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Georgia’s HB 170 (2015)

Federal funding sources have been in decline for several
years.

Many states have gas taxes tied to the price of fuel and when
prices fell, program revenues for road construction and
maintenance fell.

In 2015, seven states—Georgia, Idaho, lowa, Nebraska, South
Dakota, Utah and Washington—passed legislation to increase
gas taxes.

This presentation analyzes Georgia.
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L
C ) Georgia’s HB 170 (2015) (cont.)

Georgia
Bill: HB 170 (Conference Committee Report)
Enacted: May 4, 2015.

Summary: Effective 7/1/2015, the new law replaces the state’s
4% gas sales tax with a 26 cents/gallon excise tax (an effective
increase of 6 cents/gallon at time of passage.

e Local sales taxes remain at 1% on the price of motor fuel
(capped at S3/gallon). When fuel prices are below the

S3/gallon cap, there is no fiscal impact to local governments
(counties).

* New excise tax is indexed to fuel efficiency and the Consumer
Price Index.
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(a)(1) An excise tax is imposed at the rate of 7172¢ 26¢ per gallon on distributors who

sell or use motor fuel, other than diesel fuel, within this state. An excise tax 1s imposed

at the rate of 29¢ per gallon on distributors who sell or use diesel fuel within this state.

It 1s the intention of the General Assembly that the legal incidence of the tax be imposed
upon the distributor.

(1.1)(A) Beginning on July 1. 2016. and annually thereafter. the amount of this excise

tax per gallon on distributors shall be automatically adjusted on an annual basis in

accordance with this paragraph.
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470 (B) Using 2014 as a base vear. the department shall determine the average miles per
471 callon of all new vehicles registered i this state pursuant to Code Section 48-5C-1
472 using the average of combined miles per gallon published in the United States
473 Department of Energy Fuel Economy Guide. Beginning on July 1. 2016. and each year
474 thereafter, the department shall calculate the average miles per gallon of all new
475 vehicles registered in this state in the previous vear. The excise tax rate shall be
476 multiplied by the percentage increase or decrease in fuel efficiency from the previous
477 vear, and the resulting increase or decrease shall be added to the excise tax rate to

478 determine the preliminary excise tax rate,




L

C ) Georgia’s HB 170 (2015) (cont.)
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(C) Once the preliminary excise tax rate is established. it shall be multiplied by the

annual percentage of increase or decrease in the Consumer Price Index. The resulting

calculation shall be added to the preliminary excise tax rate. and the result of such

calculation shall be the new excise tax rate for motor fuels for the next calendar vear.

The Consumer Price Index shall no longer be used after July 1. 2018.




