middle School English Language Arts	5047	164
	Middle Grades General Science	<u>NT204</u>	220	Middle School Science	5440	150
	Middle Grades Mathematics	<u>NT203</u>	220	Middle School Mathematics (On-screen graphing calculator provided.)	5169	165
	Middle Grades Social Science	<u>NT202</u>	220	Middle School Social Studies	2089	152
	Music	<u>NT504</u>	220	Music: Content Knowledge	5113	161
	Physical Education	NT506	220	Physical Education: Content Knowledge	5091	148
	Reading	NM013	240	Teaching Reading: K-12	5206	156
	School Counselor	<u>N1501</u>	720	Protessional School Counselor	5421	156

TEACHING LICENSE	ATMN	NMTA TEST CODE	QUALIFYING SCORE	PRAXIS	PRAXIS	QUALIFYING
					CODE	
Content Knowledge Assessments*	School Library Media Specialist	<u>NT502</u>	220	Library Media Specialist	5311	151
	Social Science	NT303	220	Social Studies: Content Knowledge	5081	154
	Spanish	NT401	220	Spanish World Language	5195	168
	Special Education	NT601	220	Special Education: Core Knowledge and Applications	5354	151
Educational Administrator PRE K-12	Educational Administrator	NM03 <u>5</u>	240	Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision	5412	146
Educational Diagnostician PRE K-12	Educational Diagnostician	<u>NM033</u>	240	School Psychologist	5402	147
School Counselor PRE K-12	School Counselor	<u>NT501</u>	220	Professional School Counselor	5421	156

### 22-10A-6. Educational requirements for licensure.

A. The department shall require a person seeking licensure or reciprocity in elementary, special, early childhood or secondary education to have completed the following minimum requirements in the college of arts and sciences:

- (1) nine semester hours in communication;
- (2) six semester hours in mathematics;
- (3) eight semester hours in laboratory science;
- (4) nine semester hours in social and behavioral science; and
- (5) nine semester hours in humanities and fine arts.
- B. In addition to the requirements specified in Subsections A and C of this section, the department shall require that a person seeking standard or alternative elementary licensure shall have completed six hours of reading courses, and a person seeking standard or alternative secondary licensure shall have completed three hours of reading courses in subject matter content. The department shall establish requirements that provide a reasonable period of time to comply with the provisions of this subsection.
- C. Except for licensure by reciprocity, the department shall require, prior to initial licensure, no less than sixteen weeks of student teaching, a portion of which shall occur in the first thirty credit hours taken in the college of education and shall be under the direct supervision of a teacher and a portion of which shall occur in the student's senior year with the student teacher being directly responsible for the classroom.
- D. Nothing in this section shall preclude the department from establishing or accepting equivalent requirements for purposes of reciprocal licensure or minimum requirements for alternative licensure.
- E. Vocational teacher preparatory programs may be exempt from Subsections A through C of this section upon a determination by the department that other licensure requirements are more appropriate for vocational teacher preparatory programs.

**History:** 1978 Comp., § 22-2-8.7, enacted by Laws 1986, ch. 33, § 8; 1987, ch. 225, § 1; 2001, ch. 255, § 1; 2001, ch. 261, § 1; recompiled and amended as § 22-10A-6 by Laws 2003, ch. 153, § 37; 2009, ch. 272, § 1; 2015, ch. 97, § 1.

		Statutory and Regulate	ory Course F	nd Regulatory Course Requirements for Licensure	
	Statutory		NMAC		
License Type	citation	Statutory Requirements	citation	Regulation Requirements	Total Credit Hours
		Credits: 41	+	Credits: 60-78	
Elementary Education (K.8)	, c	In the colleges of arts and sciences: 9 credit hours in communication, 6 credit hours in mathematics, 8 credit hours in laboratory science, 9 credit hours in social and behavioral science, and 9 credit hours in humanities and fine arts.	0 0 0	30 to 36 credit hours in elementary education coursework approved by PED, a mandatory student teaching component, 24 to 36 credit hours in one teaching field such as mathematics, science, language arts, reading, and social studies, and 6 credit hours in the teaching of peading.	404 440 orodit hours
	24.424			Credits: 98-104	
Middle (Grades 5-9)	1	1	6.61.3.8	Statutory course requirements <sup>1</sup> + 30 to 36 credit hours in a middle level education program cousework approved by PED, 24 credit hours in one teaching field (6 hours must be upper division), and 3 credit hours in the teaching of reading.	98-104 credit hours
		Credits: 41	+	Credits: 51- 69	
Secondary (Grades 7 - 12)	22-104-6	In the colleges of arts and sciences: 9 credit hours in communication, 6 credit hours in mathematics, 8 credit hours in laboratory science, 9 credit hours in social and behavioral science, and 9 credit hours in humanities and fine arts.	6.61.4.8	24 to 30 credit hours of professional education in a secondary education program, a mandatory student teaching component, 24 to 36 credit hours in at least one teaching field such as mathematics, science, language arts, reading, or other content areas 12 of which must be upper division, 3 credit hours in teaching of reading.	92-110 credit hours
				Credits: 92- 116 credits	
Pre K-12	ı	1	6.61.5.8	Statutory course requirements <sup>1</sup> + 24 to 36 credit hours in an education program approved by PED, a mandatory student teaching component, 24 to 36 credit hours in at least one teaching field (12 hours which should be upper division), and 3 credit hours of teaching of reading.	92-116 credit hours

		Statutory and Regulat	ory Course R	nd Regulatory Course Requirements for Licensure	
License Type	Statutory citation	Statutory Requirements	NMAC citation	Regulation Requirements	Total Credit Hours
		Credits: 41	+	Credits: 60 credits	
Special Education (Pre K-12)	<u>22-104-6</u>	In the colleges of arts and sciences: <b>9</b> credit hours in communication, <b>6</b> credit hours in mathematics, <b>8</b> credit hours in laboratory science, <b>9</b> credit hours in social and behavioral science, and <b>9</b> credit hours in humanities and fine arts.	<u>6.61.6.8</u>	30 credit hours of professional education in a special education program, a mandatory student teaching component, 24 credit hours in the teaching fields: mathematics, science, language arts, reading, and social sciences, 6 credit hours in the teaching of reading, licensure exams from PED	101 credit hours
Secondary Vocational- Technical Education	1	ı	6.61.7.8	Bachelor's degree which includes 32 credit hours of vocational-technical training related to the occupational area; or     Associate degree plus two years of work experience related to the occupational area; or     Carificate plus three years work experience related to the occupational area; or     High school diploma plus 5 years work experience related to the occupational area.    A High school diploma plus 5 years work experience related to the occupational area.	·
Early Childhood	<u>22-104-6</u>	In the colleges of arts and sciences: 9 credit hours in communication, 6 credit hours in mathematics, 8 credit hours in laboratory science, 9 credit hours in social and behavioral science, and 9 credit hours in humanities and fine arts.	6.61.8.8, 6.61.11.8,6.61 .12.8	* Statute only requires PED to create an Early Childhood teaching license. PED created three different Early Childhood licenses. These licenses are identified through an asterisk.	1
				Credits: 101- 119	
Birth to Grade 3*	1	ı	6.6 <u>1.8.8</u>	Statutory course requirements <sup>1</sup> + 36 to 42 semester hours in an early childhood education program approved by PED. Earn 18 to 30 credit hours of practicum and supervised field experiences beginning in the first 18 credit hours in an educator preparation program, 150 contact hours of practicum or supervised field experience OR evidence of three years of work experience, and 6 credit hours in the teaching of reading.	101 credit hours- 119 credit hours

		Statutory and Regular	itory Course F	Statutory and Regulatory Course Requirements for Licensure	
	Statutory		NMAC		
License Type	citation	Statutory Requirements	citation	Regulation Requirements	Total Credit Hours
				Credits:107	
	ı			Statutory course requirements <sup>1</sup> + 45 credits hours in an early childhood education program, a minimum of 15 credit hours in student teaching practicum, at least 135 contact hours of practicum, 3 years of work experience,	
Birth to Pre-K*			6.61.11.8	and <b>6</b> credit hours in teaching of reading.	107 credit hours
				Credits:66 hours	
Pre K-Grade 3*	ı	ı	6.61.12.8	Statutory course requirements <sup>1</sup> + 45 credit hours in an early childhood education program approved by PED, a minimum of 15 credit hours of practicum, 9 credit hours of student teaching with children age 3 to grade 3, 135 contact hours of practicum or evidence of 3 years of documented work experience, and 6 credit hours in the teaching of reading.	66 credit hours
				Credits: 95- 119	
Teachers of Students with Blindness/Visual Impairment (Birth- Grade 12)	1	1	6.61.10.8	Statutory course requirements <sup>1</sup> + 24 to 36 credit hours in an educator preparation program that prepares candidates to teach blind and visually impaired students, mandatory student teaching component, 24 to 36 credit hours in one teaching field, and 6 credit hours of reading.	95 credit hours- 119 credit hours

<sup>1</sup>The "statutory course requirements" refer to the inclusion of the course requirements from 22-10A-6 NMSA 1978 into PED regulation.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>Within three years of employment, vocational-technical teachers must demonstrate competencies through 15 credit hours of professional education in secondary vocational-technical competencies, supervised classroom internship/student teaching experience, complete a professional development plan and 15 credit hours of professional education.

Cor	ntent Area-Spe	ecific Endorseme	Content Area-Specific Endorsement Course Requirements and Competencies	nd Competencies
Endorsement Areas	Rule	Coursework Required for Level 1 Teachers	To add an endorsement to any level of teaching license individuals must meet one of the requirements in the list	Competencies
Entry-Level Language Arts	6.64.2.8	24 to 36 credit hours in language arts and passage of a content area test in language arts.	1) pass content knowledge teacher 24 to 36 credit hours in assessment in language arts; or language arts and 2) complete 24 to 36 credit hours in passage of a content language arts; or area test in language 3) receive National Board Certification arts.	Competencies for entry-level language arts teachers are outlined in NMAC 6. 64.2.9. Competencies were developed to ensure alignment with New Mexico's content standards and benchmarks for language arts and with the national standards of the nation council of teachers of English. New Mexico institutions of higher education must establish curriculum for individuals seeking endorsement in language arts to a teaching license aligned with the competencies. Endorsement programs offered by educator preparation programs must range between 24 to 36 credit hours, of which 12 credit hours must in upper division.
Reading	6.64.3.8	24 to 36 credit hours in teaching of reading and passage of a content area test in the teaching of reading.	24 to 36 credit hours in assessment in reading, or teaching of reading and 2) complete 24 to 36 credit hours in passage of a content teaching of reading; or 3) receive National Board Certification teaching of reading.	Competencies for entry-level reading teachers are in NMAC 6. 64.3.9. Institutions of higher education shall deliver endorsement programs ranging from 24 to 36 credit hours, with 12 credit hours in upper division classes. These programs must be department-approved and align with these competencies.
Mathematics	6.64.4.8	24 to 36 credit hours in mathematics and passage of a content area test in mathematics.	bass content knowledge teacher     cate teacher assessment in mathematics; or mathematics and complete 24 to 36 credit hours in mathematics; or mathematics; or see test in a) receive National Board Certification in mathematics.	Competencies for entry-level mathematics teachers are in NMAC 6.64.4.8. Competencies were developed to ensure alignment with New Mexico's content standards and benchmarks for mathematics and with the national council of teachers of mathematics. New Mexico institutions of higher education must establish curriculum for individuals seeking endorsement in mathematics to a teaching license aligned with the competencies. Endorsement programs offered by educator preparation programs must range between 24 to 36 credit hours, which 12 credit hours must be upper division in classes.

Endorsement Areas	Rule	Coursework Required for Level 1 Teachers	To add an endorsement to any level of teaching license individuals must meet one of the requirements in the list	Competencies
		1) pass cor assessmer 24 to 36 credit hours in 2) complet science and passage of science; or a content area test in 3) receive in 3	1) pass content knowledge teacher assessment in science; or 24 to 36 credit hours in 2) complete 24 to 36 credit hours in science and passage of science; or a content area test in	Competencies for entry-level science teachers are in NMAC 6.64.5.9. Competencies were developed to ensure alignment with New Mexico's content standards and benchmarks for science and with the national standards of the national science teachers association. The national science education standards developed by national research council and the American association for the advancement of science benchmarks were used as guidelines for the development of the entry-level science competencies. New Mexico institutions of higher education must establish curriculum for individuals seeking endorsement in sciencealigned with the competencies. Endorsement programs offered by educator preparation programs must range between 24 to 36 credit hours, with 1.2 credit hours in upper division
Science	6.64.5.8	science.	in science.	coursework.
		24 to 36 credit hours in history, geography,	24 to 36 credit hours in assessments in history, geography, history, geography, economics, civics, or government; or	Competencies for entry-level history, geography, economics, civics, and government teachers are in
History, Geography, Economics, Civics, and Government	<u>6.64.6.8</u>	economines, cynes and government and passage of a content area test in these areas.	<ul> <li>z) complete 24 to 36 creat mous in history, geography, economics, civics, or government; or</li> <li>3) receive National Board Certification in social studies.</li> </ul>	history, geography, economics, civics, or approved endorsement; or 3) receive National Board Certification is social studies.

Endorsement Areas	Rule	Coursework Required for Level 1 Teachers	To add an endorsement to any level of teaching license individuals must meet one of the requirements in the list	Competencies
Health Education	6.64.7.8	24 to 36 credit hours in health or health education.	pass content knowledge teacher assessments in health education; or 2) complete 24 to 36 credit hours in health or health or health or health sor sor sor sor sor sor sor sor health or health health or health health or health health education.	Competencies for entry-level health education are in NMAC 6. 64.7.9. Institutions of higher education that prepare teachers shall deliver the competencies in a PED approved endorsement program within a range of 24 to 36 credit hours, with 12 credit hours in upper division coursework. The competencies were developed to ensure alignment with New Mexico's content standards health or health education; or and benchmarks for health education in national standards of the American alliance for health, physical education, recreation, and dance.
Library Media Specialists	6.64.8.9	Must complete an academic major in library/media.	<ol> <li>pass content knowledge teacher assessments in library/media; or</li> <li>complete 24 to 36 credit hours in library media; or</li> <li>receive National Board Certification in Library/Media.</li> </ol>	Competencies for entry-level librarian-teachers are in NMAC 6.64.8.8. The competencies were developed to ensure alignment with the New Mexico's content standards and benchmarks and with the national standards of the American library association and the American association of school librarians. Institutions of higher education that prepare teachers shall deliver the competencies in a PED approved endorsement program within a range of 24 to 36 credit hours with 12 credit hours in upper division coursework.

Endorsement Areas	Rule	Coursework Required for Level 1 Teachers	To add an endorsement to any level of teaching license individuals must meet one of the requirements in the list	Competencies
Information Technology Coordinators	6.64.9.8	ı	<ol> <li>Have attained at least a bachelor's degree;</li> <li>Completed an approved educator preparation program that includes at least 14 weeks of supervised student teaching; and</li> <li>pass any PED required licensure examination.</li> </ol>	Competencies for entry-level information technology coordinators are in NMAC 6.64.9.9. The competencies were developed to ensure alignment with New Mexico's content standards and benchmarks for all content areas and with the national standards of educational technology as prepared by the international society for technology in education. Institutions of higher education that prepare teachers shall deliver the competencies in a PED approved endorsement program within a range of 24 to 36 credit hours with 12 of the credits in upper division coursework. If an individual does not completed a PED-approved endorsement program, they can qualify by attaining a degree in instructional technologies or satisfactory demonstration of the competencies through an alternative performance assessment process
Bilingual Education Teachers	<u>6.64.10.8</u>	1) pass content kno assessments in bilir 24 to 36 credit hours in complete at least 1.5 bilingual education and teaching of bilingual passage of the bilingual to competencies; or education license in Bilingual Educatic	1) pass content knowledge teacher assessments in bilingual education and bilingual education and teaching of bilingual education aligned passage of the bilingual to competencies; or education license  2) receive National Board Certification exam.	Competencies for entry-level bilingual education are in NMAC 6.64.10.9. The competencies were developed to ensure alignment with the New Mexico's content standards and benchmarks and with the national standards of the national association for bilingual education and must be used by New Mexico institutions of higher education to establish bilingual education preparatory programs. Institutions of higher education that prepare teachers shall deliver the competencies in a PED approved endorsement program within a range 24 to 36 credit hours. For secondary, middle level and pre K-12 specialty area licensed teachers, a minimum of 12 hours must be upper division credit.

Content Area-Specific Endorsement Course Requirements and Competencies

Endorsement Areas	Rule	Coursework Required for Level 1 Teachers	To add an endorsement to any level of teaching license individuals must meet one of the requirements in the list	Competencies
Teaching English as a Second Language (TESOL)	<u>6.64.11.8</u>	24 to 36 credit hours in TESOL.	1) pass content knowledge teacher assessments in TESOL; or 2) successfully complete at least 12 credit hours in TESOL preparation, 6 credit hours of which must be in a language other than English and 6 credit hours of which must be upper division or post baccalaureate credits aligned with the competencies; or 24 to 36 credit hours in TESOL.	Competencies for entry-level TESOL teacher are in NMAC 6.64.1.1.9. The competencies were developed to ensure alignment with the New Mexico's content standards and benchmarks and with the English as a new language certificate developed by the national board for professional teaching standards and must be used by New Mexico institutions of higher education to establish TESOL preparatory programs. Institutions of higher education that prepare teachers shall deliver the competencies in a PED approved endorsement program within 24 to 36 credit hours. For persons with secondary and pre K-12 licenses, a minimum of 12 credit hours must be in upper division credit.
Modern, Classical, and Native Language Teachers	6.64.12.8	24 to 36 credit hours in a single modern, classical, or native language and passage of a content specific teaching assessment.	1) pass content knowledge teacher assessments in single language; or 24 to 36 credit hours in 2) successfully complete at least 24 to 36 semester hours in a single modern, classical, or native language and passage 3) receive National Board Certification of a content specific in modern, classical, and native teaching assessment.	Competencies for entry-level modern, classical, and native languages are in NMAC 6.64.12.9. The competencies were developed to ensure alignment with the New Mexico's content standards and benchmarks and with the American council of teachers of foreign languages (ACTFL). Institutions of higher education that prepare teachers shall deliver the competencies in a PED approved endorsement program within a range of 24 to 36 credit hours. For individuals with secondary and pre K-12 licenses, a minimum of 12 credit hours must be upper division credit.

Endorsement Areas	Rule	Coursework Required for Level 1 Teachers	To add an endorsement to any level of teaching license individuals must meet one of the requirements in the list	Competencies
Performing Arts and Visual Arts	<u>6.64.13.8</u>	1) pass conte assessments performing arts or arts; or visual arts and passage 2) successful of a content specific 36 semester teaching assessment in visual arts; or performing arts or in performing visual arts.	1) pass content knowledge teacher assessments in performing arts or visual arts and passage 2) successfully complete at least 24 to of a content specific 36 semester hours in performing arts or teaching assessment in visual arts; or performing arts or in performing arts or in performing arts.	1) pass content knowledge teacher competencies for entry-level for beginning performing arts or order thours in assessments in performing arts or arts; or arts; or content specific billing assessment in visual arts; or content specific orming arts or arts.  1) pass content knowledge teacher competencies for entry-level for beginning performing arts or visual arts or visual arts or season and visual arts.  1) pass content knowledge teacher competencies were developed to ensure alignment with the New Mexico's content standards and alignment with the national standards for the arts.  1) pass content knowledge teacher competencies were developed to ensure alignment with the national standards and benchmarks and with the national standards for the arts.  1) Pass content specific arts or visual arts or visual arts.  2) receive National Board Certification institutions of higher education to establish performing and visual arts.  3) receive National Board Sertification and visual arts education preparatory programs.
Physical Education		24 to 36 credit hours in	pass content knowledge teacher assessments in physical education; or 2) successfully complete at least 24 to 36 semester hours in physical education; or 20 seceive National Board Certification in the state of	Competencies for entry-level physical education are in NMAC 6.64.14.8. The competencies were developed to ensure alignment with the New Mexico's content standards and benchmarks, the 1999 initial physical education standards of the national council for accreditation of teacher education (NCATE), and the national standards of the American alliance for health, physical education, recreation, and dance and must be used by New Mexico institutions of higher education to establish physical education preparatory programs. institutions of higher education that prepare teachers shall deliver the competencies in a PED approved endorsement program within a range of 24 to 36 credit hours. For secondary and pre K-12 licensed teachers, a minimum of 12 credit hours must be in upper division

Endorsement Areas	Rule	Coursework Required for Level 1 Teachers	To add an endorsement to any level of teaching license individuals must meet one of the requirements in the list	Competencies
Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher	6.64.15.8	1) as sc 2) 24 to 36 credit hours in or family and consumer 3) sciences. in	<ol> <li>pass the content knowledge teacher assessments in family and consumer sciences; or</li> <li>successfully complete 24to 36 credit hours in family and consumer sciences; or</li> <li>receive National Board Certification in family and consumer sciences.</li> </ol>	Competencies for entry-level family and consumer science teachers are in NMAC 6.64.15.8. The competencies were developed to ensure alignment with the New Mexico content standards and benchmarks, the national family and consumer sciences standards, and must be used by New Mexico institutions of higher education to establish family and consumer sciences preparatory programs. Institutions of higher education that prepare teachers shall deliver these competencies in a department-approved endorsement program within a range of 24 to 36 credit hours. For secondary and pre K-12 licensed teachers, a minimum of 12 credit hours must be in upper division coursework.
Technology Studies/Education	<u>6.64.16.8</u>	24 to 36 credit hours in technology education.	1)pass the content knowledge teacher assessments in technology education; or 2)successfully complete 24 to 36 credit hours in technology education; or technology education in technology education.	Competencies for entry-level technology/education teachers are in NMAC 6.64.16.8. These competencies should be incorporated into all college or university curricula for persons seeking a technology curricula for persons fo

Endorsement Areas	Rule	Coursework Required for Level 1 Teachers	To add an endorsement to any level of teaching license individuals must meet one of the requirements in the list	Competencies
Agricultural Education Teachers	6.64.17.8	24 to 36 credit hours in agricultural education.	pass the content knowledge teacher assessments in agricultural education; or     2) successfully complete 24 to 36 credit hours in agricultural education; or as credit hours in 3) receive National Board Certification cultural education.	Competencies for entry-level agricultural education teachers are in NMAC 6.64.17.9. These competencies were developed to ensure alignment with the New Mexico academic standards and benchmarks and the national career cluster knowledge and skills for agricultural, food and natural resources. These competencies should be incorporated into all college or university curricula for persons seeking an agricultural education; or university curricula for persons seeking an agricultural education; or university curricula for persons seeking an agricultural education; or shall deliver the competencies in a PED approved endorsement program within a range of 24 to 36 credit hours. For secondary and pre K-12 licensed teachers, a minimum of 12 credit hours must be in upper division conserved.
Teaching Gifted Students	6.64.18.8	24 credit hours in the pedagogy and methodology of teaching gifted students from a regionally accredited college or university.	pass a content knowledge teacher assessment in teaching gifted students; and     successfully complete at least 12 credit hours in the pedagogy and methodology of teaching gifted students at regionally accredited college or university.	assessment in teaching gifted students; and  2) successfully complete at least 12 credit hours in the pedagogy and methodology of teaching gifted students at regionally accredited college or essessment in teachers of gifted students are in NMAC 6.64.18.10. The competencies must be are in NMAC 6.64.18.10. The competencies must be are in NMAC 6.64.18.10. The competencies must be establish preparatory programs for teachers of gifted children.

Endorsement Areas	Rule	Coursework Required for Level 1 Teachers	To add an endorsement to any level of teaching license individuals must meet one of the requirements in the list	Competencies
			In order to qualify for an endorsement, a teacher must hold a Level 2 or 3-A	Competencies for elementary mathematics specialists
			teaching license for a minimum of 3	are in NMAC 6.64.19.9. The competencies were
			years and how a teaching license in	developed to ensure alignment with the New Mexico
			elementary education.	content standards and benchmarks for mathematics
		•	1) Provide evidence of 5 years of	and with the national standards of the association of
			relevant work or professional learning	mathematics teacher educators. All institutions of higher
			experience; or	education in New Mexico that establish or maintain a
			2) Complete 18 credit hours in	curriculum for persons seeking an endorsement as an
i			mathematics education, of which 9 are	elementary mathematics specialist to a state educator
Elementary Mathematics			required to be upper division	license must be aligned to these requirements and
Specialists	6.64.19.1		coursework.	competencies.

Source: LESC Files

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Individuals who hold a licensure endorsement in TESOL on an existint teaching license may add an endorsement in bilingual education by passing the required bilingual licensure examination and completing at least 6 semester hours in teaching of bilingual education aligned with required competencies.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>Credit hours in a language other than English may be waived if the candidate has passed the language proficiency examination for bilingual education in Spanish or the Navajo language proficiency test.

### 22-10A-13. Native American language and culture certificates.

The state board [department] may issue a Native American language and culture certificate to a person proficient in a Native American language and culture of a New Mexico tribe or pueblo who meets criteria established by the state board. A baccalaureate degree is not required for the person applying for this certificate. The Native American language and culture certificate shall be issued and renewable in accordance with procedures established by the state board.

History: 1978 Comp., § 22-10A-13, enacted by Laws 2003, ch. 153, § 44.

CHAPTER 63: SCHOOL PERSONNEL - LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS FOR ANCILLARY AND SUPPORT PERSONNEL

PART 14: CERTIFICATION IN NATIVE AMERICAN LANGUAGE AND CULTURE, PRE K-12

6.63.14.6 OBJECTIVE:

6.63.14.7 DEFINITIONS:

6.63.14.8 REQUIREMENTS:

6.63.14.9 STANDARDS FOR COMPETENCE AND LANGUAGE PROFICIENCY:

6.63.14.10 RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATION IN NATIVE AMERICAN LANGUAGE AND CULTURE, PRE K-12:

### 6.63.14.6 OBJECTIVE:

This rule provides a certification system whereby school districts may employ non-degreed individuals to teach the native language and cultures of specific tribes and pueblos in any grade K through 12.

[6.63.14.6 NMAC - N, 9/30/03]

### 6.63.14.7 **DEFINITIONS**:

- **A.** "Collaboration with the "secretary of education" means those Native American tribes and pueblos in New Mexico that have signed a memorandum of agreement with the secretary of education.
  - B. "Tribe" means an Indian nation, tribe or pueblo located within New Mexico.
- **C. "Verifying in writing"** means signing a memorandum of agreement as between a tribe or pueblo and the secretary of education.

[6.63.14.7 NMAC - N, 9/30/03; A, 06-30-06]

### **6.63.14.8 REQUIREMENTS:**

- **A.** Persons seeking level one certification (for three years) in Native American language and culture pursuant to the provisions of this rule shall meet the requirements established by each New Mexico Native American tribe and pueblo to determine an acceptable standard of competence and language proficiency to teach the language and culture.
- **B.** Persons seeking level one certification in Native American language and culture pursuant to the provisions of this rule shall provide the professional certification unit with verification from

- a New Mexico Native American tribe or pueblo authority that the candidate has met the standards and criteria for competence and language proficiency to teach the language and culture. Such verification shall be provided on a form acceptable to the public education department ("PED").
- **C.** Persons seeking certification in Native American language and culture pursuant to the provisions of this rule shall comply with all provisions of 6.60.7 NMAC [Educator Licensure Application Fee], 6.60.8 NMAC [Background Checks for Educator Licensure], the standards of professional conduct at 6.60.9.9 NMAC [Licensure Requirements, Code of Ethical Responsibility of the Education Profession], and the Parental Responsibility Act, Sections 40-5A-1 to 40-5A-13, NMSA 1978.
- **D.** Holders of the certificate in Native American language and culture, pre K-12 may not use this certificate to provide instruction in any other subject matter or discipline, unless they hold a valid PED license authorizing them to provide such instructional services.
- **E.** Persons denied certification required by this rule who desire a hearing pursuant to the Uniform Licensing Act, Sections 61-1-1 through 61-1-33, NMSA 1978, must first exhaust the procedures set forth in a memorandum of agreement with the applicable tribe or pueblo.

[6.63.14.8 NMAC - N, 9/30/03; A, 06-30-06]

### 6.63.14.9 STANDARDS FOR COMPETENCE AND LANGUAGE PROFICIENCY:

- **A.** Each New Mexico Native American tribe and pueblo in collaboration with the PED in certifying Native American language and culture teachers, shall develop standards and criteria for determining competency for initial certification and renewal of certification, and shall verify in writing to the PED that these standards and criteria have been developed and that they are maintained on file with the certifying community, tribe or pueblo.
- **B.** Each New Mexico Native American tribe and pueblo in collaboration with the PED in certifying Native American language and culture teachers, shall develop and consistently use a process for determining if candidates for the initial or continuing certification for Native American language and culture have met the standards of competence and language proficiency required for certification and shall verify in writing to the PED that the process has been developed and is the sole basis for determining language and culture competence, and that a description of the process is maintained on file with the certifying tribe or pueblo.

[6.63.14.9 NMAC - N, 9/30/03; A, 06-30-06]

### 6.63.14.10 RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATION IN NATIVE AMERICAN LANGUAGE AND CULTURE, PRE K-12:

A level two certificate (for nine years) may be issued upon verification that the Native American language and culture teacher satisfactorily completed renewal activities required, authorized, and verified by the authority of the Native American tribe and pueblo, and that the renewal process was carried out in collaboration with the superintendent of the employing school district.

[6.63.14.10 NMAC - N, 9/30/03; A, 06-30-06]

### 22-10A-12. Limited reciprocity.

A. A teacher or school principal licensed in another state may be granted a level two or level three license if the teacher or school principal has teaching experience, demonstrates the required competencies and meets other requirements and qualifications for the license for which the teacher or school principal applies, including clearance of the required background check. The local superintendent may require a mentorship period for the licensee if the superintendent deems it necessary. A teacher or school principal who holds an out-of-state license may apply for a lower level license if the teacher or school principal does not meet the requirements for the higher level.

B. The department may grant a level three-B license to a candidate who does not meet the other requirements and qualifications of that license if the candidate has a school administrator license issued in another state and has worked as a school administrator in good standing for at least six years.

History: 1978 Comp., § 22-10A-12, enacted by Laws 2003, ch. 153, § 43; 2019, ch. 80, § 1.

CHAPTER 60: SCHOOL PERSONNEL - GENERAL PROVISIONS

PART 4: LICENSURE RECIPROCITY

6.60.4.6 OBJECTIVE:

6.60.4.7 DEFINITIONS:

6.60.4.8 REQUIREMENTS:

6.60.4.9 LICENSURE ENDORSEMENTS:

6.60.4.10 BURDEN OF PROOF ON SUBMISSIONS:

### 6.60.4.6 **OBJECTIVE**:

This rule governs the requirements for providing limited reciprocity to obtain teaching or administrative licensure, or licensure endorsement, for those persons having completed their education preparation programs at educational institutions outside the state or holding valid out-of-state licensure.

[6.60.4.6 NMAC - Rp 6 NMAC 4.2.2.3.6, 07-01-01; A, 10-31-07]

### 6.60.4.7 **DEFINITIONS**:

- **A. "Core academic subjects"** means English, language arts, reading, mathematics, science, modern and classical languages, except the modern and classical Native American languages and cultures of New Mexico tribes and pueblos, the arts, including music and visual arts, and social studies, which includes civics, government, economics, history, and geography.
- **B. "Academic major,"** under this rule, means twenty-four (24) to thirty-six (36) semester hours in a core academic subject area, twelve hours of which must be upper division for secondary 7-12, middle level 5-9, and pre-K-12 specialty area licenses.
- C. "Full school year" means a minimum of 160 instructional days in a school year or 480 instructional days or equivalent number of days in schools or school districts on alternative schedules over multiple school years of full-time or part-time teaching during which the teacher is the teacher of record or serves as an instructional coach or resource teacher in at least one class each school year while holding a standard teaching license. An equivalent number of instructional hours may be accepted for those teachers who do not teach every day. Instructional days may include teaching in summer school or similar educational setting.

[6.60.4.7 NMAC - N, 10-14-04; A, 10-31-07; A, 06-15-09]

### 6.60.4.8

### **REQUIREMENTS:**

- **A.** Persons seeking a reciprocal level 1 license for elementary k-8, early childhood birthgrade 3, secondary or secondary vocational technical 7-12, middle level 5-9, special education pre K-12, or grade pre K-12 specialty area, or grade pre K-12 blind and visually impaired, through reciprocity, shall meet the following requirements:
- (1) hold a bachelor's degree or higher degree from a regionally accredited or PED approved college or university; and
- (2) hold and provide a copy of at least one current valid teaching license issued by a state education agency, including PED or department of defense dependent schools or foreign country that is comparable to the license they are seeking; and
- (3) have completed a standard or alternative teacher preparation program approved in another state or accepted by the PED; and
- (4) provide copies of test scores for exams that were required to receive the license; and
  - (5) if applying for:
- (a) early childhood birth-grade 3 or k-8 elementary licensure, provide evidence of having passed a content knowledge or professional knowledge test on the basic early childhood or elementary school curriculum and on any additional core academic endorsement areas or have completed 24 lower or upper division credit hours across the elementary education core academic subjects of language arts, social studies, mathematics, and science with at least six credit hours in each core area;
- **(b)** secondary or secondary vocational and technical 7-12, middle level 5-9, or grades pre K-12 specialty area licensure in the core academic areas, provide evidence of having passed a content knowledge test in each of the core academic subjects in which the applicant seeks licensure or having completed an academic major, a graduate degree, or coursework equivalent to an academic major in each of the core academic subjects in which the applicant seeks licensure;
- (c) licensure in non-core academic subjects, special education pre K-12, or blind and visually impaired pre K-12 licensure, have, on a form acceptable to the PED, provided evidence of having satisfactorily taught under their out of state license or licenses or have passed the applicable New Mexico teacher assessment ("NMTA") and
- (6) have, on a form acceptable to the professional licensure bureau ("PLB") of the PED, provided evidence of having satisfactorily taught in any state or foreign country or combination of other states or countries other than New Mexico for fewer than three (3) full school years at any time preceding their application for licensure while holding at least one standard out-of-state or New Mexico teaching license or foreign country authorization to teach or combination of any of the aforementioned licenses or authorizations, and
- (7) submit to and satisfactorily clear a fingerprint-based background check pursuant to Section 22-10A-5, NMSA 1978.
  - **B.** Persons seeking a level 2 license for elementary k-8, early childhood birth-grade 3, secondary or secondary vocational technical 7-12, middle level 5-9, special education pre K-12,

or grade preK-12 specialty area, or grade pre K-12 blind and visually impaired, through reciprocity, shall meet the following requirements:

- (1) hold a bachelor's degree or higher degree from a regionally accredited or state approved college or university; and either
- (2) hold a valid certificate issued by the national board for professional teaching standards; or
- (3) hold and provide a copy of a valid teaching license or licenses issued by a state education agency, including PED or department of defense dependent schools or foreign country that is comparable to the license they are seeking; and
- (4) have completed a standard or alternative teacher preparation program approved in another state or accepted by the PED; and
- (5) have, on a form acceptable to the PED, provided evidence of having satisfactorily taught in any state or foreign country or combination of other states or countries other than New Mexico for at least three (3) full school years at any time preceding their application for licensure while holding at least one standard out-of-state or New Mexico teaching license or foreign country authorization to teach or combination of any of the aforementioned licenses or authorizations, and
- **(6)** provide copies of test scores for exams required to receive the license and have either the required credit hours or have passed a license test for endorsement areas; and
- (7) submit to and satisfactorily clear a fingerprint-based background check pursuant to Section 22-10-3.3, NMSA 1978.
- **C.** Persons seeking a level 3-A license for elementary k-8, early childhood birth-grade 3, secondary or secondary vocational technical 7-12, middle level 5-9, special education pre K-12 or grade pre K-12 specialty area, or grade pre K-12 blind and visually impaired, through reciprocity, shall meet the following requirements:
- (1) hold a master's degree or higher from a regionally accredited or state approved college or university; or
- (2) hold a valid certificate issued by the national board for professional teaching standards; and
- (3) hold and provide a copy of a valid teaching license or licenses issued by a state education agency, including PED or department of defense dependent schools or foreign country that is comparable to the license they are seeking; and
- (4) have completed a standard or alternative teacher preparation program approved in another state or accepted by the PED and
- (5) have, on a form acceptable to the PED, provided evidence of having satisfactorily taught in any state or foreign country or combination of other states or countries other than New Mexico for at least six (6) full school years at any time preceding their application for licensure while holding at least one standard out-of-state or New Mexico teaching license or foreign country authorization to teach or combination of any of the aforementioned licenses or authorizations; and

- **(6)** provide copies of test scores for exams required to receive the license and have either the required credit hours or have passed a licensure test for endorsement areas; and
- (7) submit to and satisfactorily clear a fingerprint-based background check pursuant to section 22-10A-5, NMSA 1978.
- **D.** A teacher who is granted level 3-A licensure under this rule who does not demonstrate competency at level 3-A indicators in Subsection D of 6.69.4.12 NMAC for a given school year may have the license suspended under Subsection F of 6.69.4.10 NMAC.
- **E.** Persons seeking reciprocal administrative licensure shall meet the following requirements:
- (1) hold a master's degree or higher degree from a regionally accredited or PED approved college or university; and
- (2) hold a valid administrator's license or licenses issued by a state education agency or department of defense dependent schools or foreign country;
- (3) have completed a regionally accredited college or university education administrator preparation program approved in another state or accepted by the PED;
- (4) provide on a form acceptable to the PED, evidence of having satisfactorily worked in any state or foreign country or combination of other states or countries other than New Mexico for at least six (6) full school years as a teacher at any time preceding their application for New Mexico licensure in education administration, or having worked in any state or foreign country or combination of other states or countries other than New Mexico for six (6) full school years either as a teacher or administrator with at least three (3) full school years of experience as a teacher at any time preceding their application for New Mexico licensure in education administration.
- **F.** Persons holding a valid education administration license from another state or department of defense dependent schools or foreign country who are seeking reciprocal education administration licensure in New Mexico shall be exempt from satisfying the requirements of Paragraph 4 of Subsection E of 6.60.4.8 NMAC above, provided that they began their administrator preparation program prior to April 4, 2003.

[6.60.4.8 NMAC - Rp 6 NMAC 4.2.2.3.8, 07-01-01; A, 06-01-02; A, 08-30-02; A, 10-14-04; A, 10-31-07; A, 06-15-09; A, 01-29-10]

### 6.60.4.9 LICENSURE ENDORSEMENTS:

Persons seeking to add an endorsement on the basis of regionally accredited college coursework, passage of a content test or showing the endorsement on an out-of-state license shall meet the following requirements:

- **A.** hold the underlying license required for that endorsement; and
- **B.** provide the out-of state documentation supporting their having satisfied the endorsement-appropriate PED requirements for the requested endorsement; and

**C.** if they are also seeking level 1, level 2, or level 3 reciprocal licensure under this rule, meet the requirements of either Subsections A, B or C of Section 8 of 6.60.4 NMAC above for the respective level of licensure sought.

[6.60.4.9 NMAC - N, 07-01-01; A, 10-14-04; A, 10-31-07]

### 6.60.4.10 BURDEN OF PROOF ON SUBMISSIONS:

Consistent with the criteria enumerated above, it shall be the burden of the individual seeking the reciprocal licensure or licensure endorsement to provide supporting documentation to the PED. Individuals would have one calendar year after application receipt date in the licensure bureau to provide the documentation to have the level of license changed. After that time, the person would need to reapply and provide all proper documentation.

[6.60.4.10 NMAC - N, 07-01-01; A, 10-14-04; A, 10-31-07]

### 22-10A-8. Alternative level one license.

- A. The department shall issue an alternative level one license to a person who is at least eighteen years of age and who:
- (1) has completed a baccalaureate degree at an accredited institution of higher education and has received a passing score on a state-approved subject-area examination in the subject area of instruction for which the person is applying for a license; or
- (2) has completed a master's degree at an accredited institution of higher education, including completion of a minimum of twelve graduate credit hours in the subject area of instruction for which the person is applying for a license; or
- (3) has completed a doctoral or law degree at an accredited institution of higher education; and
- (4) has passed the New Mexico teacher assessments examination, including for elementary licensure beginning January 1, 2013, a rigorous assessment of the candidate's knowledge of the science of teaching reading; and
- (5) within two years of beginning teaching, completes a minimum of twelve semester hours of instruction in teaching principles in a program approved by the department; or
- (6) [has] demonstrated to the department, in conjunction with the school district or state agency, that the person has met the department-approved competencies for level one teachers that correspond to the grade level that will be taught.
- B. A degree or examination referred to in Subsection A of this section shall correspond to the subject area of instruction and the particular grade level that will enable the applicant to teach in a competent manner as determined by the department.
- C. An alternative level one teacher shall participate in the same mentorship, evaluation and other professional development requirements as other level one teachers.
- D. A school district or state agency shall not discriminate against a teacher on the basis that the teacher holds an alternative level one license.
- E. The department shall provide by rule for training and other requirements to support the use of unlicensed content area experts as resources in classrooms, team teaching, on-line instruction, curriculum development and other purposes.

**History:** 1978 Comp., § 22-10A-8, enacted by Laws 2003, ch. 153, § 39; 2007, ch. 264, § 1; 2011, ch. 36, § 1; 2011, ch. 95, § 2.

CHAPTER 60: SCHOOL PERSONNEL - GENERAL PROVISIONS

PART 3: ALTERNATIVE LICENSURE

6.60.3.7 DEFINITIONS:

6.60.3.8 PATHWAYS FOR ALTERNATIVE TEACHING LICENSURE:

6.60.3.9 REQUIREMENTS FOR ALTERNATIVE TEACHING LICENSURE:

6.60.3.10 APPLICATION FOR ALTERNATIVE TEACHING LICENSURE:

### 6.60.3.7 **DEFINITIONS**:

### A. "Alternative license" means:

- (1) a temporary, two-year teaching license issued by the department to a candidate who does not yet meet the requirements for a level 1 standard license but is participating in an alternative route to licensure as defined in Subsections B and C of 6.60.3.9 NMAC; or
- (2) a temporary, one-year teaching license issued by the department to a candidate who does not yet meet the requirements for a level 1 standard license but is participating in an alternative route to licensure as defined in Subsection D of 6.60.3.9 NMAC; or
- (3) a temporary, one-year administrator certificate or license issued by the department to a candidate who does not yet meet the requirements for a level 3B administrator license but is participating in an alternative route to licensure as defined in 6.60.3.11 NMAC; or
- (4) a temporary, five-year alternative student success advisor license issued by the department to a candidate who does not yet meet the requirements for school counselor licensure but is working toward meeting the requirements established in 6.63.6 NMAC.
- **B. "Competencies for licensure"** means the content knowledge and skills a teacher shall know and apply in order to demonstrate competency in a particular content area as defined in Title 6, Chapter 64, Competencies for Licensure, Parts 2 through 18 NMAC.
- **C.** "Department-approved educator preparation program" or "department-approved EPP" means an educational program approved by the department pursuant to 6.65.3 NMAC that offers coursework intended to lead to teacher licensure upon a candidate's successful completion of program requirements.
- **D. "Full school year"** means a minimum of 160 instructional days or equivalent number of days in schools or local education agencies on alternative schedules over multiple school years of full-time or part-time teaching during which the teacher is the teacher of record or serves as an instructional coach or resource teacher in at least one class each school year while holding a standard teaching license. An equivalent number of instructional hours may be accepted for those teachers who do not teach every day. Instructional days may include teaching in summer school or similar educational setting.

- **E. "Internship"** means an official program with practical experience in which candidates for administrative licensure assume all responsibilities of a school administrator under the guidance of a mentor for a minimum of 180 clock hours throughout one full school year, including those responsibilities that are unique to the beginning and end of the school year. Internships shall be served at a public school, private school, or state educational institution.
- **F.** "Local education agency" or "LEA" means a school district or a state-chartered charter school.
- **G. "Mental health services"** means the responsibilities of a school counselor as outlined in Subsection D and E of 6.63.6.9 NMAC.
- **H. "New Mexico teacher assessments"** or **"NMTA"** means the tests required for individuals seeking initial New Mexico licensure.
- I. "NMTEACH" means the department-approved educator effectiveness evaluation system defined in 6.69.8 NMAC that measures teacher performance using the five components:
  - (1) improved student achievement;
  - (2) classroom observation;
  - (3) planning, preparation, and professionalism;
  - (4) student or parent surveys; and
  - (5) teacher attendance.
- **J.** "Standard teaching license" means a certificate or license issued by the department at five and nine year intervals authorizing a person to teach, supervise an instructional program, counsel, provide special instructional services, or serve as an administrator in a New Mexico public school.
- **K.** "Teacher of record" means the recipient of an alternative teaching license named in an employment contract with an LEA responsible for teaching students and managing a classroom the majority of the time. The teacher of record is responsible for lesson planning, assigning grades, meeting with parents, and completing all duties of a classroom teacher with a standard teaching license.

[6.60.3.7 NMAC - Rp, 6.60.3.7 NMAC, 11/27/2018]

### 6.60.3.8 PATHWAYS FOR ALTERNATIVE TEACHING LICENSURE:

Three pathways shall be available for candidates seeking to obtain an alternative teaching license in New Mexico.

**A.** Alternative EPP pathway. A two-year alternative teaching license may be granted to candidates who simultaneously complete face-to-face or online courses through a department-approved EPP while serving as a teacher of record for two years. Candidates who complete the EPP and meet coursework and testing requirements at the conclusion of the two-year alternative license period shall be eligible to transfer to a level 1 standard teaching license.

- **B.** Alternative NMTEACH pathway. A two-year alternative teaching license may be granted to candidates who simultaneously complete required teaching of reading coursework and testing requirements while serving as a teacher of record. Candidates who complete coursework and testing requirements and who earn two consecutive ratings of effective or higher on NMTEACH at the completion of the two-year alternative license period shall be eligible to transfer to a level 1 standard teaching license.
- C. Alternative post-secondary experience pathway. A one-year alternative license may be granted to candidates who have obtained a bachelor's and master's degree in a field outside education and who have taught at an accredited college or university for a minimum of five years. Candidates who serve as the teacher of record for one full school year who earn an effective or higher rating on NMTEACH and who satisfactorily demonstrate teaching competencies for the type and level of licensure being sought, as determined by the LEA, shall be eligible to transfer to a level 2 or level 3A standard teaching license. Candidates following the alternative post-secondary experience pathway shall not be required to complete testing requirements.

[6.60.3.8 NMAC - Rp, 6.60.3.8 NMAC, 11/27/2018]

### 6.60.3.9 REQUIREMENTS FOR ALTERNATIVE TEACHING LICENSURE:

- **A. General requirements.** All applicants for alternative teaching licensure shall:
  - (1) be at least 18 years of age;
- (2) hold either a bachelor of arts or science degree, master of arts or science degree, or doctorate degree from a regionally accredited college or university with a minimum grade point average of 2.75;
  - (3) complete a background check in accordance with 6.60.8 NMAC; and
- (4) have no licensure requirements waived on an emergency or temporary basis, or for any other reason; and
  - (5) meet the application requirements for the license being sought.
  - **B. Alternative EPP pathway.** Applicants following the alternative EPP pathway shall:
- (1) pass the required NMTA essential academic skills tests defined in 6.60.5 NMAC prior to receiving alternative licensure at any level;
  - (2) participate in a department-approved EPP with an alternative licensure program;
  - (3) serve as a teacher of record for two full school years; and
- (4) complete no fewer than six semester hours including required hours of coursework in the teaching of reading aligned with the competencies for licensure for entry-level teachers for the type of license being sought.
- **C. Alternative NMTEACH pathway.** Applicants following the alternative NMTEACH pathway shall:

- (1) pass the required NMTA essential academic skills tests defined in 6.60.5 NMAC prior to receiving alternative licensure at any level;
  - (2) serve as a teacher of record for two full school years;
- (3) receive two consecutive ratings of effective or higher on the NMTEACH summative evaluation; and
  - (4) complete required coursework in the teaching of reading.
- (a) Applicants seeking early childhood birth to pre-K, early childhood age three to age eight, elementary K-8, or special education pre K-12 licensure, shall complete six semester hours of coursework in the teaching of reading.
- **(b)** Applicants seeking middle level 5-9, secondary 7-12, or specialty area pre K-12 licensure, shall complete three semester hours of coursework in the teaching of reading.
- **D.** Alternative post-secondary experience pathway. Applicants following the post-secondary experience pathway shall:
- (1) provide documentation of at least five full school years' experience teaching at an accredited college or university;
- (2) complete at least one full school year as a teacher of record while holding an alternative license; and
  - (3) complete required coursework in the teaching of reading.
- (a) Applicants seeking early childhood birth to pre-K, early childhood age three to age eight, elementary K-8, or special education pre K-12 licensure, shall complete six semester hours of coursework in the teaching of reading.
- **(b)** Applicants seeking middle level 5-9, secondary 7-12, or specialty area pre K-12 licensure, shall complete three semester hours of coursework in the teaching of reading.

[6.60.3.9 NMAC - Rp, 6.60.3.9 NMAC, 11/27/2018]

### 6.60.3.10 APPLICATION FOR ALTERNATIVE TEACHING LICENSURE:

- A. Alternative EPP pathway. Applicants following the alternative EPP pathway who meet the criteria for alternative licensure as defined in 6.60.3 NMAC shall be issued a two-year alternative license and shall be permitted to serve as a teacher of record prior to completion of licensure requirements. The licensee shall complete coursework requirements within the two-year period and shall provide the department with documentation of coursework completion. Candidates with alternative licensure may be issued a one-year extension to allow additional time for completing coursework and testing requirements if they can demonstrate good standing with the LEA or EPP. Applicants for alternative licensure via the alternative EPP pathway shall provide:
- (1) official sealed bachelor's degree transcript with at least 30 semester hours in the license subject area, a master's degree transcript with at least 12 graduate hours in the license subject area, or a doctoral degree in the license subject area;

- (2) a letter of acceptance into a department-approved EPP; and
- (3) proof of passage of required NMTA essential academic skills tests.
- **B.** Alternative NMTEACH pathway. Applicants following the alternative NMTEACH pathway who meet the criteria for alternative licensure as defined in 6.60.3 NMAC shall be issued a two-year alternative license and shall be permitted to serve as a teacher of record prior to completion of licensure requirements. The licensee shall complete coursework requirements within the two-year period and shall provide the department with documentation of coursework completion. Candidates with alternative licensure following the NMTEACH pathway who are not successful in demonstrating competency by way of NMTEACH summative evaluations shall not have their alternative license extended or renewed. Applicants for alternative licensure via the alternative NMTEACH pathway shall provide:
- (1) official sealed transcript for a bachelor's degree transcript with at least 30 semester hours in the license subject area, a master's degree transcript with at least 12 graduate hours in the license subject area, or a doctoral degree in the license subject area;
  - (2) proof of registration to complete required coursework in the teaching of reading;
  - (3) proof of passage of required NMTA essential academic skills tests;
- **(4)** a letter of support from the LEA requesting that the applicant follow the alternative NMTEACH pathway; and
- **(5)** a letter of interest from the applicant requesting to follow the alternative NMTEACH pathway.
- **C.** Alternative post-secondary experience pathway. Applicants following the alternative post-secondary experience pathway who meet the criteria for alternative licensure as defined in 6.60.3 NMAC shall be issued a one-year alternative license and shall be permitted to serve as a teacher of record prior to completion of licensure requirements. Applicants shall provide:
- (1) proof of registration to complete required coursework in the teaching of reading; and
- **(2)** verification of five-years' teaching experience at an accredited college or university.

[6.60.3.10 NMAC - Rp, 6.60.3.11 NMAC, 11/27/2018]

CHAPTER 65: SCHOOL PERSONNEL - EDUCATOR PREPARATION

PART 3: EDUCATOR PREPARATION PROGRAM ACCOUNTABILITY

6.65.3.6 OBJECTIVE:

6.65.3.7 DEFINITIONS:

6.65.3.8 APPLICATION PROCESS FOR APPROVAL:

6.65.3.9 EDUCATOR PREPARATION PROGRAM GENERAL REQUIREMENTS:

6.65.3.10 EDUCATOR ACCOUNTABILITY REPORT:

6.65.3.11 COMPREHENSIVE STATE APPROVAL SITE VISITS:

6.65.3.12 COMPREHENSIVE STATE APPROVAL PROCESS:

## 6.65.3.6 **OBJECTIVE**:

To improve the preparation of day-one ready educators through streamlined evaluation, review, and approval of educator preparation programs in the state.

[6.65.3.6 NMAC - Rp, 6.65.3.6 NMAC, 10/29/2019]

### 6.65.3.7 **DEFINITIONS**:

- **A. "Candidate"** means an individual enrolled in an EPP for licensure offered through a department-approved EPP provider.
- **B. "Certified review team"** means the team trained by the department to conduct comprehensive state EPP approvals. Members of the certified review team may serve in multiple roles. The following shall be represented:
  - (1) a representative of the department;
  - (2) a dean or director from another department-approved EPP;
  - (3) a faculty member from another department-approved EPP;
  - (4) a member of a LEA administrative team; and
  - (5) a principal or eligible cooperating teacher from a local public school.
- **C. "Clinical experience"** means the guided, hands-on application of knowledge and theory to actual practice through collaborative and facilitated learning activities taking place in field-based assignments.

- **D. "Completer"** means a candidate who earns a certificate or diploma from an EPP approved by the department.
- **E. "Comprehensive state approval"** means the process conducted by the certified review team to evaluate and approve EPPs.
- **F.** "Comprehensive state approval site visit" means the visit conducted by a certified review team to evaluate EPP performance for certification.
  - **G. "Cooperating teacher"** means an educator who meets the following qualifications:
    - (1) is employed by a LEA;
    - (2) is mutually selected by the LEA and the EPP;
    - (3) has at least three years of experience under the appropriate license;
    - (4) is the primary evaluator of the candidate during their clinical experience; and
- (5) either meets the necessary performance level as defined by the department on their educator effectiveness report or for an educator who recently relocated to New Mexico and does not yet have an educator effectiveness report to have met one of the following requirements:
- (a) the teacher is a level three-A teacher with a minimum of six years teaching experience; or
  - **(b)** the teacher is a nationally board certified teacher.
- **H. "Day-one ready educator"** means a teacher who positively impacts measurable student success from the first day the educator begins teaching by demonstrating deep content knowledge, the ability to motivate and actively engage students, the ability to personalize learning based on students' needs, and a willingness to engage in continuous efforts to improve teaching abilities.
- **I. "Disposition"** means the professionalism demonstrated by a candidate indicating capacity to be a day-one ready educator.
- **J.** "EAR" means educator accountability report required annually and designed to create a uniform statewide educator accountability reporting system to measure and track teacher and administrator education candidates from pre-entry to post-graduation in order to benchmark the productivity and accountability of New Mexico's educator workforce.
- **K.** "EPP" means an educational preparation program offered by an educational preparation provider that is intended to lead to teacher licensure upon candidates' successful completion of the program.
- L. "EPP advisory board" means the group of individuals appointed by the EPP who have unique knowledge regarding the educational needs of the local community.
- **M.** "EPP application" means a written request on a department-approved form, to the PPSC to be a department-approved EPP.

- **N.** "EPP provider" means any individual, private or public education association, corporation, or institution of higher education offering an EPP.
  - **O.** "**EES**" means the department-approved educator evaluation system.
- **P. "Initial approval"** means the first time an EPP provider seeks and is granted approval from the PPSC to create a new EPP in the state of New Mexico.
- **Q. "LEA"** means a local educational agency. A LEA may be a public school district, a state-charted charter school, or a state-educational agency.
- **R. "New Mexico teacher assessments"** means the tests required for individuals seeking initial New Mexico licensure.
- **S. "PPSC"** means the professional practices and standards council, which approves EPPs as defined in 6.2.8 NMAC.
- **T. "Program revision"** means the addition of new licensure programming or modifications made to an existing department-approved EPP, including changes to standards.
- **U. "Quality review rubric"** means the department-approved tool used by the certified review team during a comprehensive state approval site visit.
- **V. "Revocation"** means a department decision to no longer recognize an EPP as approved by the department nor to license candidates completing coursework at the revoked EPP provider within three semesters of revocation.

[6.65.3.7 NMAC - Rp, 6.65.3.7 NMAC, 10/29/2019]

## 6.65.3.8 APPLICATION PROCESS FOR APPROVAL:

- **A.** EPP providers seeking a program revision for an existing department-approved EPP and EPP providers seeking initial approval of an EPP shall submit an EPP application to the department.
- **B.** Applications shall provide the information outlined in the PPSC manual and meet the general requirements of 6.65.3.9 NMAC.

[6.65.3.8 NMAC - Rp, 6.65.3.8 NMAC, 10/29/2019]

### 6.65.3.9 EDUCATOR PREPARATION PROGRAM GENERAL REQUIREMENTS:

EPPs shall meet requirements as stated in state statute, regulation, and the following additional requirements.

- **A.** EPPs shall establish rigorous entry requirements, including a successful completion of the department's required background check and approval process.
- **B.** EPPs shall ensure that opportunities for clinical experiences are provided to candidates continuously throughout their enrollment.
  - (1) Clinical experiences shall begin upon the candidate's entrance into an EPP.

- **(2)** The majority of clinical experiences shall align with the area, subject, or category of certification or license being sought by the candidate.
- (3) During at least one of the candidate's multiple clinical experiences, candidates shall serve as a teacher in a school under the supervision of a cooperating teacher and plan and deliver independent instruction to students on a regularly scheduled basis.
- **C.** EPPs shall ensure that candidates embrace and execute their responsibility as educators to develop the skills and capacities to implement meaningful practices for parent and family engagement, notably keeping families fully informed of their child's progress towards college-and-career readiness, on a regular basis, using objective measures in all subject areas.
- **D.** EPPs shall establish partnerships with stakeholder groups to fulfill requirements related to clinical experiences and meet the needs of LEAs. At a minimum, partners shall include:
  - (1) classroom teachers;
  - (2) principals;
  - (3) superintendents;
  - (4) human resource directors;
  - (5) curriculum directors; and
  - (6) the EPP advisory board.
- **E.** Programs for all teachers shall include instruction in pedagogy that is aligned with department standards pursuant to 6.61.2 NMAC through 6.61.12 NMAC.
- **F.** EPPs shall conduct a minimum of three formally documented observations that include verbal and written feedback on the candidate's practice.
- (1) Observations and evaluations of candidates shall be aligned with the four domains of EES:
  - (a) planning and preparation;
  - **(b)** creating an environment for learning;
  - (c) teaching for learning; and
  - (d) professionalism.
- (2) Results of evaluations and observations shall inform program interaction with the candidate including feedback, placement, remediation, and support.
- (3) Documentation of observations shall be stored by the EPP for a minimum of five years after candidate completion and shall be available to the completer and the department upon request.
- **G.** EPP providers shall establish rigorous exit requirements in alignment with those required to seek licensure from the department. These exit requirements shall, at a minimum, include:

- (1) successful demonstration of competency in all relevant areas, subjects, or categories of the New Mexico teacher assessments; and
- (2) a written recommendation from the EPP that the candidate demonstrates the dispositions necessary for success in the classroom and other learning environments.
- **H.** EPP providers shall detail in the EPP application how the EPP provider plans to provide support to the candidates' completion of all teaching licensure requirements and department processes, including passage of all necessary assessments.
- **I.** In a form approved by the department and no later than September 1, all EPPs shall annually submit candidate-level data required by the EAR. Failure to comply with data reporting and collection requests may result in revocation of the EPP's approval.
- **J.** EPPs shall fully comply, in a timely manner, with all requirements that allow the department to generate the EAR and the comprehensive state approval.

[6.65.3.9 NMAC - Rp, 6.65.3.9 NMAC, 10/29/2019]

## 6.65.3.10 EDUCATOR ACCOUNTABILITY REPORT:

- **A.** Each EPP's annual EAR shall include the following information on teacher and administrator education candidates and indicators of program success:
  - (1) the standards for entering and exiting the program;
- (2) the number of hours required for clinical experience, including student teaching and administrator internship;
- (3) the number and percentage of candidates needing developmental course work upon entering the program;
  - (4) the number and percentage of completers for each program;
  - (5) the number and types of degrees received by completers;
- **(6)** the number and percentage of completers who pass the New Mexico teacher or administrator assessments for initial licensure on the first attempt;
  - (7) a description of each program's placement practices;
- (8) the number and percentage of completers hired by New Mexico school districts; and
  - (9) the demographics of an EPP's candidates and completers.
- **B.** The EAR shall include an evaluation plan that includes high performance objectives. The plan shall include objectives and measures for increasing the following:
  - (1) student achievement for all students;
- (2) teacher and administrator retention, particularly in the first three years of a teacher's or administrator's career;

- (3) the percentage of candidates who pass the New Mexico teacher assessments for initial licensure on the first attempt;
- (4) the percentage of secondary school classes taught in core academic subject areas by teachers who demonstrate by means of rigorous content area assessments a high level of subject area mastery and a thorough knowledge of the state's academic content and performance standards;
- (5) the percentage of elementary school classes taught by teachers who demonstrate by means of a high level of performance in core academic subject areas their mastery of the state academic content and performance standards;
  - (6) the number of teachers trained in math, science, and technology;
  - (7) the number of teachers trained in special education;
  - (8) the number of teachers teaching in low socioeconomic schools; and
  - (9) the number of teachers retained in teaching in New Mexico.
- **C.** EPPs shall administer a completer survey within six months of completion that measures the completer's perception of their own readiness and individual effectiveness in the classroom.
- **D.** EPPs shall initiate all necessary data requests to fill EAR requirements and shall be responsible for collecting, analyzing, and reporting data.

[6.65.3.10 NMAC - Rp, 6.65.3.10 NMAC, 10/29/2019]

## 6.65.3.11 COMPREHENSIVE STATE APPROVAL SITE VISITS:

EPPs shall fully cooperate with the comprehensive state approval process. The department shall develop and publish on the department website an EPP manual outlining the comprehensive site visit process that shall include all documents necessary for the state approval. Site visits shall occur every three years on a calendar determined by the department unless the status of a program, as outlined in 6.65.3.12 NMAC, changes in a way that merits more frequent visits.

- **A.** The comprehensive state approval process shall assess the performance of the EPP on the four components of the quality review rubric:
  - (1) curriculum design and delivery;
  - (2) clinical experience;
  - (3) candidate quality; and
  - (4) continuous improvement.
  - **B.** The comprehensive state approval site visit shall include the following three elements:
- (1) Self-evaluation. EPPs shall complete the self-evaluation documents in the EPP manual prior to the site visit. Documents shall be submitted to the department at least four

weeks prior to the site visit. Documents shall include:

- (a) quality review rubric;
- **(b)** quality review worksheets for each of the four key components on the quality review rubric; and
- **(c)** data and other documentation listed as supplemental evidence in the EPP manual accompanied by any releases for such information, if necessary.
- (2) Comprehensive state approval site visit. The certified review team shall conduct the site visit and review the EPP using the quality review rubric.
- (3) Summative conference. The certified review team shall debrief the site visit with the

EPP and present their initial findings.

- **C.** At the end of the comprehensive state approval site visit, the EPP shall be assessed on its overall performance and shall be rated with one of following site visit classifications defined in the EPP manual:
  - (1) industry leader;
  - (2) well-developed;
  - (3) proficient;
  - (4) developing; or
  - (5) underdeveloped.
- **D.** The certified review team shall release a final written report to the EPP containing the EPP's scores on each component of the quality review rubric and their overall performance no later than 90 calendar days after the comprehensive state approval site visit.
- **E.** EPPs shall have 30 calendar days after receiving the report to submit a response, in writing, to the department to indicate any alleged factual errors and to provide any documentation deemed necessary to support the allegations. If, after review of the EPP's response, the department determines the error to be valid, the report shall be amended within 20 calendar days.

[6.65.3.11 NMAC - Rp, 6.65.3.11 NMAC, 10/29/2019]

# 6.65.3.12 COMPREHENSIVE STATE APPROVAL PROCESS:

The comprehensive state approval process shall determine whether an EPP earns approval for continued operation, is placed on probation, or has its approval revoked. The EPP status shall determine the frequency of comprehensive state approval site visits and the scope of EPP responsibilities. EPPs shall be notified of their status by the department no later than November 30 annually.

- **A.** Level one probation. EPPs shall be placed on level one probation if the EPP fails to demonstrate progress toward meeting objectives included in its EAR or if the certified review team identifies an issue during the comprehensive state approval site visit resulting in an underdeveloped classification outlined in Subsection C of 6.65.3.11 NMAC. The secretary shall notify the EPP of level one probation status in writing no later than 30 calendar days after the EPP is placed on level one probation. Responsibilities of EPPs on level one probation shall include the following:
- (1) participation in professional development and technical assistance prescribed by the department;
- (2) development of an improvement plan that addresses program deficiencies that shall be submitted to the certified review team for approval within 90 calendar days of notification of level one probation status; and
- (3) participation in department monitoring to ensure implementation and progress as outlined in the approved improvement plan.
- (4) An EPP may exit level one probation after one academic year and upon fulfillment of its probationary responsibilities and demonstration of progress toward EAR objectives.
- (5) Within two academic years, an EPP shall fulfill its level one probationary responsibilities and demonstration of progress toward EAR objectives. An EPP shall not be allowed to remain on level one probation for more than two academic years after initial level one probation status placement.
- **B.** Level two probation. EPPs shall be placed on level two probation if the EPP fails to demonstrate substantial progress outlined in the improvement plan. The secretary shall notify the EPP of level two probation status in writing no later than 30 calendar days after the EPP is placed on level two probation. Responsibilities of EPPs on level two probation shall include the following:
- (1) participation in professional development and technical assistance prescribed by the department;
- (2) development or amendment of an improvement plan that addresses program deficiencies that shall be submitted to the certified review team for approval within 90 calendar days of notification of level two probation status;
- (3) participation in department monitoring to ensure implementation and progress as outlined in the approved improvement plan; and
- (4) participation in an annual state approval site visit until the EPP exits level two probation.
- (5) An EPP may exit level two probation to level one probation after one academic year and upon fulfillment of its probationary responsibilities and demonstration of progress toward EAR objectives.
  - **(6)** Within two academic years, an EPP shall fulfill its level two probationary responsibilities and demonstration of progress toward EAR objectives. An EPP shall not be

allowed to remain on level two probation for more than two academic years after initial level two probation status placement.

## C. Revocation.

- (1) The department may revoke an EPP's approval for any of the following reasons:
  - (a) not exiting level one or level two probation status within two academic years; or
- **(b)** failing to meet reporting or compliance requirements as set forth by statute, department regulation, or guidance provided in department manuals.
- (2) The department shall notify EPP providers of revocation in writing no later than 30 calendar days after the EPP's approval is revoked. Immediately upon receipt of a notice of revocation, the EPP provider shall:
  - (a) cease recruitment and acceptance of new candidates;
- **(b)** allow candidates currently enrolled in the EPP to complete the licensure program, provided they complete the program within three semesters of the notice of revocation; and
- **(c)** work with candidates unable to complete the licensure program within three semesters by providing options for transfer to another EPP.
- (3) An EPP provider that has received a notice of revocation may file a request for reconsideration by the department no later than 30 calendar days after the notice of revocation has been received.
- (a) The department shall review the materials submitted by the EPP provider for reconsideration including written statements of position, documents, and comments supporting the claim.
- **(b)** The department, after considering the request, shall make a decision and inform the EPP provider in writing of its decision within 60 calendar days of receipt of the request for reconsideration.
  - **(c)** The decision of the department shall be final.
- (4) An EPP with revoked approval shall wait two years following the date of revocation before reapplying via the application process defined in 6.65.3.8 NMAC.

[6.65.3.12 NMAC - Rp, 6.65.3.12 NMAC, 10/29/2019]

CHAPTER 2: STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION COMMISSIONS AND ADVISORY BOARDS

PART 8: OPERATIONAL BYLAWS OF THE PROFESSIONAL PRACTICES AND STANDARDS COUNCIL

6.2.8.2 SCOPE:

6.2.8.3 STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

6.2.8.4 DURATION:

6.2.8.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:

6.2.8.6 OBJECTIVE:

6.2.8.7 DEFINITIONS:

6.2.8.8 RECOMMENDATIONS FOR APPROVAL OF EDUCATOR PREPARATION PROGRAMS: MATTERS PERTAINING TO EDUCATOR PREPARATION PROGRAMS SHALL INCLUDE:

6.2.8.9 LICENSURE OF SCHOOL PERSONNEL:

6.2.8.10 PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT OF SCHOOL PERSONNEL:

6.2.8.11 ETHICS OF LICENSED SCHOOL PERSONNEL AND RELATED MATTERS:

6.2.8.12 ORGANIZATION:

6.2.8.13 MEETINGS:

6.2.8.14 REPORTS TO THE SECRETARY:

6.2.8.15 SUPPORT OF THE COUNCIL:

# 6.2.8.2 SCOPE:

The New Mexico public education department (PED) hereby creates a professional practices and standards council (PPSC) whose purpose shall be to ensure that high standards are maintained in the preparation and practice of professional educators and support providers licensed by the PED. The PPSC shall advise the secretary of education (secretary) and the PED on matters related to the approval of educator preparatory programs, licensure, professional development, and ethics of licensed school personnel.

[6.2.8.2 NMAC - N, 01-01-05]

### 6.2.8.3 STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

Sections 22-2-1, 22-2-2, 9-24-8, NMSA 1978

[6.2.8.3 NMAC - N, 01-01-05]

### 6.2.8.4 **DURATION**:

Permanent

[6.2.8.4 NMAC - N, 01-01-05]

## 6.2.8.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:

January 1, 2005, unless a later date is cited at the end of a section.

[6.2.8.5 NMAC - N, 01-01-05]

#### 6.2.8.6 **OBJECTIVE**:

The purpose of the PPSC is to ensure that high standards are maintained in the preparation and practice of professional licensed school personnel. The creation of the PPSC recognizes that persons licensed by the PED comprise a profession, with all of the rights, responsibilities and privileges accorded professions, having their first obligation to the public they serve. The primary responsibilities of this profession are to educate the children of this state and to improve the professional practices and ethical conduct of the members of the profession.

[6.2.8.6 NMAC - N, 01-01-05]

## 6.2.8.7 **DEFINITIONS**:

[RESERVED]

# 6.2.8.8 RECOMMENDATIONS FOR APPROVAL OF EDUCATOR PREPARATION PROGRAMS: MATTERS PERTAINING TO EDUCATOR PREPARATION PROGRAMS SHALL INCLUDE:

- A. recommending standards to govern the approval of preparatory programs; and
- **B.** establishing procedures for assessing educator preparation programs in compliance with standards approved by the PED; these procedures shall include provisions for a comprehensive evaluation of course content, an on-site visitation, and recommending the approval or disapproval of programs designed to prepare professional education personnel.

[6.2.8.8 NMAC - N, 01-01-05]

### 6.2.8.9 LICENSURE OF SCHOOL PERSONNEL:

Matters pertaining to licensure of school personnel shall include: recommending licensure standards for all professional and paraprofessional school personnel.

[6.2.8.9 NMAC - N, 01-01-05]

## 6.2.8.10 PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT OF SCHOOL PERSONNEL:

Matters pertaining to professional development of school personnel shall include:

- **A.** recommending professional development standards and framework for all professional and paraprofessional school personnel;
- **B.** recommending approval of state funding for professional development providers and projects.

[6.2.8.10 NMAC - N, 01-01-05]

## 6.2.8.11 ETHICS OF LICENSED SCHOOL PERSONNEL AND RELATED MATTERS:

Matters pertaining to ethics shall include:

- **A.** recommending to the PED any changes to its code of ethics or standards of professional conduct for all licensed personnel; and
- **B.** recommending to the PED in cases in which it has been asked by the educator quality division of the PED to perform a summary review, that a notice of contemplated action (NCA) be issued seeking the reprimand of a licensed educator, or suspension or revocation of a license held by a licensed educator according to law for incompetency, immorality or for any good and just cause.

[6.2.8.11 NMAC - N, 01-01-05]

### 6.2.8.12 ORGANIZATION:

- **A.** Composition of the council: The PPSC shall consist of twenty (20) voting members appointed to four subcommittees by the secretary according to the following criteria:
- (1) Five members shall be appointed to each of the following subcommittees of the council:
  - (a) educator preparation committee;
  - (b) licensure committee;
  - (c) professional development committee;
  - (d) ethics committee.
- (2) The educator preparation, licensure, and professional development committees shall have the following representation:
  - (a) three currently licensed teachers or instructional support providers;
  - **(b)** one currently licensed school administrator;
- **(c)** one professional educator associated with a university, college or post-secondary department of education that offers educator preparation programs.

- (3) The ethics committee shall have the following representation:
  - (a) three currently licensed teachers or instructional support providers;
  - (b) one currently licensed school administrator;
- **(c)** one lay member/business representative from the citizenry of the state on the basis of their interest and knowledge of public schools.
- (4) The PED shall give due consideration to maintaining the representative nature of the PPSC with regard to geographic distribution, membership in professional organizations, and grade level assignments. Each member shall be a resident of New Mexico.

### **B**. Term of service

- (1) Members of the PPSC shall be appointed to a three-year term beginning on July 1 of the calendar year in which the appointment is made. In the initial year of organization of the PPSC the secretary may establish terms from two years to four years for members. In the event that a member is no longer employed in the classification to which he/she was appointed, leaves the state, or resigns from the PPSC, the secretary shall appoint a successor to serve for the remainder of the term.
- (2) The secretary may designate an alternate to serve in each of the above listed categories as it deems necessary should the appointee be unable to fulfill his/her term. The alternate shall automatically assume membership on the PPSC for the remaining of the term when a vacancy occurs.
- (3) The secretary may appoint or remove any member or dissolve the PPSC through official action.
  - **C.** The chairperson and vice-chair of the PPSC shall be the designee of the secretary.
- **D.** Each subcommittee shall elect a chairperson for the subcommittee who shall serve a one year term and may be reelected at the pleasure of the subcommittee members.

# E. Task forces

- (1) Task forces to study and advise on specific issues may be appointed by the secretary.
- (2) Each task force shall solicit information, gather and evaluate data, and report its findings and recommendations in writing to one of the subcommittees. Each task force shall include at least two members of the PPSC, one of whom shall serve as chairperson of the task force.

[6.2.8.12 NMAC - N, 01-01-05]

### 6.2.8.13 **MEETINGS**:

**A.** Time and frequency: The full PPSC shall meet at the call of the chairperson or at the request of the secretary. Subcommittees shall meet as needed at the call of the chairperson of each subcommittee in collaboration with PED staff. Notification of meetings will be given in

accordance with the PPSC's open meeting policy pursuant to the Open Meeting Act, [Section 10-15-1 et sq.] but at least ten days prior to the day of the meeting. Eleven members shall constitute a quorum of the entire PPSC. Three members shall constitute a quorum of the subcommittees.

- **B.** Rules and procedures: Meetings of the PPSC, subcommittees, and task forces shall be governed by the following rules.
- (1) The chairperson and vice-chair or designee in his/her absence shall preside at all meetings.
  - (2) The presiding officer shall neither introduce nor second a motion.
  - (3) A motion shall require a simple majority of those present to pass.
  - (4) A motion shall be in order as long as no previous motion is on the floor.
- (5) Minutes shall be taken at all open sessions of the PPSC and subcommittees. The minutes shall be made available to public inspection.
- (6) The PPSC may develop rules of procedure consistent with the provisions of this rule.

# C. Council agenda

- (1) An agenda will be formulated by the chairperson and will be distributed to members of the PPSC at least ten days prior to the meeting.
- (2) Any member of the PPSC or its subcommittees may submit an item for the agenda through the chairperson. Items for discussion may be added to or deleted from the agenda at the beginning of a meeting by concurrence of a majority of the PPSC or its subcommittees. Interested parties, other than PPSC members, asking for the inclusion of an agenda item must present the item in writing.

# **D.** Announcement of meetings

- (1) The chairperson of the PPSC or any of it subcommittees will provide reasonable notice to the public, school districts, and appropriate professional associations of items pending before the PPSC.
- (2) All meetings of the PPSC and/or subcommittees shall be open, except those in which personnel or ethics cases will be discussed.
- **E.** Absences: A member who is unable to attend a PPSC or subcommittee meeting may not send an alternate or proxy. The PPSC may recommend to the secretary that a member who has two or more absences during a calendar year be replaced.

[6.2.8.13 NMAC - N, 01-01-05]

### 6.2.8.14 REPORTS TO THE SECRETARY:

- **A.** The PPSC or subcommittee chairperson will prepare a written or oral report after each meeting and will present it to the secretary. The decision of the secretary will be reported to the PPSC or its subcommittee(s) at the next meeting.
- **B.** Recommendations to be submitted to the secretary for action shall require a simple majority approval by the PPSC.

[6.2.8.14 NMAC - N, 01-01-05]

### 6.2.8.15 SUPPORT OF THE COUNCIL:

- **A.** The educator quality division of the PED shall serve as the staff office of the PPSC. All communications to the PPSC shall be addressed to: Professional Practices and Standards Council, c/o Assistant Secretary for Educator Quality, Public Education Department, Jerry Apodaca Education Building, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501-2786.
- **B.** PPSC members may submit travel claims to the assistant secretary for educator quality under provisions of the Per Diem and Mileage act [10-8-1 et Seq]. Such claims will be reviewed by the fiscal office of the PED for compliance with the state statutes and PED procedures. Under no condition shall a member claim mileage and per diem from the PED when such a claim has been made to another agency.

[6.2.8.15 NMAC - N, 01-01-05]