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Date: August 23, 2019 
Prepared By: Terrazas
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM):  5.7.20 NMAC, 
Legislative Lottery Scholarship Program  

Proposed Rule Abstract 
1. Agency: Higher Education Department
2. Rule Citation:  5.7.20 NMAC, Legislative Lottery Scholarship Program
3. Rulemaking Action: Amendment
4. Register Issue and Date of Notice of Proposed Rulemaking: Volume 30, Issue 10, May 28, 2019
5. Effective Date: July 30, 2019
6. Citation to Specific Legal Authority: Sections 6-24-1 through 6-24-34 NMSA 1978, Sections 21-21N-1

through 21-21N-7 NMSA 1978
7. Short Explanation of the Rule’s Purpose: To include tribal colleges as eligible institutions and update student

eligibility criteria for the Legislative Lottery Scholarship Program.
8. Link to Full Text of the Rule:

http://www.hed.state.nm.us/uploads/CalendarV2/a7356d4addee44719d8d9730b6bf223d/
5.7.20_NMAC_DRAFT_5_28.pdf#CalendarContent

9. How Information on the Rule Can Be Obtained: From the Higher Education Department, 2044 Galisteo St.,
Suite 4, Santa Fe, NM 87505, or from HigherEd.Info@state.nm.us

10. Comment Period and Deadlines: May 28, 2019 to July 8, 2019 at 4:00 p.m. Written comments may be
submitted to the Higher Education Department, 2044 Galisteo St., Suite 4, Santa Fe, NM 87505, or to
HigherEd.Info@state.nm.us.

11. Rule Hearing: July 8, 2019, from 12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m., at the Higher Education Department, 2044
Galisteo St., Suite 4, Santa Fe, NM 87505

12. Link to Permanent Agency Rulemaking Record:
http://statenm.force.com/public/SSP_RuleHearingSearchPublic

Adopted Rule Update 

1. Register Issue and Date of Adopted Rule: Volume 30, Issue 14, July 30, 2019
2. Date Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Was Reported to the Committee: June 28, 2019
3. Link to Proposed Rule Report:

https://www.nmlegis.gov/handouts/ALESC%20062619%20Item%2011%20A.2%20-
%20PROPOSED%20RULE%20-
%20Legislative%20Lottery%20Scholarship,%20Tribal%20Colleges%205.7.20.pdf

4. Minor, Non-Substantive Changes from the Rule as Proposed: Changes to the definition of “public post-
secondary educational institution,” and the addition of one newly defined term, “state educational
institution.”

Summary of Proposed Rule 

The May 28, 2019 issue of the New Mexico Register contained a notice of proposed 
rulemaking for Part 20 of 5.7 NMAC, the Legislative Lottery Scholarship Program. The 
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proposed rule would include tribal colleges as eligible institutions for the legislative 
lottery scholarship program. The rule also proposes to modify student eligibility 
criteria related to the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, part-time 
enrollment, and requirements for students on probation. Finally, the rule clarifies that 
any reference to high school equivalency credentials is meant to include only such 
credentials recognized by New Mexico. These proposed changes largely implement 
requirements of Laws 2019, Chapter 33 and Chapter 54. See, Attachment 1, Adopted 
Rule, 5.7.20 NMAC, Legislative Lottery Scholarship Program.  

Analysis 

Technical Issues. Both the rule as proposed and the adopted rule present technical 
issues related to definitions. According to Section 14-4-5.7 NMSA 1978 of the State 
Rules Act, terms defined in applicable statute “should not” be defined in rule. Any 
conflict between statutorily defined terms and their corresponding regulatory 
definitions will be resolved in favor of statute. Like the proposed rule, the adopted rule 
contains terms defined identically to those in the Legislative Lottery Scholarship Act, 
as amended by SB407, as well as terms that are defined similarly, but not identically, to 
those in the amended act. One adopted definition, for “public post-secondary 
educational institution,” was changed from its proposed version to match the 
corresponding statutory definition. A newly defined term matching its statutory 
definition for “state educational institution,” was also added to the adopted rule. See 
Attachment 2, Table of Conflicting Defined Terms, for a comparison of these terms’ 
definitional language.  



This is an amendment to 5.7.20 NMAC, Sections 2, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11 effective 7/30/2019.

5.7.20.2 SCOPE: Provisions of 5.7.20 NMAC apply to all state public post-secondary institutions and tribal colleges in
the state of New Mexico.
[5.7.20.2 NMAC - Rp, 5.7.20.2 NMAC, 08/15/2014; A, 7/30/2019]

5.7.20.6 OBJECTIVE:
A. The objective of 5.7.20 NMAC is to provide a level of financial support to qualified New Mexico students who

are enrolled full-time at an eligible New Mexico public [college or university] post-secondary educational institution or tribal
college. This level of financial support is intended to help defray the cost of tuition at the public post-secondary educational
institution or tribal college where the student is enrolled.

B. A further purpose of 5.7.20 NMAC is to encourage New Mexico high school students who pursue a post-
secondary education in New Mexico to complete a first four-year degree within a maximum of eight semesters or two-year degree
within a maximum of four semesters (the number of semesters is so determined as the initial award is not made until the second
semester of college enrollment).

C. As it applies to students with disabilities who may require special accommodations, the department, in
consultation with the student and the office at the public post-secondary educational institution that serves students with disabilities,
shall review both the definition of “full-time” and the maximum number of consecutive semesters of eligibility and adjust either or
both as deemed reasonable and appropriate, based on the student's disability needs. In no case shall “full-time” mean fewer than six
credit hours per program semester and in no case shall eligibility extend beyond 14 consecutive program semesters at a four-year
institution and seven consecutive program semesters at a two-year institution. If a New Mexico resident had to leave the state to
receive an education pursuant to the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act the student shall be eligible for the
scholarship if they graduated from an accredited high school in another state and otherwise met the qualifications for a tuition
scholarship pursuant to the definition of a qualified student in Subsection N of 5.7.20.7 NMAC.
[5.7.20.6 NMAC - Rp, 5.7.20.6 NMAC, 08/15/2014; A/E, 8/15/2014; A, 11/15/2016; A, 7/30/2019]

5.7.20.7 DEFINITIONS:
A. “Academic year” means any consecutive period of two semesters (or three semesters for accelerated

programs), three quarters or other comparable units commencing with the fall term each year.
B. “Accelerated program” means one in which a summer semester is a program requirement and not a student

choice; a cohort that requires sequence of courses taken in summer semester.
C. “Community college” means a branch community college of a four-year state educational institution, a two-

year state educational institution or a community college or technical and vocational institute established pursuant to Chapter 21,
Article 13 or 16 NMSA 1978, respectively.

D. “Comprehensive institution” means eastern New Mexico university, New Mexico Highlands university,
northern New Mexico college or western New Mexico university.

E. “Consortium” means a written agreement between a home institution and one or more host institutions for
consideration of combined enrollment for eligibility:

(1) home institution is the institution where the student is enrolled in a degree or certificate seeking
program and is receiving lottery scholarship funds;

(2) host institution is the secondary institution where the student is taking part of their program
requirements.

F. “Department” means the New Mexico higher education department (NMHED).
G. “Full-time” means 15 or more credit hours completed each program semester of the regular academic year at a

research institution [or], comprehensive institution or tribal college; or 12 or more credit hours completed for each program
semester at community colleges; or through a consortium agreement between the home and host institutions. For students enrolled
through a consortium agreement the minimum credit hour eligibility requirement shall be based on the student’s home institution.
Qualified students in their graduating semester are only required to take the number of credit hours required to graduate.

H. “GPA” means grade point average.
I. “Legislative lottery scholarship” means a scholarship awarded from proceeds of the New Mexico lottery

tuition fund, to defray all or part of the cost of tuition.
J. “Non-enrollment” means a student is not enrolled in a public post-secondary educational institution.
K. “Probation” means a period of time that a student fails to meet continuing eligibility for exceptional mitigating

circumstances as determined by the lead financial aid officer at the institution; as described in Subsection [C] D of 5.7.20.8 NMAC.
L. “Program semesters” means those semesters for which a qualified student may receive a tuition scholarship

and excludes the first semester of full-time attendance at a public post-secondary educational institution or tribal college.
M. “Public post-secondary educational institution” means [a research or comprehensive institution, as defined in

Article XII, Section 11 of the New Mexico constitution, and branch community colleges or community college or technical and
vocational institute as defined by Section 21-13, 14 and 16 NMSA 1978] a four-year state educational institution or a community
college.

N. “Qualified student” means a full-time student who completed high school at a public or accredited private New
Mexico high school, graduated from a public or accredited private New Mexico high school or who received a high school
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equivalency credential recognized by the State of New Mexico while maintaining residency in New Mexico and who either:
(1) within 16 months of graduation or receipt of a high school equivalency credential recognized by the

State of New Mexico, was accepted for entrance to and subsequently enrolled full-time at a public post-secondary educational
institution or tribal college without having previously enrolled at a non-qualifying post-secondary institution; or

(2) within four months of graduation or receipt of a high school equivalency credential recognized by the
State of New Mexico, began service in the United States armed forces and within 16 months of completion of honorable service or
medical discharge from the service, subsequently enrolled full-time at a public post-secondary educational institution or tribal
college without having previously enrolled at a non-qualifying post-secondary institution; and

(3) successfully completed the qualifying semester at a public post-secondary educational institution or
tribal college with a grade point average of 2.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale during the first semester of full time enrollment.

[N]O. “Research institution” means New Mexico institute of mining and technology, New Mexico state university
and the university of New Mexico.

[O.    “Qualified student” means a full-time student who completed high school at a public or accredited private New
Mexico high school, graduated from a public or accredited private New Mexico high school or who received a high school
equivalency credential while maintaining residency in New Mexico and who either:

(1) within 16 months of graduation or receipt of a high school equivalency credential, was accepted for
entrance to and attended a public post-secondary educational institution without having previously enrolled at a non-qualifying
postsecondary institution; or

(2) within four months of graduation or receipt of a high school equivalency credential, began service in
the United States armed forces and within 16 months of completion of honorable service or medical discharge from the service,
attended a public post-secondary educational institution without having previously enrolled at a non-qualifying postsecondary
institution; and

(3) successfully completed the first semester at a public post-secondary educational institution with a
grade point average of 2.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale during the first semester of full time enrollment.]

P. “State educational institution” means an institution of higher education enumerated in Article 12, Section 11
of the Constitution of New Mexico.

[P]Q. “Summer semester” means a semester equal to fall and spring semester in duration and intensity that is
required as part of an accelerated program.

R. “Tribal college” means a tribally, federally or congressionally chartered post-secondary educational institution
with a physical campus in New Mexico that is accredited by the higher learning commission.

[Q] S. “Tuition scholarship” means the scholarship that provides tuition assistance per semester for qualified
students.
[5.7.20.7 NMAC - Rp, 5.7.20.7 NMAC, 08/15/2014; A/E, 8/15/2014; A, 11/15/2016; A, 10/31/2017; A, 7/24/2018; A, 7/30/2019]

5.7.20.8 STUDENT ELIGIBILITY:
A. A scholarship may be awarded to a student in their second semester who has met first semester eligibility

requirements as follows:
(1) has established and maintained New Mexico residency as defined in 5.7.18.9 NMAC or is eligible for

a nondiscrimination waiver as defined in Subsection K of 5.7.18.10 NMAC. All residency requirements must be met upon
completion of high school, graduation, or receipt of a high school equivalency credential recognized by the State of New Mexico;

(2) has been determined to be a qualified student pursuant to Subsection [O] N of 5.7.20.7 NMAC;
(3) has met the requirements in Subsection G of 5.7.20.7 NMAC;
(4) has met requirements in Paragraphs (1) through (3) of Subsection A of 5.7.20.8 NMAC or students

with exceptional mitigating circumstances as determined by the institution’s lead financial aid officer; students who are incapable of
meeting the requirements specified in Paragraphs (1) through (3) of Subsection A of 5.7.20.8 NMAC due to a documented
exceptional mitigating circumstance do not forfeit eligibility for the legislative lottery scholarship; however, the following
requirements shall apply:

(a) the student shall provide documents certifying the nature of the students exceptional
mitigating circumstance to the institution’s lead financial aid officer at the post-secondary educational institution at which the
student is enrolling or will enroll; the institution’s lead financial aid officer shall exercise professional judgment to determine
whether the exceptional mitigating circumstance is beyond the student's control and precludes the student from meeting the
requirements specified in Paragraphs (1) through (3) of Subsection A of 5.7.20.8 NMAC;

(b) if, in the professional judgment of the institution’s lead financial aid officer, the student's
exceptional mitigating circumstance is recognized as a valid reason for the student's inability to meet the requirements specified in
Paragraphs (1) through (3) of Subsection A of 5.7.20.8 NMAC the student's initial eligibility for the legislative lottery scholarship
shall be suspended or deferred unless and until such time that the student is capable of meeting the requirements of Paragraph (4) of
Subsection A of 5.7.20.8 NMAC; and

(5) has not been awarded a New Mexico scholars’ scholarship or other state scholarships which are
designated for one hundred percent tuition[; and

(6) students with disabilities shall obtain a referral from the student services division of the post-
secondary educational institution where the student is enrolled that oversees students with special needs’ requests to reduce the
credit hours to be considered full-time for scholarship eligibility; referrals and any sufficient documentation shall be received within
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30 days of the start of the student’s first semester;
(7) students are encouraged, but are not required, to complete a free application for student aid (FAFSA)

for lottery scholarship eligibility].
B. Other provisions regarding initial eligibility.

(1) Students with disabilities shall obtain a referral from the student services division of the post-
secondary educational institution where the student is enrolled that oversees students with special needs’ requests to reduce the
credit hours to be considered full-time for scholarship eligibility; referrals and any sufficient documentation shall be received within
30 days of the start of the student’s first semester.

(2) Students are encouraged, but are not required, to complete a free application for student aid (FAFSA)
for lottery scholarship eligibility.

(3) During the 16 months after graduation or receipt of a high school equivalency credential recognized
by the State of New Mexico a student may attend a public post-secondary educational institution or tribal college prior to their
qualifying semester less than-full time without affecting future program eligibility.  Once a student is enrolled and attends a public
post-secondary educational institution or tribal college full-time during the 16 months after graduation or receipt of high school
equivalency credential recognized by the State of New Mexico, the student shall be considered to have commenced the qualifying
semester and must meet the qualifying semester eligibility requirements within Subsection N of 5.7.20.7 NMAC.

[B.] C. Continuing eligibility. Upon satisfaction of the qualifying semester eligibility requirements, the scholarship will
be awarded to the student beginning with their second semester of enrollment. A student’s continuing eligibility shall be determined
on a semester basis.

(1) A legislative lottery scholarship award may be re-awarded to a student who:
(a) maintains a minimum of a 2.5 cumulative GPA; a student has the right to request use of the

student’s cumulative GPA earned at all New Mexico public post-secondary educational institutions and tribal colleges; and
(b) maintains full time enrollment as provided in Subsection G of 5.7.20.7 NMAC; when a

qualified student transfers after completion of the first semester from a two year institution to a four year institution for enrollment
during the second or subsequent program semester, a student will have met eligibility requirements, but said student must enroll in
15 credit hours upon transfer to maintain eligibility;

(i) receipt of a transfer transcript for sufficient documentation for eligibility;
(ii) student transfers shall defer to the receiving institution to determine eligibility.

(2) Students with disabilities may be re-awarded the legislative scholarship under the following
conditions:

(a) a referral is obtained for each semester in which a reduction in credit hours is requested;
(b) maintains a minimum of a 2.5 cumulative GPA; and
(c) in no case shall eligibility extend beyond 14 consecutive semesters at a four year institution

and seven consecutive semesters at a two year institution.
(3) An eligible student that transfers shall continue to be eligible at the receiving institution after receipt

of the student’s transfer transcript containing eligibility confirmation.
[C.] D. Probation. Students who have been determined eligible and subsequently have exceptional mitigating

circumstances as determined by the institution’s lead financial aid officer may be placed on a probationary status under the
following conditions:

(1) the student shall provide documents certifying the nature of their exceptional mitigating circumstance
to the lead financial aid officer at the post-secondary institution at which the student is enrolling or will enroll;

(2) the lead financial aid officer shall exercise professional judgment to determine whether the exceptional
mitigating circumstance is beyond the student's control and precludes the student from meeting the requirements specified in
Paragraph (4) of Subsection A of 5.7.20.8 NMAC; and

[(3)          the student shall maintain enrollment at the public post-secondary educational institution where
eligibility was lost, if applicable;]

[(4)] (3)  a student may receive scholarship funding while on probationary status, however under no
circumstances shall the student receive program awards in excess of those prescribed in Subsections A and B of 5.7.20.9 NMAC
[less the regular semester(s) of probation].
[5.7.20.8 NMAC -Rp, 5.7.20.8 NMAC, 08/15/2014; A/E, 8/15/2014; A, 9/30/2014; A, 11/15/2016; A, 10/31/2017; A, 7/30/2019]

5.7.20.9 DURATION OF SCHOLARSHIP:
[A.           Upon qualification, the student’s initial scholarship shall begin with the second semester of enrollment at a post-

secondary educational institution.  Thereafter, each scholarship is for a period of one semester subject to revocation for failure to
maintain eligibility.  The scholarship may be renewed on a semester basis until the award recipient has received three program
semesters of awards at a community college or seven semesters at a research and comprehensive institution of scholarship awards,
or until the student graduates with a bachelor’s degree from an eligible institution, whichever is sooner.

B. An award recipient may use the award at an eligible two-year post-secondary educational institution until the
student receives three program semesters of scholarship awards or an associate’s degree and can continue to use the award at an
eligible New Mexico four-year post-secondary educational institution if the student transfers to a four-year post-secondary
educational institution without a break in attendance or the semester following receipt of the associate’s degree.  In no case shall a
student receive more than seven program semesters of the award with the exception of students with disabilities.
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C. A student may transfer from a four-year post-secondary educational institution or to a two-year post-secondary
educational institution, but in no case shall a student receive more than three program semesters of awards at the two-year institution
(including those awarded at the prior post-secondary educational institution) or until the student graduates with an associate’s
degree, whichever is sooner.]

A. Upon qualification, the student’s initial scholarship shall begin with the second semester of enrollment at a
public post-secondary educational institution or tribal college.  Thereafter, each scholarship is for a period of one semester subject to
revocation for failure to maintain eligibility.  The scholarship may be renewed on a semester basis until the award recipient has
received three program semesters of awards at a community college or seven program semesters of awards at a research institution,
comprehensive institution, or tribal college, or until the student graduates with a bachelor’s degree from an eligible institution,
whichever is sooner.

B. An award recipient may use the award at an eligible two-year public post-secondary educational institution until
the student receives three program semesters of scholarship awards or an associate’s degree and can continue to use the award at an
eligible New Mexico four-year public post-secondary educational institution or tribal college if the student transfers to a four-year
public post-secondary educational institution or tribal college without a break in attendance or the semester following receipt of the
associate’s degree.  In no case shall a student receive more than seven program semesters of the award with the exception of
students with disabilities.

C. A student may transfer from a four-year public post-secondary educational institution or tribal college to a two-
year public post-secondary educational institution, but in no case shall a student receive more than three program semesters of
awards at the two-year institution (including those awarded at the prior public post-secondary educational institution or tribal
college) or until the student graduates with an associate’s degree, whichever is sooner.

D. A student who has been previously eligible may request a leave of absence for cooperative education, military
obligations, participation in a study abroad program through the home institution, or other exceptional mitigating circumstances.

E. The student’s institutional lead financial aid officer may approve a leave of absence for a period of up to one
year if in the lead financial aid officer’s professional judgment the student has provided sufficient documentation to justify the leave
of absence. Subsequent requests for an additional leave of absence by a student may be considered by the institution’s lead financial
aid officer in increments not to exceed one year.

F. The lead financial aid officer shall, in turn, ensure that the student does not receive program awards in excess of
those prescribed in Subsections A and B of 5.7.20.9 NMAC and shall exclude the semesters of “non-enrollment” from the
determination of eligible award semesters.

G. A student completing a department approved public service program may reduce their course load for the
semester of their service or training and maintain eligibility for the scholarship. These students will not be eligible for scholarship
benefits for the semester in which they are enrolled part time and will need to maintain all other eligibility criteria in subsequent
semesters. The part-time semester will not count against their total number of semesters in which the student may receive the
scholarship.

H. If a student becomes ineligible for a different state scholarship that is designated for one hundred percent
tuition, but satisfies the first semester eligibility requirements and thereafter is eligible for the legislative lottery scholarship, the
student may begin receiving the legislative lottery scholarship for the remaining number of semesters of enrollment, not to exceed
those prescribed in Subsections A and B of 5.7.20.9 NMAC.
[5.7.20.9 NMAC - Rp, 5.7.20.9 NMAC, 08/15/2014; A/E, 8/15/2014; A, 11/15/2016; A, 10/31/2017; A, 7/30/2019]

5.7.20.10 AMOUNT OF SCHOLARSHIP:
A. To the extent that funds are made available from the fund, the board of regents or governing bodies of public

[postsecondary] post-secondary educational institutions and tribal colleges shall award tuition scholarship in department approved
amounts to qualified students.

B. The method the department will use for calculating the tuition scholarship is as follows:
(1) estimate the total amount available in the lottery tuition fund, based on past lottery fund transfers,

current year balances, and additional funds made available through legislation;
(2) estimate the number of lottery scholarship recipients for each institution, based on department

endorsed institutional projections;
(3) calculate the tuition scholarship for each sector (research, comprehensive, and community college)

and tribal college in accordance with [2018 Bill Text NM S.B. 140] Section 21-21N-4 NMSA 1978;
(4) calculate the total amount needed to pay full tuition to all estimated recipients;
(5) compute an award for each scholarship recipient distributed in amounts as follows:

(a) one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500) per scholarship per program semester for a
student enrolled at a research institution;

(b) one thousand twenty dollars ($1,020) per scholarship per program semester for a student
enrolled at a comprehensive institution or tribal college; and

(c) three hundred eighty dollars ($380) per scholarship per program semester for a student
enrolled at a community college;

(6) If the total amount available pursuant to Paragraph (3) of Subsection B of 5.7.20.10 NMAC is less
than the amount calculated in Paragraph (5) of Subsection B of 5.7.20.10 NMAC, the department shall decrease the scholarship
award amounts in a manner that maintains the distribution in the same proportions as provided in Paragraph (5) of Subsection B of
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5.7.20.10 NMAC. If the total amount available pursuant to Paragraph (3) of Subsection B of 5.7.20.10 NMAC is more than the
amount calculated in Paragraph (5) of Subsection B of 5.7.20.10 NMAC, the department shall increase the scholarship award
amounts in a manner that maintains the distribution in the same proportions as provided in Paragraph (5) of Subsection B of
5.7.20.10 NMAC.

(7) notify institutions.
C. In no case shall a student receive scholarship awards exceeding the total amount of tuition charged.
D. Qualified students in their graduating semester shall receive a tuition scholarship proportional to the number of

credit hours required to graduate.
[5.7.20.10 NMAC - Rp, 5.7.20.10 NMAC, 08/15/2014; A, 11/15/2016; A, 10/31/2017; A, 7/24/2018; A, 7/30/2019]

5.7.20.11 ADMINISTRATION OF THE LEGISLATIVE LOTTERY SCHOLARSHIP:
A. Eligible public post-secondary educational institutions and tribal colleges shall:

(1) notify students of their possible eligibility, during their first regular semester of enrollment including
transfer students who had the legislative lottery scholarship at previous institutions;

(2) designate their institution’s lead financial aid officer to be responsible for determining initial and
continuing student eligibility for the legislative lottery scholarship under the terms of these rules and regulations;

(3) maintain a listing of each participating student to include, but not be limited to:
(a) social security number as appropriate;
(b) cumulative GPA and completed enrollment hours in prior semesters;
(c) proof of initial and continuing enrollment;
(d) award semester; and
(e) other data fields deemed important by the department;

(4) draw-down files should be submitted to the department for eligible students as defined in 5.7.20.10
NMAC per semester; all fiscal year draw-downs shall be for eligible students enrolled during the same fiscal year;

(5) for students that satisfied the first semester eligibility requirements and seek continuing eligibility
consideration, use professional judgment to determine that exceptional mitigating circumstances beyond the students control, for
which documentation exists in the student’s file; the institutions shall defer to their institutional satisfactory academic progress
policy when considering circumstances which include, but are not limited to, consideration for falling below the cumulative GPA
requirement or successfully maintain full time enrollment as defined in Subsection G of 5.7.20.7 NMAC;

(6) provide to the department by April 15 each year the projected enrollment and tuition rates for the
following academic year for their appropriate institution as follows: comprehensive, research institution in their second through
eighth program semester including qualified students in their fifth through eighth program semesters who transferred from a
community college; projected enrollment at each community college at each community college in their second through fourth
program semesters;

(7) publish the probation policy as defined in Subsection [C] D of 5.7.20.8 NMAC;
(8) encourage consortium agreements, as defined in the code of federal regulations, 34 CFR 6685, in

order to facilitate the enrollment of students and to facilitate the student’s participation in this program;
(9) ensure that all available state scholarships including merit based three percent scholarship and New

Mexico scholars are awarded before granting legislative lottery scholarships; the intent of this provision is that tuition costs shall be
paid first for those students eligible for merit-based aid packages funded by three percent scholarships; in those instances when
tuition is not fully covered by the merit-based aid package, said student is eligible for the tuition cost differential to be funded by the
legislative lottery scholarship program; nothing in this section requires a public postsecondary educational institution to award a
scholarship inconsistent with the criteria established or such scholarship; refer to Subsection G of 5.7.20.9 NMAC for additional
provisions;

B. The department shall:
(1) determine the scholarship award pursuant to the provisions of 5.7.20.10 NMAC; all eligible

institutions will be notified prior to June 1 annually;
(2) conduct audits to ascertain compliance with rules and regulations, if, during the audit process,

evidence indicates that a student should not have received a legislative lottery scholarship, the department will provide guidance to
the institutions for appropriate action;

(3) make available to the legislative finance committee and department of finance and administration, by
November 1, the following information:

(a) the status of the fund;
(b) tuition scholarship program participation data aggregated for each public postsecondary

education institution and tribal college to show:
(i) the number of qualified students who received tuition scholarships and in the prior

12 month period;
(ii) the total number of qualified students enrolled in the prior 12-month period;
(iii) the amount of tuition scholarships funded by semester and the amount of tuition

costs that were not offset by the tuition scholarship by semester; and
(iv) the number of qualified students who graduated with a degree and, for each

qualified student, the number of consecutive semesters and nonconsecutive semesters attended prior to graduation.
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ATTACHMENT 2 

Table of Conflicting Defined Terms 

Legislative Lottery Scholarship Act versus Proposed and Adopted Rules 

Defined Term Legislative Lottery Scholarship Act Proposed Rule Adopted Rule 

Full-time Fifteen or more credit hours each semester of the 
regular academic year in state educational institutions 
and twelve or more credit hours each semester of the 
regular academic year in community colleges or for 
legacy students in any program semester 

15 or more credit hours completed each program 
semester of the regular academic year at a research 
institution, comprehensive institution or tribal college; or 
12 or more credit hours completed for each program 
semester at community colleges; or through a consortium 
agreement between the home and host institutions. For 
students enrolled through a consortium agreement the 
minimum credit hour eligibility requirement shall be 
based on the student’s home institution. Qualified 
students in their graduating semester are only required 
to take the number of credit hours required to graduate. 

Unchanged from proposed rule. 

Program 
semester 

Those semesters for which a legacy or qualified 
student may receive a tuition scholarship and 
excludes the first semester of attendance at a public 
post-secondary educational institution 

Those semesters for which a qualified student may 
receive a tuition scholarship and excludes the first 
semester of full-time attendance at a public 
postsecondary educational institution or tribal college. 

Unchanged from proposed rule. 

Public post-
secondary 
educational 
institution 

A four-year state educational institution or a 
community college 

A research or comprehensive institution as defined in 
Article XII, Section 11 of the New Mexico constitution, 
and branch community colleges or community college or 
technical and vocational institute as defined by Section 
21-13, 14, and 16 NMSA 1978. 

A four-year state educational institution or a 
community college. (Identical to statute.) 

Qualified student A full-time student who graduated from a public or 
accredited private New Mexico high school or who 
received a high school equivalency credential while 
maintaining residency in New Mexico and who:  

(1) either: 

(a) within sixteen months of graduation or
receipt of a high school equivalency
credential, was accepted for entrance to 
and attended a public post-secondary
educational institution; or 

(b) within four months of graduation or receipt
of a high school equivalency credential,
began service in the United States armed
forces and within sixteen months of
completion of honorable service or
medical discharge from the service, 

A full-time student who completed high school at a 
public or accredited private New Mexico high school, 
graduated from a public or accredited private New 
Mexico high school or who received a high school 
equivalency credential recognized by the State of New 
Mexico while maintaining residency in New Mexico and 
who either: 

(1) within 16 months of graduation or receipt of a high
school equivalency credential recognized by the
State of New Mexico, was accepted for entrance and
subsequently enrolled full-time at a public post-
secondary educational institution or tribal college
without having previously enrolled at a non-qualifying
post-secondary educational institution; or 

(2) within four months of graduation or receipt of a high 
school equivalency credential recognized by the

Unchanged from proposed rule.  
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ATTACHMENT 2 

Defined Term Legislative Lottery Scholarship Act Proposed Rule Adopted Rule 
attended a public post-secondary 
educational institution; and  

(2) successfully completed the first semester at a 
public post-secondary educational institution with 
a grade point average of 2.5 or higher on a 4.0
scale during the first semester of full-time 
enrollment. 

State of New Mexico, began service in the United 
States armed forces and within 16 months of 
completion of honorable service or medical 
discharge from the service, subsequently enrolled 
full-time at a public post-secondary educational 
institution or tribal college without having previously 
enrolled at a non-qualifying postsecondary 
institution; and 

(3) successfully completed the qualifying semester at a 
public post-secondary educational institution or
tribal college with a grade point average of 2.5 or 
higher on a 4.0 scale during the first semester of 
full-time enrollment. 

State educational 
institution 

An institution of higher education enumerated in 
Article 12, Section 11 of the constitution of New 
Mexico. 

Not included in proposed rule.  An institution of higher education enumerated in 
Article 12, Section 11 of the constitution of New 
Mexico. (Identical to statute.) 
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