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Who We Are 

The only organization in the country devoted exclusively to the problem of 
fines and fees. 

Goals:

FFJC’s strategy is comprised of three key components: 
Information, Advocacy, Collaboration 



Information: https://finesandfeesjusticecenter.org/clearinghouse/



Advocacy  



Finding New Models for Reform  



Fines and Fees Reform is NOT Partisan 



What is the difference between fines and fees 
and why does this matter?

Fines
• Fines are meant to punish individuals for 

breaking the law and act as a deterrent for 
others to break the law.  

Range of Fines in NM
• Traffic Misdemeanor: up to $300
• Petty Misdemeanor: up to $500
• Misdemeanor: up to $1,000
• 4th D Felony: up to $5,000
• 3rd D Felony: up to $5,000
• 2nd D Felony: up to $10,000
• 1st D Felony: up to $15,000

*Certain crimes have increased or mandatory 
financial penalties. 



What is the difference between fines and fees 
and why does this matter?

Fees
• Fees by contrast, are intended to raise 

revenue.
• Conviction fees are essentially taxes 

that attach to every conviction-from 
traffic to felonies. 
• They are present in EVERY part of the 

criminal justice process-even pre-
adjudication.
• Using fee and fine revenues to fund 

the justice system can create perverse 
incentives with the potential to distort 
the fair administration of justice.

• When criminal courts become responsible 
for their own financing they may prioritize 
the imposition of significant fee and fine 
amounts and dedicated substantial staff 
to collecting these sums



What is the difference between fines and fees 
and why does this matter?

Fees

• Low income New Mexican’s and New Mexican’s of color are overrepresented in the
criminal justice system. 

• Therefore, they bare the brunt of the financial burden imposed.

• Fees are thus, a regressive system of taxes disproportionately imposed on those 
who can least afford them.



Ferguson 

• About 15% of the City’s revenue came 
from fines and fees

• Between 2010-2014, the City issued 
90,000 citations

• Racially discriminatory practices by police 
and the municipal court

• 21,000 residents – 16,000 people with 
open warrants

Ferguson



Why cities use fines and fees for revenue? 



• Fines account for over 10% of 
general revenues in more than 
600 US jurisdictions. In 284 of 
those jurisdictions, it’s over 
20% 

• Most of those jurisdictions are 
in Arkansas, Georgia, 
Louisiana, Oklahoma, Texas, 
and New York 

Addicted to Fines- GOVERNING



Debtor's Prisons 

• Through the mid-19th century, debtor’s prisons (similar to
locked workhouses), were a common way to deal with unpaid 
debt in Western Europe and in the US (1600-1833). 

• Abolished in the US in 1833.

• 1983 SCOTUS affirmed that incarcerating indigent debtors 
was unconstitutional under the 14th Amendment’s = 
Protection Clause via the Bearden v. Georgia, 461 U.S. 660 
(1983).

• Held that local gov’s can only imprison or jail someone for not paying a fine 
if it can be shown, by means of a hearing, that the person in question could 
have paid it but “willfully” chose not to do so. =Ability to Pay Inquiry

• 1998 SCOTUS indicated that a person’s wealth or income is 
relevant to the Excessive Fines Clause of the 8th Amendment, 
US v. Bajakajian, 524 U.S. 321 (1998). 

• Held that “the touchstone of the constitutional inquiry under the Excessive
Fines Clause is the principle of proportionality: The amount of the forfeiture
must bear some relationship to the gravity of the offense that it is designed 
to punish.”

• 2019 Timbs v. Indiana-SCOTUS held that the Excessive Fines 
Clause applied to States. 



Ferguson NM Ability to Pay Inquiry: NMRA 6-207.1

•The court shall assess the D’s ability to pay fines, fees, and the costs at 
the time of  sentencing.

•Defendants who can pay, shall be required to pay in accordance 
with the financial sentence imposed by the court.
• Defendants who cannot pay, the court shall permit community 
service. 

•Before the issuance of  a warrant for failure to pay, the court shall issue a 
summons to appear or pay. 

•At hearing, the court may modify the payment agreement or 
convert the payment to community service. 
•The court must afford adequate procedural due process before jail 
is imposed. 



Ferguson Ohio Model-Litigation and Communication

The Ohio Supreme Court agreed to implement three reforms after 
their court and lower courts received demand letters from the ACLU 
documenting illegal practices: 

(1) hold accountable court personnel who perpetuate debtors’ 
prisons; 

(2) provide training for judicial and non-judicial staff on how to 
appropriately collect fines and fees; and 

(3) create and distribute a bench card on the collection of fines and 
fees for municipal judges.

The ACLU of Ohio’s campaign was widely successful: municipal court 
procedures were changed, “warrants were recalled, people were 
released from jail, and more than $180,000 was credited to 
individuals who were unconstitutionally jailed for failure to pay fines.”

https://www.acluohio.org/archives/press-releases/chief-justice-oconnor-continues-leadership-in-reforming-fines-and-fees-practices-says-aclu
http://www.acluohio.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/OhioSupremeCourtBenchCard2014_02.pdf


Pre-Trial COR Conviction Probation Prison/Jail Other  CJ Tools Civil 

Assessment Fees Fees, Fines and 
Restitution

Conviction Fees, 
Program Fees, 
Fines, 
Restitution

Fees Fees Fees

Types Electronic 
Monitoring 

Drug Testing (TAD 
ankle monitor, 
Soberlink, urine 
analysis, etc.)

Ignition Interlock

Evaluation/Testin
g

Counseling

Classes

Pre-trial services 
monitor

Others

-Facilities fee
-Docket fee
-Automation fee
-Corrections fee
-Jury & witness 
fee
-DV fee
-Judicial Ed. fee
-Traffic safety fee
-Brain injury fee
-Crime lab fee
-Community 
comprehensive 
program fee
-In-house 
screening fee
-DWI school fee
-Controlled 
substances fee
-Crime victim 
reparation fee
-Juvenile 

Must pay all fines, 
fees, restitution 
imposed at 
sentencing 
(column to the 
left) AND comply 
with all COP.

Fees associated 
with COP:

Electronic 
Monitoring 

Drug Testing (TAD 
ankle monitor, 
Soberlink, urine 
analysis, etc.)

Ignition Interlock

Evaluation/Testing

Fees for Services:

Communication

Medical Care

Commissary 
(including 
standard hygiene 
products)

Booking

Bench Warrants:

Types of BW:
Failure to Appear 
to Court. “FTA”

Failure to Pay a 
Court fine/fee. 
“FTP”

Failure to Comply 
with Conditions of 
Release or 
Conditions of 
Probation. “FTC” 

Diversion 
Programs

PPD

Public Defender 

Driver’s license 
reinstatement

Impoundment 
fees



Ferguson 

• Municipal Court: $29-$$$$ 
(Varies by Jx)

• Metro Court:  $65-$425

• Magistrate Court: $61-$291

• District Court: Varies 
depending upon offense. 

Fees assigned at the point of conviction



Municipal Courts
Fee Remittance. Municipalities are required (per NMSA 35-14-11) to enact ordinances for the 
assessment of fines and fees upon persons convicted of violating any municipal ordinance relating 
to the operation of a motor vehicle or any ordinance that may be enforced by imposing a term of 
imprisonment. Fees currently assessed, collected, and remitted or retained include: 

-$20 corrections fee (stays with the municipality); 
-$6 automation fee (sent to the AOC); 
-$3 judicial education fee (sent to the Judicial Education Center)

*Except in home-rule municipalities, municipal courts may impose and collect only these fees. 

Municipal Courts

In DWI cases, additional fees are collected and remitted to 
the AOC (NMSA 31-12-7): 

-$85 DWI lab fee (increased from $65 per a statutory 
change effective July 1, 2010); 
-$75 DWI prevention fee.

A $75 substance abuse lab fee is 
collected and remitted to the AOC for 
violations of the 
Substance Abuse Act (ref. NMSA 31-12-
8). 



What are our fees funding? 

• $10 Facilities Fee ($24 Metro Ct.)
• $20 Docket Fee
• $10 Automation Fee
• $20 Corrections Fee
• $5 Jury and Witness Fee
• $3 Judicial Education Fee
• $3 Traffic Safety Fee
• $5 Brain Injury Fee

• $50 for Misdo, $75 for Felony 
Crime Victim Reparation Fee 
• $5 Domestic Violence Fee
• $100 DNA Fee (felony cases 

only)



Fees Attached to Particular Convictions

• $85 DWI Chemical Testing Fee (DWI)
• $75 DWI Comprehensive Community Corrections Fee (DWI)
• $1 Juvenile Adjudication Fee (Traffic cases-penalty assessment M)
• $85 Crime Lab Fee (DWI)
• $75 Controlled Substances Fee (only applies to Drug Convictions)



• 66-8-116.3. Penalty assessment misdemeanors; additional fees.
• In addition to the penalty assessment established for each penalty assessment misdemeanor, there shall be 

assessed:
• A. in a county without a metropolitan court, twenty dollars ($20.00) to help defray the costs of local 

government corrections;
• B. a court automation fee of ten dollars ($10.00);
• C. a traffic safety fee of three dollars ($3.00), which shall be credited to the traffic safety education and 

enforcement fund;
• D. a judicial education fee of three dollars ($3.00), which shall be credited to the judicial education fund;
• E. a jury and witness fee of five dollars ($5.00), which shall be credited to the jury and witness fee fund;
• F. a juvenile adjudication fee of one dollar ($1.00), which shall be credited to the juvenile adjudication 

fund;
• G. a brain injury services fee of five dollars ($5.00), which shall be credited to the brain injury services fund;
• H. a court facilities fee as follows:
• in a county with a metropolitan court $24.00;
• in any other county 10.00;

and
• I. until May 31, 2014, a magistrate courts operations fee of four dollars ($4.00), which shall be credited to 

the magistrate courts operations fund.



• 35-6-1. Magistrate costs; schedule; definition of "convicted".

• A. Magistrate judges, including metropolitan court judges, shall assess and collect and shall not waive, defer or suspend the following costs:

• docket fee, criminal actions under Section 29-5-1 NMSA 1978 $ 1.00;

• docket fee, to be collected prior to docketing any other criminal action, except as provided in Subsection B of Section 35-6-3 NMSA 1978 20.00.
Proceeds from this docket fee shall be transferred to the administrative office of the courts for deposit in the court facilities fund;

• docket fee, twenty dollars ($20.00) of which shall be deposited in the court automation fund and fifteen dollars ($15.00) of which shall be deposited in the civil legal services fund, to be collected prior to docketing any civil 
action, except as provided in Subsection A of Section 35-6-3 NMSA 1978 72.00;

• jury fee, to be collected from the party demanding trial by jury in any civil action at the time the demand is filed or made 25.00;

• copying fee, for making and certifying copies of any records in the court, for each page copied by photographic process 0.50.
Proceeds from this copying fee shall be transferred to the administrative office of the courts for deposit in the court facilities fund; and

• copying fee, for computer-generated or electronically transferred copies, per page 1.00.
Proceeds from this copying fee shall be transferred to the administrative office of the courts for deposit in the court automation fund.

• Except as otherwise specifically provided by law, docket fees shall be paid into the court facilities fund.

• B. Except as otherwise provided by law, no other costs or fees shall be charged or collected in the magistrate or metropolitan court.

• C. The magistrate or metropolitan court may grant free process to any party in any civil proceeding or special statutory proceeding upon a proper showing of indigency. The magistrate or metropolitan court may deny free 
process if it finds that the complaint on its face does not state a cause of action.

• D. As used in this subsection, "convicted" means the defendant has been found guilty of a criminal charge by the magistrate or metropolitan judge, either after trial, a plea of guilty or a plea of nolo contendere. Magistrate 
judges, including metropolitan court judges, shall assess and collect and shall not waive, defer or suspend the following costs:

• (1) corrections fee, to be collected upon conviction from persons convicted of violating any provision of the Motor Vehicle Code [66-1-1 NMSA 1978] involving the operation of a motor vehicle, convicted of a crime 
constituting a misdemeanor or a petty misdemeanor or convicted of violating any ordinance that may be enforced by the imposition of a term of imprisonment as follows:

• in a county with a metropolitan court $10.00;

• in a county without a metropolitan court 20.00;

• (2) court automation fee, to be collected upon conviction from persons convicted of violating any provision of the Motor Vehicle Code involving the operation of a motor vehicle, convicted of a crime constituting a 
misdemeanor or a petty misdemeanor or convicted of violating any ordinance that may be enforced by the imposition of a term of imprisonment 10.00;

• (3) traffic safety fee, to be collected upon conviction from persons convicted of violating any provision of the Motor Vehicle Code involving the operation of a motor vehicle 3.00;

• (4) judicial education fee, to be collected upon conviction from persons convicted of operating a motor vehicle in violation of the Motor Vehicle Code, convicted of a crime constituting a misdemeanor or a petty 
misdemeanor or convicted of violating any ordinance punishable by a term of imprisonment 3.00;

• (5) jury and witness fee, to be collected upon conviction from persons convicted of operating a motor vehicle in violation of the Motor Vehicle Code, convicted of a crime constituting a misdemeanor or a petty 
misdemeanor or convicted of violating any ordinance punishable by a term of imprisonment 5.00;

• (6) brain injury services fee, to be collected upon conviction from persons convicted of violating any provision of the Motor Vehicle Code involving the operation of a motor vehicle
5.00;

and

• (7) court facilities fee, to be collected upon conviction from persons convicted of violating any provision of the Motor Vehicle Code involving the operation of a motor vehicle, convicted of a crime constituting a 
misdemeanor or a petty misdemeanor or convicted of violating any ordinance that may be enforced by the imposition of a term of imprisonment as follows:

• in a county with a metropolitan court 24.00;

• in any other county 10.00.

• E. Metropolitan court judges shall assess and collect and shall not waive, defer or suspend as costs a mediation fee not to exceed five dollars ($5.00) for the docketing of small claims and criminal actions specified by 
metropolitan court rule. Proceeds of the mediation fee shall be deposited into the metropolitan court mediation fund.

https://laws.nmonesource.com/w/nmos/Chapter-29-NMSA-1978
https://laws.nmonesource.com/w/nmos/Chapter-35-NMSA-1978
https://laws.nmonesource.com/w/nmos/Chapter-35-NMSA-1978
https://laws.nmonesource.com/w/nmos/Chapter-66-NMSA-1978


NMSA 35-14-11: Muni court costs-
Corrections Fees

• D. All money collected pursuant to Paragraph (1) of Subsection B of this section shall be 
deposited in a special fund in the municipal treasury and shall be used for:

• (1) municipal jailer or juvenile detention officer training;
• (2) the construction planning, construction, operation and maintenance of a 

municipal jail or juvenile detention facility;
• (3) paying the cost of housing municipal prisoners in a county jail or detention facility 

or housing juveniles in a detention facility;
• (4) complying with match or contribution requirements for the receipt of federal 

funds relating to jails or juvenile detention facilities;
• (5) providing inpatient treatment or other substance abuse programs in conjunction 

with or as an alternative to jail sentencing;
• (6) defraying the cost of transporting prisoners to jails or juveniles to juvenile 

detention facilities; or
• (7) providing electronic monitoring systems.



• Driver's License Suspensions/J&S Traffic G at Arraignment 
Redacted.pdf

• Driver's License Suspensions/Register of Actions TR ND 2019 
Redacted.pdf

• Driver's License Suspensions/Register of Actions Same Client TR DS 
Speeding BW NG Redacted.pdf

In Practice





Santa Fe County

• Assessed about $1.1 million in fines and 
fees, of which $352,000 was written off-
through jail and community service 
credits.  

• Of the remaining, $786,000, $724,000 was 
ultimately collected.

• At least $294,000 was spent on collections 
activity and jailing alone, resulting in, at 
most, a $430,000 net gain, or 38% of what 
was originally assessed. 



Socorro County
• Socorro County: (Poverty rate of 25%-one of the 

lowest in the state)

• Assessed $207,000 in fines and fees, of which 
$88,000 was written off through jail and 
community service credits.

• Virtually all of the remainder, $119,000 was 
collected.

• At least $96,000 was spent on jail costs and 
collections activity, resulting in, at most, a 
$24,000 net gain, or 11% of what was originally 
assessed. 



Bernalillo County
• Court and jail costs for imposing and collecting 

fees and fines in Metro Ct. were $2.178 million 
in 2016, or 117 percent of what ultimately was 
collected.

• Ct. assessed more than $4.1 million fines 
and fees
• $2.2 million was written off-through jail 

credits or community service
• Of the remainder, close to $1.9 million was 

ultimately collected.
• HOWEVER, more than $2.1 million was 

spent on collections activity (net loss of 
$316,000)



Ferguson 

• Bernalillo County:  $1.17 
for every $1 

• Santa Fe County: $.41 for 
every $1

• Socorro County: $.80 for 
every $1 

Cost of Collections



Brennan Center for Justice Recommendations

• Eliminate court-imposed fees-courts should be funded primarily by 
taxpayers, all of who are served by the system.
• Institute a sliding scale for fines based on ability to pay. $200 fine may be a 

minor inconvenience to one person but is an insurmountable debt to 
another. 
• Courts must stop jailing for failure to pay-harms rehabilitation efforts and 

makes little fiscal sense due to cost shifting.
• Eliminate debt-based drivers license suspensions. *Montana, Virginia, West

Virginia, Idaho, Wyoming, Mississippi, California, Kentucky, Oregon
• Driving for Opportunity Act-Creates incentives for states. 

• Improve data automation practices to assist the public in understanding 
their debts and allows for ease of evaluation and efficacy of fees/fines as a 
source of revenue. 
• Purge old balances that are unlikely to be paid but continue to complicate 

the lives of millions.  



Bench Warrants and the Connection to 
Driver’s License Suspensions



Debt-based Driver’s License Suspensions

• Debt based driver’s license suspension affects millions of families nationwide.
• Nationwide there are at least 11 million DL suspensions for unpaid fines and fees.

• Reduces public safety.
• Hurts people’s ability to repay their debts.

• In one survey, 80% of respondents reported that they had no access to or were unqualified for job opportunities 
b/c of DL suspension. 

• Cripples transportation, especially in rural areas-in one jx, 42% of drivers lost their jobs once their driving privileges 
were suspended.  

• Has catastrophic effects on individuals and their families.
• Studies show that 75% of individuals continue driving even after their licenses have been suspended-exposing 

them to cascading consequences including jail time, a criminal conviction, and more $$$$. 
• Low income people and people living paycheck-to-paycheck, are disproportionately affected by 

driver’s license suspensions. 
• There are better ways to promote debt repayment than suspending people’s licenses.

• Jx that lower fines for people who can’t afford to pay them tend to see an increase in collections and a reduction 
in spending on enforcement.  Phoenix-reduction in 90% of cases by an average of $40, the amount collected rose 
from $197 to $360.  



National Efforts  



Felony Disenfranchisement 

1-4-27.1. Cancellation of registration following 
conviction; eligibility for voting upon satisfaction of 
conditions.
A. When a voter has been convicted of a felony in any 
state or federal court, the voter's registration shall be 
canceled.
B. A person convicted of a felony who is otherwise a 
qualified elector is eligible to register to vote when that 
person:

• (1) has been unconditionally discharged from a 
correctional facility or detention center;

• (2) has completed all conditions of parole or 
supervised probation; or

• (3) has had the conviction overturned on appeal.



Juvenile Justice Fees



Statute Type Amount

NM 32A-1-19(c) Cost of expenses of treatment and support Based on child support schedule

NM 32A-2-28 Reasonable costs of treatment, support, maintenance for child 
adjudicated delinquent and parent is party to a petition

Based on child support schedule

NM 32A-2-30 Reimbursement for counsel, for non-indigent child (Goes to state 
treasuer general fund)

Determined by court?

NM 31-15-12(c) Public Defender Fee $10

NM 32A—19(A)(1-2) Reasonable compensation for services and related expenses for counsel Based on public defender fee 
schedule

NM 32A-1-19(A)(1)(3) Expenses of service of summonses, notices, subpoenas, traveling 
expenses of witnesses and other like expenses incurred in any 
proceeding

Unknown 



ABA’s 10 Guidelines on Fines and Fees*
*Approved by American Bar Association House of Delegates on August 6, 2018.

1. Fees imposed by a court must be related to the justice system, services rendered 
to the defendant, and never be in excess of a person’s ability to pay.

2. A punitive fine should not result in substantial and undue hardship to a person or 
their family.

3. Incarceration or other disproportionate sanctions should not be the result of an 
individual’s inability to pay a fine, fee, or restitution.

4. A court must hold an ability-to-pay hearing before it imposes a sanction on a 
person for nonpayment of fines, fees, or restitution.

5. A person’s failure to pay court fines and fees should not result in deprivation of 
their right to vote or other fundamental rights.

6. Courts must consider alternatives to incarceration and disproportionate sanctions 
for people who are not able to pay fines and fees.

7. The standards for evaluating a person’s ability to pay should be clear and 
consistent and should consider certain factors.

8. If a person is unable to afford a lawyer, counsel must be provided to them for free.
9. Finances, demographic data, and other information relevant to the imposition and 

collection of fines and fees should be made publicly available.
10. Public and private entities authorized to collect fines, fees, and restitution should 

adhere to these Guidelines.



Solutions and Reform 

• Ending incarceration for nonpayment of
fines and fees

• Eliminate driver’s license suspensions
for nonpayment of fines and fees

• Eliminate fees in juvenile proceedings



Solutions and Reform

• Eliminate fees for conviction, 
probation, parole, electronic 
monitoring, phone calls, 
commissary, jail fees, bench 
warrants.

• Reduce fines by mandating 
ability to pay assessments or 
capping fines at 1% of the 
individual’s income. 



People who are incarcerated and their families should 
be provided with free, easily accessible phone/video 
communication.

Probation and parole should not be extended or 
revoked, nor sanctions imposed, for unpaid fines and 
fees or other technical violations. 

Direct all court clerks to stop notifying MVD for FTA or 
FTP.

Direct MVD to reinstate all driver’s licenses stemming 
from suspensions for non-safety reasons, such as FTA 
or FTP.

FFJC Covid Policy Recommendations

Extend New Mexico Supreme Court Order by 180 days.  
Alternatively forgive all outstanding court fees.

Recall all bench warrants for FTP and FTA and waive the 
$100 bench warrant fee.

Give judges discretion to waive or reduce fees and/or 
mandatory fines at sentencing, recognizing people’s 
precarious financial circumstances.


