

MINUTES of the FOUR-HUNDRED-SIXTH MEETING of the LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

April 26, 2022 State Capitol, Room 307 Santa Fe

The four-hundred-sixth meeting of the Legislative Council was called to order by Senator Mimi Stewart, co-chair, at 1:37 p.m. on Tuesday, April 26, 2022, in Room 307 of the State Capitol in Santa Fe.

Present

Rep. Brian Egolf, Co-Chair Sen. Mimi Stewart, Co-Chair

Sen. Gregory A. Baca

Sen. Katy M. Duhigg

Rep. Daymon Ely

Rep. Doreen Y. Gallegos

Sen. Linda M. Lopez

Rep. Patricia A. Lundstrom

Rep. Javier Martínez

Rep. Rod Montoya

Sen. Steven P. Neville

Sen. Peter Wirth

Absent

Sen. Craig W. Brandt Rep. Rebecca Dow Sen. George K. Munoz Rep. James G. Townsend

Special Advisory Members Present

Rep. Eliseo Lee Alcon

Rep. Christine Chandler

Rep. Gail Chasey

Sen. Stuart Ingle

Rep. Georgene Louis

Rep. Antonio Maestas

Sen. Michael Padilla

Rep. Andrea Romero

Rep. Patricia Roybal Caballero

Rep. Debra M. Sariñana

Sen. Benny Shendo, Jr.

Rep. Candie G. Sweetser

Guest Legislators

Rep. D. Wonda Johnson

Sen. Gay G. Kernan

Rep. Tara L. Lujan

Special Advisory Members Absent

Sen. Pete Campos

Sen. Ron Griggs

Rep. Dayan Hochman-Vigil

Sen. Mark Moores

Sen. Antoinette Sedillo Lopez

Rep. Elizabeth "Liz" Thomson

Rep. Christine Trujillo

Sen. Pat Woods

Staff

Raúl E. Burciaga, Director, Legislative Council Service (LCS) Amy Chavez-Romero, Assistant Director for Legislative Affairs, LCS Shawna Casebier, Assistant Director for Drafting Services, LCS Jon Boller, Senior Staff Attorney, LCS Jeret Fleetwood, Researcher, LCS Nancy Martinez, Research Assistant, LCS

Approval of Minutes

On a motion made, seconded and passed, the minutes of the January 17, 2022 meeting were approved as submitted.

Interim Committee Appointments

Representative Egolf raised the issue of the Legislative Finance Committee (LFC) and the Revenue Stabilization and Tax Policy Committee (RSTP) having designees instead of advisory members, meaning that only voting members or a designee filling in for a voting member may receive per diem and mileage reimbursement for attending a meeting of one of those two committees. He noted that several members of the House Appropriations and Finance Committee (HAFC) and the Senate Finance Committee (SFC) are not members of the LFC and that several members of the House Taxation and Revenue Committee (HTRC) and the Senate Tax, Business and Transportation Committee (STBTC) are not members of the RSTP. Representative Egolf proposed allowing members of the HAFC and the SFC who are not members of the LFC to attend LFC meetings and receive per diem and mileage reimbursement for attendance without using one of the five extra meeting days allowed to each member for attendance at meetings of committees to which that member has not been appointed. There was also extended discussion about allowing other legislators to attend LFC or RSTP meetings, aside from those on the HAFC, the SFC, the HTRC and the STBTC.

The council discussed Representative Egolf's proposal, with some members raising concerns about making large committees even larger; potential crafting of tax policy by the LFC; members of other standing committees asking for similar arrangements; and members informing leadership and staff of their intention to attend specific LFC and RSTP meetings.

On a motion made, seconded and passed, the council created a designation of "special advisory member" for those members of the HAFC and the SFC who are not voting members of the LFC and for those members the HTRC and the STBTC who are not voting members of the RSTP and authorized special advisory members of the LFC and the RSTP to receive per diem and mileage reimbursement for attendance at LFC and RSTP meetings; provided that the special advisory members inform the office of the speaker or president pro tempore of their intention to attend a given meeting.

On a motion made, seconded and passed, the council reappointed the interim committees appointed in 2021, with the traditional rotation between chair and vice chair, with the following changes:

• Representative Brian G. Baca will serve as a voting member of the Legislative Education Study Committee and the LFC;

- Representatives Harry Garcia and Dayan Hochman-Vigil will serve as voting members of the LFC;
- Representative Meredith A. Dixon will serve as a voting member of the Mortgage Finance Authority Act Oversight Committee and the New Mexico Finance Authority Oversight Committee;
- Representative Joanne J. Ferrary will serve as vice chair of the Radioactive and Hazardous Materials Committee (RHMC);
- Representative Christine Chandler will remain as a voting member of the RHMC and will serve as chair of the RSTP;
- Representative D. Wonda Johnson will serve as co-chair of the Indian Affairs Committee (IAC);
- Representative Patricia Roybal Caballero will serve as a voting member of the IAC;
- Representative Susan K. Herrera will serve as vice chair of the Land Grant Committee;
- Representative Antonio Maestas will serve as a voting member of the Courts, Corrections and Justice Committee;
- Representatives Matthew McQueen and Derrick J. Lente will serve as co-chairs of the Water and Natural Resources Committee: and
- Senator Bill B. O'Neill will serve as an advisory member of the IAC.

On the same motion, the council authorized the speaker and president pro tempore to make any necessary changes to interim committee memberships.

Appointments

Mr. Burciaga and Ms. Chavez-Romero explained that Leonard Lee Rawson's term on the State Investment Council (SIC) was expiring, but because his term expired before the next session, he could remain in his position until a replacement is named by the council and confirmed by the Senate. Ms. Chavez-Romero went on to note that while the council makes the appointment, the senate minority floor leader would make the nomination. Mr. Burciaga explained that the council makes four appointments to the SIC, traditionally with the speaker, president pro tempore, house minority floor leader and senate minority floor leader each making one nomination. Senator Stewart requested a list of SIC members, nominating authorities and terms with regard to future appointments.

Interim Committee Supplies

Mr. Burciaga explained that while a contractor was not hired to run the capitol kitchen in 2021, the Capitol Kitchen Fund still exists and that funding for coffee and associated supplies (sugar, stirrers, etc.) for interim committees traditionally comes from that fund.

On a motion made, seconded and passed, the council approved the use of the Capitol Kitchen Fund to purchase coffee supplies for interim committees.

Staff Reports

Mr. Burciaga also announced several changes involving LCS staff:

- Ms. Chavez-Romero has taken the position of Assistant Director for Legislative Affairs;
- Ms. Casebier has taken the position of Assistant Director for Drafting Services;
- Anesa Serna-Espinoza has been serving as Assistant Director for Administration; and
- Mr. Boller has announced his retirement from the LCS.

Adjournment

There being no further business before the council, the meeting adjourned at 2:50 p.m.