62,000 New Mexicans at Risk of Losing Food Assistance

The Governor plans to expand work requirements to the following people who receive food
assistance:
e Teenagers, age 16-17 who are notin school

e Parents of children over 6 years old
e Adults between the ages of 50-60.

The Expansion is Beyond Federal Requirements

> Federal Law only requires adults between the ages of
18-50 who do not have children or a disability to work.
> Most states have a voluntary program.

This Expahsion Will Cost New Mexico Over S8 Million Dollars

> HSD estimates that work requirements will cost $150-$250 per person and 62,000
participants will be added to the program.

> $150x 62,000 =$9.3 Million. ,
> New Mexico will only receive $819,000 in federal funding for the program, leaving the

state to cover the additional millions.

HSD Does Not Have the Resources to Administer a Work Program that Meets

Federal Requirements

> A 2014 USDA Audit of New Mexico’s current work program found numerous systemic
problems:
o Failing to provide clients with information about work requirements
‘o Improperly termi‘nating food assistance of_participants"whb Were in compliance
o llegal billing of federal funds by SL Start, the corporation that administers the
requirements.
> Public records from HSD show that HSD terminated food assistance for 63% of

participants who had to comply with the current requiremen’cs.1
> USDA data shows that HSD improperly terminates or denies food assistance in 49% of all

cases.
» There is no data showing the program helped people find employment.

! While we are confident of our analysis because it is based on data obtained from HSD and the USDA, HSD

disputes this figure and is working with the Center to come to an agreement on this statistic.
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