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Date: August 23, 2019 
Prepared By: Ochoa 
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM): 5.7.34 NMAC, Teacher 
Preparation Affordability Scholarship Program  

Proposed Rule Abstract 

1. Agency: Higher Education Department
2. Rule Citation: 5.7.34 NMAC, Teacher Preparation Affordability Scholarship Program
3. Rulemaking Action: New Rule
4. Register Issue and Date of Notice of Proposed Rulemaking: Volume 30, Issue 10, May 28, 2019
5. Effective Date: July 30, 2019
6. Citation to Specific Legal Authority: Section 9-25-1 et. seq. NMSA 1978 and Laws 2019, Chapter 193

(House Bill 275)
7. Short Explanation of the Rule’s Purpose: To establish regulations and procedures for the implementation of

the teacher preparation affordability scholarship program, enacted to help defray the cost of educational
expenses for individuals enrolled in Public Education Department-approved teacher preparation programs in
New Mexico.

8. Link to Full Text of the Rule:
http://www.hed.state.nm.us/uploads/CalendarV2/a7356d4addee44719d8d9730b6bf223d/5.7.34_NMAC
_DRAFT_5_28_1.pdf#CalendarContent 

9. How Information on the Rule Can Be Obtained: http://www.hed.state.nm.us/Upcoming_Events.aspx or from
the New Mexico Higher Education Department at (505) 476-8411.

10. Comment Period and Deadlines: May 28, 2019 to June 28, 2019 at 4:00 p.m. Written comments may be
submitted to the New Mexico Higher Education Department, 2044 Galisteo Street, Suite 4, Santa Fe, NM
87505 or HigherEd.Info@state.nm.us.

11. Rule Hearing: July 8, 2019 from 10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. at the New Mexico Higher Education Department,
2044 Galisteo Street, Suite 4, Santa Fe, NM 87505.

12. Link to Permanent Agency Rulemaking Record:
http://statenm.force.com/public/SSP_RuleHearingSearchPublic

Adopted Rule Update 

1. Register Issue and Date of Adopted Rule: Volume 30, Issue 14, July 30, 2019
2. Date Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Was Reported to the Committee: June 27, 2019
3. Link to Proposed Rule Report:

https://www.nmlegis.gov/handouts/ALESC%20062619%20Item%2011%20A.4%20-
%20PROPOSED%20RULE%20-%20Teacher%20Prep%20Affordability.pdf

4. Minor, Non-Substantive Changes from the Rule as Proposed: The adopted rule includes minor technical
changes that do not alter the implementation of the teacher preparation affordability scholarship program
as it was proposed. See Attachment 1, Adopted New Rule, 5.7.34 NMAC, Teacher Preparation Affordability
Scholarship Program.

http://www.hed.state.nm.us/uploads/CalendarV2/a7356d4addee44719d8d9730b6bf223d/5.7.34_NMAC_DRAFT_5_28_1.pdf#CalendarContent
http://www.hed.state.nm.us/uploads/CalendarV2/a7356d4addee44719d8d9730b6bf223d/5.7.34_NMAC_DRAFT_5_28_1.pdf#CalendarContent
http://www.hed.state.nm.us/Upcoming_Events.aspx
mailto:HigherEd.Info@state.nm.us
http://statenm.force.com/public/SSP_RuleHearingSearchPublic
https://www.nmlegis.gov/handouts/ALESC%20062619%20Item%2011%20A.4%20-%20PROPOSED%20RULE%20-%20Teacher%20Prep%20Affordability.pdf
https://www.nmlegis.gov/handouts/ALESC%20062619%20Item%2011%20A.4%20-%20PROPOSED%20RULE%20-%20Teacher%20Prep%20Affordability.pdf


LESC Rulemaking Report: 5.7.34 NMAC, Teacher Preparation Affordability Scholarship Program 
2 

Summary of Proposed Rule 
 
The May 28, 2019 issue of the New Mexico Register contained a proposed new rule to 
implement the provisions outlined in Laws 2019, Chapter 193 (House Bill 275). Part 34 of 
5.7 NMAC would provide guidelines in the implementation of the teacher preparation 
affordability scholarship program including eligibility requirements, administration of 
the program, scholarship duration, and award terms.  
 
Analysis 
 
The teacher preparation affordability scholarship program may enhance efforts to 
recruit and retain students in teacher preparation programs. Historically, the debt to 
earnings ratio of individuals who go to college to become a teacher has resulted in 
challenges for teacher preparation programs to recruit students into teaching.  
 
The Higher Education Department (HED) cites Section 9-25-1 et seq. NMSA 1978, which 
grants the department their general rulemaking authority. The department also cites 
Chapter 193, which created the new Teacher Preparation Affordability Act, modeled 
after the College Affordability Act, which is intended to diversify the teacher pipeline 
by providing need-based scholarships to students enrolled in a Public Education 
Department (PED)-approved teacher preparation program. Part 34 of 5.7 NMAC aligns 
with all provisions outlined in Chapter 193. 
  
Eligibility. To be eligible for a teacher preparation affordability scholarship, the new 
rule would require eligible students to be residents of New Mexico as defined in 5.7.18.9 
NMAC or be eligible for a nondiscrimination waiver as defined in 5.7.18.10 NMAC. See 
Attachment 2, 5.7.18 NMAC, Residency for Tuition Purposes. Eligible students would 
also be required to be enrolled at least half-time in a PED-approved teacher preparation 

program, have not completed credentials to be a licensed New Mexico 
teacher, and demonstrate financial need. Pursuant to the new rule, 
institutions of higher education would be required to prioritize scholarship 
awards for English learners (ELs), students who are racial or ethnic 
minorities historically underrepresented in New Mexico’s teaching 
workforce, and students who have declared an intent to teach in a high-

need teacher position as defined by PED.  
 
Scholarship Duration and Terms. Consistent with the provisions outlined in Chapter 
193, scholarship recipients would receive awards up to $6,000 per academic year for no 
more than five academic years as long as the student maintains satisfactory academic 
progress or graduates from an eligible institution. Award recipients would be able to 
apply scholarship funds toward educational expenses including tuition, fees, books, 
course supplies, and living expenses.  

 
Program Administration. Pursuant to 5.7.34 NMAC, institutions of higher 
education would be required to determine initial and continuing student 
eligibility for the teacher preparation affordability scholarship; distribute 
awards to qualifying students; and annually provide HED with financial aid 
data, including income reported on the Free Application for Federal Student 
Aid, the number of students enrolled in the teacher preparation programs 

Pursuant to 5.7.34 NMAC, ELs who are 
eligible for the teacher preparation 
affordability scholarship are identified as 
individuals “whose first or heritage 
language was not English.”  

The proposed new rule would define 
“returning adults” as those enrolling in 
an institution of higher education at any 
time later than the first semester 
following high school graduation or the 
award of a high-school equivalency 
credential.  
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within the institution, and the percentage of teacher preparation program students 
classified as “returning adults” who are otherwise ineligible for state financial aid.  
 
The proposed new rule would require HED to allocate funds to institutions of higher 
education based on a student need formula calculated according to the financial aid 
data institutions of higher education are required to provide.  
 
The General Appropriation Act (GAA) of 2019 included a $10 million general fund 
revenue transfer to the teacher preparation affordability scholarship fund. It does not 
appear the funds can be spent in FY20 because the fund is subject to legislative 
appropriation and the funds were not appropriated for expenditure. The GAA of 2019 
did not include an appropriation from the fund to HED. It only included the transfer of 
general fund revenue into the fund.  
 
Termination of Scholarship. Pursuant to Part 34 of 5.7 NMAC, an award recipient will 
have their scholarship terminated if they withdraw from the institution of higher 
education or teacher preparation program, do not maintain at least half-time 
enrollment, do not achieve satisfactory academic progress, or are in substantial 
noncompliance with the Teacher Preparation Affordability Act.  
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TITLE 5 POST-SECONDARY EDUCATION 
CHAPTER 7 TUITION AND FINANCIAL AID 
PART 34 TEACHER PREPARATION AFFORDABILITY SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM 

5.7.34.1 ISSUING AGENCY:  New Mexico Higher Education Department. 
[5.7.34.1 NMAC - N, 7/30/2019] 

5.7.34.2 SCOPE:  Provisions of 5.7.34 NMAC apply to all public post-secondary institutions or tribal 
colleges in the state of New Mexico. 
[5.7.34.2 NMAC - N, 7/30/2019] 

5.7.34.3 STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  Section 9-25-1 et seq. NMSA 1978 and Chapter 193, Laws of 
2019. 
[5.7.34.3 NMAC - N, 7/30/2019] 

5.7.34.4 DURATION:  Permanent. 
[5.7.34.4 NMAC - N, 7/30/2019] 

5.7.34.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 30, 2019, unless a later date is cited at the end of a section. 
[5.7.34.5 NMAC - N, 7/30/2019] 

5.7.34.6  OBJECTIVE:  The objective of 5.7.34 NMAC is to provide a guideline for implementing the 
Teacher Preparation Affordability Act (the Act).  The purpose of the Act is to encourage eligible New Mexico 
students to attend and complete an accredited public education department approved teacher preparation program at 
a New Mexico public post-secondary educational institution or a tribal college by providing a scholarship 
opportunity.  The scholarship is intended to help defray the educational expenses charged by the public 
postsecondary institution or tribal college including tuition, fees, books and course supplies and living expenses. 
[5.7.34.6 NMAC - N, 7/30/2019] 

5.7.34.7 DEFINITIONS: 
A. “Academic year” means any consecutive period of two semesters, three quarters or other

comparable units commencing with the fall term each year. 
B. “Award recipient” means a student awarded a scholarship.
C. “Department” means the New Mexico higher education department.
D. “FAFSA” means the free application for federal student aid.
E. “Half-time” means an enrolled student who is carrying a half-time academic work load as

determined by the institution according to its own standards and practices. 
F. “Institution” means a New Mexico public post-secondary educational institution or tribal college.
G. “Public post-secondary educational institution” means a research or comprehensive institution,

as defined in Article XII, Section 11 of the New Mexico constitution, and branch community colleges or community 
college or technical and vocational institute as defined by Section 21-13, 14 and 16 NMSA 1978. 

H. “Returning adult” means a student enrolling in an institution at any time later than the first
semester following high school graduation or the award of a high-school equivalency credential recognized by the 
State of New Mexico. 

I. “Satisfactory academic progress” means maintaining the required academic progress toward
program completion as determined by the institution. 

J. “Scholarship” means a teacher preparation affordability program award.
K. “Tribal college” means a tribally, federally or congressionally chartered post-secondary

educational institution with a physical campus in New Mexico that is accredited by the higher learning commission. 
[5.7.34.7 NMAC - N, 7/30/2019] 

5.7.34.8 STUDENT ELIGIBILITY AND SELECTION OF AWARD RECIPIENTS: 
A. A scholarship may be granted to a student who:

(1) is a resident of New Mexico as defined in 5.7.18.9 NMAC or is eligible for the
nondiscrimination waiver as defined in Subsection K of 5.7.18.10 NMAC; 
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  (2) is enrolled at least half-time at an eligible institution in a teacher preparation program that 
leads to an appropriate educational credential to be licensed as a teacher by the public education department 
including but not limited to an education major or alternative licensure certification program.  The student’s 
enrollment must be later than 120 days following high school graduation or the award of a high school equivalency 
credential recognized by the State of New Mexico; 
  (3) has not earned appropriate educational credentials to be licensed as a teacher by the 
public education department; and 
  (4) has demonstrated financial need as determined by the institution. 
 B. Institutions shall make awards first to students who meet the provisions of Subsection A of 
5.7.34.8 NMAC and who: 
  (1) are English language learners whose first or heritage language was not English; 
  (2) are historically underrepresented minorities in New Mexico’s teaching profession; or 
  (3) have declared intent to teach in a high-need teacher position as defined by the public 
education department. 
 C. After scholarships have been awarded to eligible students pursuant to Subsection B of 5.7.34.8 
NMAC, institutions shall make awards to students who meet the provisions of Subsection A of 5.7.34.8 NMAC 
[5.7.34.8 NMAC - N, 7/30/2019] 
 
5.7.34.9  AMOUNT OF SCHOLARSHIP AND DURATION:  
 A. Institutions shall make awards to qualifying eligible students based on financial need. The 
following provisions shall also apply to the scholarship: 
  (1) each scholarship award is for a period of one semester; 
  (2) the scholarship may apply to educational expenses including tuition, fees, books and 
course supplies and living expenses; and 
  (3) awards shall not exceed six thousand dollars ($6,000) per academic year. 
 B. A student may not receive more than five academic years of the scholarship. A scholarship may be 
renewed as long as the student continues to meet the conditions of eligibility in Subsection A of 5.7.34.8 NMAC and 
maintains satisfactory academic progress or until the student graduates from an eligible institution. 
[5.7.34.9 NMAC - N, 7/30/2019] 
 
5.7.34.10 ADMINISTRATION OF THE PROGRAM: 
 A. Institutions shall: 
  (1) determine initial and continuing student eligibility for the scholarship based on the 
provisions in Section 8 and Section 9 of 5.7.34 NMAC; 
  (2) distribute awards to qualifying eligible students; and 
  (3) provide information to the department on an annual basis to be used by the department 
for calculation of the allocation to the institution. Required information shall include: 
   (a) income reported on the FAFSA; 
   (b) the number of students enrolled in a public education department approved 
teacher preparation program at the institution; and  
   (c) the percentage of the teacher preparation program students classified as 
returning adults who are otherwise ineligible for state financial aid. 
 B. The department shall allocate money to institutions based on a student need formula calculated 
according to: 
  (1) income reported on the FAFSA; 
  (2) the number of students enrolled in a public education department approved teacher 
preparation program at the public post-secondary institution or tribal college; and 
  (3) the percentage of the institution's teacher preparation program students classified as 
returning adults who are otherwise ineligible for state financial aid. 
[5.7.34.10 NMAC - N, 7/30/2019] 
 
5.7.34.11 TERMINATION OF SCHOLARSHIP:  A scholarship is terminated upon occurrence of one or 
more of the following by the award recipient: 
 A. withdrawal from the institution or from the teacher preparation program; 
 B. failure to maintain at least half-time enrollment; 
 C. failure to achieve satisfactory academic progress; or 
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 D. substantial noncompliance with the Teacher Preparation Affordability Act or the provisions of 
5.7.34 NMAC. 
[5.7.34.11 NMAC - 7/30/2019] 
 
HISTORY OF 5.7.34 NMAC:  [RESERVED] 
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5.7.18 NMAC 1 

TITLE 5 POST-SECONDARY EDUCATION 
CHAPTER 7 TUITION AND FINANCIAL AID 
PART 18 RESIDENCY FOR TUITION PURPOSES 

5.7.18.1 ISSUING AGENCY:  State of New Mexico Higher Education Department 
[5.7.18.1 NMAC - Rp, 5.7.18.1 NMAC, 8/30/2007] 

5.7.18.2 SCOPE:  Provisions of 5.7.18 NMAC apply to all state public postsecondary institutions in the 
state of New Mexico. 
[5.7.18.2 NMAC - Rp, 5.7.18.2 NMAC, 8/30/2007] 

5.7.18.3 STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  Section 21-1-4.5 NMSA 1978 and 21-1-3 NMSA 1978. 
[5.7.18.3 NMAC - Rp, 5.7.18.3 NMAC, 8/30/2007; A, 10/15/2015] 

5.7.18.4  DURATION:  Permanent. 
[5.7.18.4 NMAC -  Rp, 5.7.18.4 NMAC, 8/30/2007] 

5.7.18.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:  August 30, 2007, unless a later date is cited at the end of a section. 
[5.7.18.5 NMAC - Rp, 5.7.8.5 NMAC, 8/30/2007] 

5.7.18.6 OBJECTIVE:  The objective of 5.7.18 NMAC is to establish a policy for the purpose of 
determining resident and nonresident tuition classifications for students enrolling at public postsecondary 
institutions in New Mexico. 
[5.7.18.6 NMAC - Rp, 5.7.8.6 NMAC, 8/30/2007] 

5.7.18.7 DEFINITIONS: 
A. "Armed forces" means the United States army, navy, air force, marine corps or coast guard.
B. "Department" means state of New Mexico higher education department.
C. "Dependent minor" means a person determined to be financially dependent upon a parent or

guardian and who has not reached the age of majority (eighteen years of age) or is not an emancipated minor.  The 
legal residence of a dependent minor is that of their parent(s) or custodial parents; or, if both parents are dead, of 
their legally appointed guardian(s) or of the adult person with whom he or she lives with for more than one-half of 
the preceding consecutive twelve months.  In the event a non-custodial parent is a legal resident of New Mexico as 
determined in 5.7.18.9 NMAC the dependent minor shall be accorded resident status. 

D. "Emancipated minor" means any person sixteen years of age or older shall be regarded as an
adult for the purposes of determining residency status for tuition charges, provided they: 

(1) have entered into a valid marriage, whether or not such marriage was terminated by
dissolution; or 

(2) are on active duty with any of the armed forces of the United States of America; or
(3) are willingly living separate and apart from their parents, guardian or custodian, are

managing their own financial affairs and the court finds it in the minors best interest to grant a declaration of 
emancipation pursuant to Section 32A-21-7 NMSA 1978.  Mere absence from parental residence does not prove 
emancipation. 

E. "Enrollment" means the first day of the term or semester for the student.
F. "Financially dependent" means that dependency will be determined according to Section 152 of

the 1954 Internal Revenue Code.  This includes any person for whom the parent, guardian, or spouse provides at 
least one-half of their support.  

G. "General fees" means a fixed sum charged to students for items not covered by tuition and
required of such a proportion of all students that the student who does not pay the charge is an exception.  General 
fees include fees for matriculation, library services, student activities, student union services, student health services, 
debt service and athletics.  An institution may charge fees in addition to general fees that are course-specific or that 
pertain to a smaller proportion of students. 

H. "New Mexico resident for tuition purposes" means a person who is a United States citizen or
has established permanent residence in the United States and has satisfied the requirement(s) and regulations of 
5.7.18.9 NMAC.  

I. "Nonresident" means a student who enters and remains in this state principally to enroll in
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5.7.18 NMAC 2 

postsecondary education, is presumed to continue to reside outside this state, and such presumption continues in 
effect until rebutted by clear and convincing evidence of bona fide residence. 
 J. "Tuition" means the amount of money charged to students for instructional services, which may 
be charged per term, per course or per credit.  
 K. "Tuition reciprocity participants" mean any nonresident, undergraduate student participating in 
a tuition reciprocity agreement.  Pursuant to Section 21-1-6 NMSA 1978, these participants are ineligible for 
residency.  Furthermore, students may not begin to establish residency (i.e., twelve 12-month durational 
requirement) until discontinuing from such a program. Refer to department negotiated reciprocity agreements for 
additional detail. 
 L. “Veteran” means any person meeting the definition of veteran as used in the Veterans’ Service 
Department Act and provided in 9-22-3 NMSA. 
[5.7.18.7 NMAC - Rp, 5.7.18.7 NMAC, 8/30/2007; A, 5/30/2008; A, 10/15/2015] 
 
5.7.18.8  DETERMINATION OF RESIDENCY STATUS: 
 A. At time of first admission.  A person's residency classification for tuition purposes shall be 
determined at time of admission and must be completed by the census date of that first enrollment in a given public 
postsecondary educational institution.  A person not meeting the residency requirements shall be classified as a 
nonresident for purposes of tuition charges. The student's classification at time of admission remains in effect unless 
the individual is re-admitted to the institution or until the individual petitions to become a New Mexico resident. 
 B. Petition for resident tuition classification.  Once determined a nonresident at the time of census 
date, a student can petition to be classified as a New Mexico resident by completing the "petition for resident tuition 
classification" form (see Paragraph (3) of Section B of 5.7.18.12 NMAC, procedure to petition for resident tuition 
classification). 
[5.7.18.8 NMAC - Rp, 5.7.18.10 NMAC, 8/30/2007] 
 
5.7.18.9  REQUIREMENTS TO ESTABLISH NEW MEXICO RESIDENCY:  To become a legal 
resident of New Mexico for tuition purposes each of the following requirements must be satisfied. 
 A. Twelve (12) month durational requirement.  A person must physically reside in New Mexico 
for the twelve (12) consecutive months immediately preceding the term for which the resident classification is 
requested. Exceptions may be granted for student’s participating in an internship or student exchange program 
(excluding those described in 5.7.18.11 NMAC) and not exceeding one (1) semester in duration. 
 B. Financial independence requirement.  Only persons who are financially independent may 
establish residency apart from parents or guardians.  A student cannot be approved for residency who is financially 
dependent upon his or her parents or legal guardians who are nonresidents of New Mexico. Dependency will be 
determined according to the 1954 Internal Revenue Service Code, Section 152 and is always based on the previous 
tax year for residency purposes. If under the age of 23 at the time the student applies for residency, a copy of his/her 
parents’ or guardians’ 1040 or 1040A U.S. income tax form for the previous tax year is required. If the student is 
shown to be a dependent on this tax form, he/she will not be considered financially independent or eligible for 
residency during the current year. 
 C. Written declaration of intent requirement.  The student or person must sign a written 
declaration of intent to relinquish residency in any other state and to establish it in New Mexico. 
 D. Overt acts requirement. 
  (1) Overt acts are required to evidence support of the written declaration of intent to establish 
permanent residency in New Mexico. Any act considered inconsistent with being a New Mexico resident will cause 
the request for resident classification to be denied.  The required overt acts are evidence of any two (2) of the 
following: 
   (a) if the applicant is financially dependent, a copy of the parent or guardians’ 
previous year income tax showing the applicant as a dependent and the parent address as New Mexico; or 
   (b) a New Mexico high school transcript issued in the past year confirming 
attendance at a New Mexico public or private high school within the past twelve (12) months; or 
   (c) a transcript from an online high school showing a New Mexico address 
confirming attendance within the past twelve (12) months; or 
   (d) a New Mexico driver’s license or ID card with an original date of issue or a 
renewal date issued prior to the first day of the term or semester; or 
   (e) proof of payment of New Mexico state income tax for the previous year; or 
   (f) evidence of employment within the state of New Mexico; or 
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5.7.18 NMAC 3 

   (g) New Mexico vehicle registration; or 
   (h) voter registration in New Mexico; or 
   (i) proof of residential property ownership in New Mexico; or 
   (j) a rental agreement within New Mexico; or 
   (k) utility bills showing the applicant name and a New Mexico address; or 
   (l) other evidence which would reasonably support the individual’s intent to 
establish and maintain New Mexico residency. 
  (2) The department recognizes that there may be circumstances in which a student would not 
be able to fulfill the requirements of an overt act as listed in this section, such as: 1) individual is physically disabled 
and does not have a driver’s license, or 2) individual is a convicted felon and therefore cannot vote, etc.  In instances 
such as these, the institution will afford the student an opportunity to provide other documentary evidence or 
reasonable explanation which demonstrates that permanent residency in New Mexico has been established by the 
student. 
 E. Exceptions to the twelve (12) month requirement.  If a student has met the requirements of one 
(1) of the following exceptions, and is granted residency status, the student shall continue to be classified and 
reported as a resident for subsequent, continuing enrollment. 
  (1) An individual married to a legal resident of New Mexico and providing appropriate 
evidence shall not be required to complete the twelve 12-month durational requirement but must satisfy all other 
requirements listed in Subsections B, C, and D of 5.7.18.9 NMAC. 
  (2) Any person, their spouse and dependents who move to New Mexico or who now live in 
New Mexico and who provide appropriate evidence that they work in a permanent full-time position or practice a 
profession or conduct a business full-time in New Mexico, shall not be required to complete the twelve 12-month 
durational requirement but must satisfy all other requirements listed in Subsections B, C, and D of 5.7.18.9 NMAC. 
  (3) Any person entering the active service of the United States while a resident of New 
Mexico and who enters a state institution of postsecondary education in New Mexico after separation from such 
service may be classified as having been a legal resident in New Mexico during the time spent in the service 
provided they: 
   (a) have not while in the service done anything (such as voting in another state) to 
show abandonment of their New Mexico residency; 
   (b) have not established residence in some other state subsequent to being separated 
from service; 
   (c) return to New Mexico within three (3) years after separation from service with 
the intention of maintaining this state as their legal residence; 
   (d) are not a dependent minor with parent(s) or guardian(s) whose place of 
residence classifies him or her as a nonresident of New Mexico. 
  (4) Any person, their spouse and dependents, who move to New Mexico for retirement 
purposes, and who provide appropriate evidence of retirement shall not be required to complete the twelve 12-month 
durational requirement.  They must, however, satisfy the other requirements listed in Subsections B, C, and D of 
5.7.18.9 NMAC. 
F. Inconsistent acts.  A person that demonstrates an inconsistent act, such as residing primarily out of state or 
maintaining a valid out of state driver’s license, may be denied residency irrespective of other overt acts that would 
establish their residency.  An officer of the public postsecondary institution shall exercise professional judgement to 
determine if an inconsistent act should cause the residency petition to be denied. 
[5.7.18.9 NMAC - Rp, 5.7.18.11 & 12 NMAC, 8/30/2007; A, 5/30/2008; A, 10/15/2015; A, 11/15/2016] 
 
5.7.18.10 WAIVERS:  If a student has met the requirement of one of the following waivers, the student 
shall continue to be considered a non-resident for reporting purposes but will receive the benefit of the in-state 
tuition rates.  In receiving such a waiver, the student does not become eligible for state funded student financial aid, 
unless the regulations for a particular aid program allow for such eligibility. 
 A. American Indian nations, tribes and pueblos.  All out of state members of an American Indian 
nation, tribe and pueblo, located wholly or partially in New Mexico, regardless of the residence of the member prior 
to acceptance at a post-secondary educational institution shall be eligible to pay the in-state tuition rate.  These 
include members of the following tribes or pueblos: Navajo Nation, Jicarilla Apache, Mescalero Apache, Taos 
pueblo, Picuris pueblo, Ohkay Owingeh, Santa Clara pueblo, Nambe pueblo, San Ildefonso pueblo, Pojoaque 
pueblo, Tesuque pueblo, Cochiti pueblo, Jemez pueblo, Santo Domingo pueblo, San Felipe pueblo, Zia pueblo, 
Santa Ana pueblo, Sandia pueblo, Isleta pueblo, Laguna pueblo, Acoma pueblo, Zuni pueblo, and the Ute Mountain 
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5.7.18 NMAC 4 

tribe. 
 B. Armed forces.  Any person, their spouse or dependent child, not otherwise entitled to claim 
residence, who is a member of the armed forces of the United States or armed forces of a foreign country assigned to 
active duty in the state of New Mexico, will be assessed in-state tuition rates.  
  (1) Assignment to active duty within New Mexico must be certified by the military person's 
commanding officer upon the student’s initial enrollment.  Such students may continue paying resident rates for as 
long as they attend consecutive semesters at the same institution. 
  (2) A spouse or child of a veteran of the armed forces is entitled to pay tuition and fees at the 
rate provided for New Mexico residents; provided that spouse or child is eligible for benefits pursuant to the federal 
Post-9/11 Veterans Educational Assistance Act of 2008 or any other federal law authorizing educational benefits for 
a veteran and the dependents of a veteran. 
 C. National guard.  Pursuant to Section 20-4-14, NMSA 1978, an active member of the national 
guard and the member's spouse and children shall be deemed in-state residents for purposes of determining tuition 
and fees at all state institutions of higher learning. 
 D. Part-time students.  During regular academic year semesters, nonresident tuition may be waived, 
according to the institution's tuition policy, for students (U.S. citizens and foreign nationals) enrolling for no more 
than six (6) semester hours during a regular term. 
 E. Summer session.  During summer sessions, nonresident tuition may be waived according to the 
institution's tuition policy. 
 F. Certain Texas residents.  Pursuant to Section 21-1-3D, NMSA 1978, for the purposes of tuition 
payment and budget and revenue calculations, the board of regents of any post-secondary, state educational 
institution, as defined in Article 12, Section 11 of the constitution of New Mexico (specifically, NMHU, ENMU, 
NMSU, or WNMU), may determine that any Texas resident who resides within a one hundred thirty-five (135) mile 
radius of that institution may qualify for in-state tuition rates. 
 G. Colorado and Arizona reciprocity.  Tuition reciprocity participants from Colorado and Arizona 
shall be selected by eligible institutions to pay in-state tuition rates based on criteria set by forth by each eligible 
institution.  The department will notify each eligible institution of the maximum waivers allocated on an annual 
basis. 
 H. Athletic scholarship recipients.  Pursuant to Section 21-1-3E, NMSA 1978, for the purposes of 
tuition payment and budget and revenue calculations, any student  (U.S. citizens and foreign nationals) receiving an 
athletic scholarship from a post-secondary educational institution set forth in Article 12, Section 11 of the 
Constitution of New Mexico (specifically, UNM, NMSU, NMHU, ENMU, WNMU, or NNMC) may qualify for in-
state tuition rates. 
 I. Competitive scholarship recipients.  Any student participating in this program shall be 
recognized as a competitive scholar and reported as such, unless the student petitions for and is granted residency 
status. 
 J. Graduate assistants, including research and teaching assistants, employed at least one-fourth 
time (ten (10) hours weekly), will be assessed in-state tuition rates. To be eligible, students (U.S. citizens and 
foreign nationals) must be enrolled full-time, as defined in the graduate catalogue of the public postsecondary 
institution, during regular terms. 
 K. Nondiscrimination principle.  Notwithstanding the provisions of Subsection H of 5.7.18.7 
NMAC, any tuition or state-funded financial aid that is granted to residents of New Mexico shall also be granted on 
the same terms to all persons, regardless of immigration status, who have attended a secondary educational 
institution in New Mexico for at least one (1) year and who have either graduated from a New Mexico high school 
or received a high school equivalency credential (such as a general educational development GED) in New Mexico. 
State-funded financial aid programs with an employment component may require U.S citizenship or eligible non-
citizen status. 
[5.7.18.10 NMAC - Rp, 5.7.18.12 NMAC, 8/30/2007; A, 5/30/2008; A, 10/15/2015] 
 
5.7.18.11 STUDENT EXCHANGE PROGRAMS:  programs established under the auspices of the 
western interstate commission on higher education (WICHE). Participating students may not begin to establish 
residency (i.e., 12-month durational requirement) until discontinuing from such a program. 
 A. Western undergraduate exchange (WUE).  Institutions must apply to the WICHE to participate 
in the WUE program where students in western states may enroll in many two-year and four-year college programs 
at a reduced tuition level, which is 150 percent of the institution's regular resident tuition 
 B. Western regional graduate program (WRGP).  Residents of Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, 
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Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, and 
Wyoming are eligible to enroll in available graduate programs outside of their home state at resident tuition rates. 
Students need not meet financial aid criteria. To be included in WRGP, programs must meet the criteria of 
distinctiveness and quality. Programs are nominated by their institutions, peer reviewed by other graduate 
institutions in the west, and approved biannually by the student exchange program advisory council, a policy body 
that represents all participating states. 
[5.7.18.11 NMAC - N, 8/30/2007] 
 
5.7.18.12 ADMINISTRATION OF POLICY: 
 A. The higher education department shall: 
  (1) publish, disseminate, and distribute pamphlets on residency determination; the 
department assumes responsibility for the publishing, printing, distribution of the residency pamphlets, and other 
related printed matter; 
  (2) develop a standard "petition for change in residency classification;" this standardization 
petition form for residency for tuition purposes shall be utilized by all postsecondary institutions; similarly, all 
applications for admission shall require standardized information for the initial residency determination; 
  (3) convene an annual meeting to review residency issues; classification officers shall meet 
at least annually to review and discuss residency cases in order to assure uniformity and fairness in residency 
determination; 
  (4) conduct audits to ascertain compliance with policy; at least a random audit of each 
postsecondary institution's residency decisions shall take place on an annual basis by members of the department 
staff; 
  (5) annually prepare and disseminate a report of the number and type of exceptions granted, 
by institution; the report shall include exceptions granted to both U.S. citizens and foreign nationals. 
 B. Institution of postsecondary education shall: 
  (1) designate a classification officer. An officer designated by each state postsecondary 
educational institution shall be responsible for determining the residence status of students for tuition purposes under 
the terms of this policy. 
   (a)  Such administrators or residency classification officers shall strive for 
uniformity in applying this policy.  A common brochure, "establishing New Mexico residency for in-state tuition 
classification," shall be utilized by all postsecondary educational institutions. 
   (b) Nothing contained herein precludes a student from contesting the postsecondary 
institution's decision in the courts. 
   (c) Classification officers may require copies of appropriate legal, personal, 
business, or family documents in order to make an informed decision on residency.  Such documents are considered 
confidential and are to be utilized for the residency determination alone. 
  (2) develop procedures for determining residency; the burden of proving a change of status 
from nonresident to resident shall be on the applicant in every case by submitting satisfactory evidence thereof to the 
designated official of the postsecondary educational institution; such evidence shall include: 
   (a) information demonstrating that the applicant, or their parent or guardian if the 
applicant is a minor, has been physically present in this state for a period of at least twelve consecutive months 
immediately preceding the enrollment date on which the change of status is to take effect; 
   (b) for purposes of determining financial dependency, a signed copy of page 1 of 
the 1040 or 1040A United States internal revenue service income tax form for the previous year for the applicant's 
parent(s) or guardian(s) is required (if under age of 23).  Such dependency will be determined according to Section 
152 of the 1954 Internal Revenue Code; 
  (3) develop procedure to petition for resident tuition classification; a nonresident student 
must obtain a "petition for resident tuition classification" from the appropriate postsecondary institutional residency 
classification officer and file the petition with this officer; all petitions must be filed before the third Friday after the 
beginning of classes for that term or the institution’s census date if different; 
  (4) develop procedure for appeal; each postsecondary institution shall organize an appeals 
board for students who feel the residency classification officer has made a wrongful determination; the appeals 
board shall be the student's last recourse prior to the courts. 
[5.7.18.12 NMAC - Rp, 5.7.18.13 NMAC, 8/30/2007] 
 
HISTORY OF 5.7.18 NMAC: 
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Pre-NMAC History:  The material in this part was derived from that previously filed with the State Records Center 
and Archives under: 
BEF Rule 910, Residency for Tuition Purposes, filed 2/27/85; 
CHE Rule 910, Residency for Tuition Purposes, filed 3/8/90; 
CHE Rule 910, Residency for Tuition Purposes, filed 6/29/92; 
CHE Rule 910, Residency for Tuition Purposes, filed 12/21/94. 
 
History of Repealed Material: 
5.7.18 NMAC, Residency for Tuition Purposes, filed 8/1/2000, Repealed 8/30/2007. 
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