New Mexico Radioactive Waste Consultation Task Force WIPP Working Group

Eletha J. Trujillo, Bureau Chief Energy Minerals & Natural Resources Department 1220 South Saint Francis Drive Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505 emnrd.wipp.coordinator@state.nm.us



The Radioactive Waste Consultation Task Force

- Secretary Propst of EMNRD: Task Force Chairperson
 - Secretary James Kenney, Environment Department
 - Secretary Kathy Kunkel: Department of Health
 - Secretary Michael Sandoval: State Highway and Transportation Department
 - Secretary Mark Shea: Department of Public Safety
 - Vacant: State Fire Marshal (Public Regulation Commission)
 - Secretary Jackie Lindsey: Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management

WIPP Working Group

- Five State Agencies
 - Energy Minerals & Natural Resources Department (EMNRD)
 - Absorbed outreach duties from the State Fire Marshal's Office
 - Environment Department
 - Department of Health
 - Department of Public Safety
 - Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management
 - Department of Transportation unfunded

FY20 WIPP Funding and Activities

- \$1,088,296.00
- WIPPTREX 2020 City of Raton/Colfax County
- Development of Law Enforcement Course for local communities
- Continue training, and certifications of inspectors

Shipments since reopening...

Shipper Site

Argonne National Laboratory-E

Idaho National Laboratory

Los Alamos National Laboratory

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Savanah River Site

Waste Control Specialists

Total: 664 Inspections conducted

Shipments Sent to WIPP

2

510

25 (Point of Origin)

82

12

33 (Observed Point of Origin)

Route Initiatives

- Continue working with the DOE, state DOT, and local partners on the Hobbs Bypass route
- Currently authorized on Hwy128 heavy oil/gas traffic
- Primary Route Hwy 285 under construction

Questions?