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TWENTY-FIRST AMENDMENT TO THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

* THE TWENTY-FIRST AMENDMENT (AMENDMENT XXI) TO THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION
REPEALED THE EIGHTEENTH AMENDMENT TO THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION, WHICH HAD
MANDATED NATIONWIDE PROHIBITION ON ALCOHOL ON JANUARY 16, 1919. THE TWENTY-FIRST
AMENDMENT WAS RATIFIED ON DECEMBER 5, 1933..1 [T IS UNIQUE AMONG THE 27 AMENDMENTS
OF THE U.S. CONSTITUTION FOR BEING THE ONLY ONE TO REPEAL A PRIOR AMENDMENT AND TO
HAVE BEEN RATIFIED BY STATE RATIFYING CONVENTIONS.

{1)(STATE RATIFYING CONVENTIONS ARE ONE OF THE TWO METHODS ESTABLISHED BY ARTICLE V OF THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION FOR RATIFYING
PROPOSED CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS. THE ONLY AMENDMENT THAT WAS RATIFIED THROUGH THIS METHOD IS THE 21 AMENDMENT)

* THE SECOND SECTION BANS THE IMPORTATION OF ALCOHOL IN VIOLATION OF STATE OR
TERRITORIAL LAW.

* THIS HAS BEEN INTERPRETED TO GIVE STATES ESSENTIALLY ABSOLUTE CONTROL OVER ALCOHOLIC 2
BEVERAGES
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New Mexico Liquor Excise Tax
Paid Monthly by NM
Wholesalers.

Wine $4.05 per 9L case.
Spirits $14.40 per 9L case
Beer $0.82 per Gallon

New Mexico Gross
Receipts Tax Paid by NM
Liquor Licensee Monthly:

State Average 6.37%

Tier 1 » Distilleries
» Wineries

Manufac.lurcrs/ B
Su ppllL‘rS » (lmporters)

Federal Excise Tax

» (Importers)
Tier 2 » Wine and Spirits
distributors
» Beer distributors
» Control board

Wholesalers

State Excise Tax

. » On premise
Ticr 3 {c.p., bar)

Retailers » OIf premise
(c.g., liquor store)

State Sales Tax
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New Mexico’s Three Tier System
to regulate alcoholic beverages is
in jeopardy. Direct to consumer
sales are taking place daily,
bypassing the Three Tier System
that NM established after the
repeal of prohibition. Direct to
consumer sales from web based
companies, which are out of
state, largely unlicensed vendors
bypasses NM Liquor Excise Tax,
GRT, and take business from
properly licensed NM small _
businesses. &
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ONLINE / DIRECT SALES BACKGROUND

-Under 60.6A-11.1 a Winegrower or a person licensed in another state that holds a winery license
may be issued a Direct Wine Shipment permit

-A permittee may ship up to two nine-liter cases of wine to a New Mexico resident on a monthly
basis

-The original intent of this statute was to allow bona fide producers to ship their products to
consumers who did not have access to them under traditional means.

-In recent years there has been an massive increase in the amount of internet alcohol vendors
(IAV). A simple google search of ‘online liquor stores’ will return pages of vendors.

-The expansion of IAV has translated into an increase in questionable adherence and at times
blatant disregard for established liquor control measures.

-Examples of this are wine clubs, aggregators, online liquor stores, etc.

-The online alcohol sales market in 2016 was estimated at $2B, 2017 sales increased by 32%.

Source: shipcomevLianT @2
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ONLINE / DIRECT SALES CONCERNS

Sales to Minors:
A 2011 study by UNC at Chapel Hill found

that underage students were able to obtain

wine via the internet with a 45% success rate.

Further the study found that non-wine
products were more likely to be delivered to
minors (53% Spirits & 57% Beer).

The vast majority of age verification is not
done at the point of sale but rather at
delivery, putting the responsibility on
common carriers to verify legal age. This
conflicts with NM law on Alcohol Server
Education(60-6E-2) as the delivery driver has

not received alcohol server training.

Deterioration of the Three Tier System:
Direct to consumer sales has and will continue to
deteriorate the functional, proven three tier system

if left unchecked. When the Three Tier System is in

place and operating as designed thousands of jobs
are sustained, consumers are protected, and the
market remains competitive and robust.

Loss of Tax Revenue:

As internet commerce continues to expand and with

it the sales of alcohol, the NM Liquor Excise Tax is
bypassed. Estimates on annual lost revenue could be

as high as $7M in NMGRT and $1M in LET An in o

tact Three Tier System ensures proper tax collection.
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o ONLINE / DIRECT SALES CONCERNS

Tobacco Regulation: Alcohol and Gaming Lack of Jurisdiction :

Internet alcohol sales have received little Currently AGD has little recourse to reign in AV as
legislative attention in recent years compared they are neither licensed or permitted by the state.
to internet cigarette sales, which are now Cease and desist letters essentially are the only
regulated by 34 state laws, 2 federal laws, and option available for regulators attempting to subdue
4 federal agreements. One reason that the flow of unregulated sales into the state.

internet cigarette sales garnered such
attention was that few web based vendors
properly verified buyers ages, resulting in as
much as a 90% sales rate.

Unfair to Licensees:

With the average cost of a liquor license at $450k,

this creates an uneven playing field for licensees,

giving an advantage to IAV who have not procured a
license. Additionally, NM liquor licensees are :
prohibited from delivering to a NM residence or v/
business, furthering the unfair advantage web based

operations realize. /
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AN ) {o O /



Online Companies Delivering to New Mexico Doorsteps
with Aggressive Discounts and Free Delivery

Enjoy 12 Wonderful Wines
ONLY $89.99Pius 3 Bonus Bottles

¥ SAVE
$160

« FREE

DHIPPING rr

60% Off When You Join Today Firstleaf® Wine Club *TOCYS -

wiline.com:

Dellvered Monthl Dlrect To Your Doo

Monthly Wine Club Delivered To
Your Doorstep BrightCellars.com

fa;m-a ocnovsooc cmod\ot o

PB100 Ve it
| - == Laithwaite’s
. DEULVERY INCLUDED nakedvwines COm The EaS|eSt Way To Get "o o0 00oo0 W I N E PO e aas o
. Your Fa.avorlte Wine!! Enjoy 15 www.southwest.com You have
WSJ Wines for just $89, Just $5.93/Bottle. a delicious new way to earn Rapid
e WAL S,,}E’,!T’ !0!;,!& FREE SHIPPING Limited Time Offer Rewagsa?of‘glgvt;;evvcﬂ*bthe 4
Wine Club Shipping to: NM | Help | Contact Us | from Laithwaite’s Wine, the
1-800-649-4637 world’s leading home delivery

wine merchant.
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21.2%

MARKET
SHARE OF
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SPIRITS
ONLINE
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BY PERCENTAGE OF
TOTAL REVENUE



Nwss” N

9 2017 Online/Direct to Consumer Wine Sales by Month

)

i 2017 MONTH-BY-MONTH ANALYSIS
o’ EVolume (Cases):: % of Total | +in Volume | Value (USD §) ‘ % of Total : 4+ in Value l Avg.$/Bottle | +in$/Bottle
: | Volume | Value | ,
January 266572 46% 190% $100056019 | 7% 165% $3128
February | 475601 82% | 23% $239,464,934 i 89% 369% 4% | 67%
March 575661 99% 130% $310,763,487 5% 97% $44.99
April | 491291 85% | 1BO% $227,2081 } 8.4% 27% $3854
May 498848 8.6% 155% $22982105 | 79% 164% §3558 08% 159
June| 3405560 se% | um SM8265423 | 44% 17.6% $2894 04% 2
f | Annvual
uly 274469 47% 161% $100,363,139 | 37% 29% $3047 59% Growth
5.78 August | 320754 55% | 99% $129,754,536 : 48% | 161% $337 56%
Million September 493999 85% 133% §221,506,239 82% 7% $3738
Cases October | 709,693 23% | 76% $394,843,858 : W% | e | s4636
Delivered November 803,063 1B9% 201% Smoozom | s 256% $4327 45%
537,979 $219,416,697 6% | 16%

5,788,489 100.0% | 15.3% | $2,691,716,740 ‘ 100.0%
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NEW MEXICO CURRENT DIRECT WINE SHIPPER PERMIT APPLICATION
1 Year Permit Fee: $50.00 Expires June 30th each year; Application Fees are
Non-Refundable

Annual Renewal Due by April 1st:
NMSA §60-6A-11.1.
A. A Licensee with a Winegrower's License or a person licensed in a state other than New Mexico that holds a Winery
License may apply to the director for and the director may issue to the applicant a direct wine shipment permit.
B. A direct wine shipment permit shall be valid for a permit year. A permittee shall renew a direct wine shipment
permit annually as required by the department to continue making direct shipments of wine to New Mexico residents.
C. A Permittee may ship:
(1) not more than two nine-liter cases of wine monthly to a New Mexico resident who is twenty-one years
of age or older for the recipient's personal consumption or use, but not for resale; and
(2) wine directly to a New Mexico resident only in containers that are conspicuously labeled with the
words: "CONTAINS ALCOHOL-SIGNATURE OF PERSON 21 YEARS OR OLDER REQUIRED FOR DELIVERY".
Qualified Applicants must submit the following:
*Copy of your State Liquor License
*Fee of $50.00 — New Mexico Wine Growers do not pay an application fee
*Attach proof of New Mexico CRS # from NM Taxation & Revenue Department (apply on-line at
www.tax.newmexico.gov, or call (505) 827-0700)

*New Mexico Winery direct shipping permitted, up to 2 cases per month; reciprocal retailer shipping
permitted. Source: shipcompLianT $33
by sovos




Winery Direct Shipping Laws in the U.S.

i
. Winery direct shipping permitted
|| Limitad winory dooct shipping
. Winery direct shipping prohibited

Source: Emma Balter Posted March 26, 2018

Wine Spectator

[ reciprocat Shinping Onty
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THE DAILY

MISSISSIPPIAN

Mississippi AG Jim Hood stings online wine vendors in complaint

. Mississippi Attorney General Jim Hood has filed a complaint against four
national online wine distributors for apparent violations of state law.

* The investigation, which was spearheaded by the AG’s office and Department
of Revenue, sent out inquiries to 63 online wine distributors, of which 22 sold
and shipped wine into Mississippi, some without verification of a 21-year-
old purchaser or without verification of a 21 -year-old living at the

shipping address used. . ¥

* The release said that for every $25 bottle of wine sold online by vendors,
the state loses $6 in revenue if they do not collect internet sales tax.

* Posted on Feb 8 2018 - 7:59am by Anders Culiner and Jack Hall




Internet Alcohol Sales to Minors Case Study

Rebecca S. Williams, MHS, PhD; Kurt M. Ribisl. PhD
Article Information

Arch Pediatric Adolescent Med. 2012;166(9):808-813. doi:10.1001/archpediatrics.2012.265

Objectives: To determine whether minors can successfully purchase alcohol online and to examine age verification procedures at the points of
order and delivery.

Design: A cross-sectional study evaluated underage alcohol purchase attempts from 100 popular Internet vendors.

Setting: The study was conducted at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, July 14-27, 2011.

Participants: Eight 18- to 20-year-old individuals participated.

Outcome Measures: Rates of successful sales to minors and use of age verification procedures at order and delivery were deter mined.

Results: Of the 100 orders placed by the underage buyers, 45% were successfully received; 28% were rejected as the result of age verification.

Most common carriers (59%) used weak, if any, age verification at the point of order, and, of 45 successful orders, 23 (51%) used none. Age

verification at delivery was inconsistently conducted and. when attempted, failed about half of the time.
Conclusions: Age verification procedures used by Internet alcohol vendors do not adequately prevent online sales to minors. Shipping

companies should work with their staff to improve administration of age verification at delivery, and vendors should use rigorous age
verification at order and delivery. Further research should determine the proportion of minors who buy alcohol online and test purchases
from more vendors to inform enforcement of existing policies and creation of new policies to reduce youth access to alcohol online. ;
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Master of Malt Whisky Blog - Important changes to US shipping

Source: https://www.masterofmalt.com/
By Kristiane Sherry
February 26, 2018

First thing this morning we heard from our logistics partner in the US and it was not good news. There has been an immediate cut to the
number of ‘allowable’ states that we can send our whiskey to - and while the team on the ground is doing everything they can to sort it out,
in the short-term we won't be able to reach as many of you as usual.

From the morning of 26 February until further notice we can only ship to US customers in the following 11 states:
California, Washington, District of Columbia, Idaho, Louisiana, Nebraska, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Virginia and Wyoming

We're really disappointed. We love our customers in the US, and absolutely understand this is, quite frankly, not good enough.

We've already been in touch with all affected customers with live orders, but would encourage anyone concerned to get in contact and we'll
clear things up as much as we can. Feel free to use the live chat on the site, email us on contactus@masterofmalt.com or call 888 255
8181 if you're in the US (+44 (0)1892 888 376 otherwise). We're over on Facebook and Twitter, too. Just let us know how we can help with
this.

We're working as hard as possible to get back across our usual footprint, and will resume normal operations as soon as we can.
https://www.masterofmalt.com/blog/ post/important-changes-to-us-shipping.aspx




Conclusion:

This most certainly is a difficult and complex issue to reign in. At present we are
exploring avenues to best remedy the concerns presented today. We will continue
to perform research and have further dialogue to ensure that a practical and
effective solution can be brought forth to the legislature. As the interim process
proceeds we will keep the committee apprised and intend to have draft
legislation in the fall for endorsement consideration.

Thank you.
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