MINUTES of the THIRD MEETING of the INDIAN AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

August 16-17, 2022 Pueblo of Pojoaque Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, Vista Room 20 Buffalo Thunder Trail Santa Fe

The third meeting of the Indian Affairs Committee was called to order by Senator Shannon D. Pinto, co-chair, on August 16, 2022 at 10:11 a.m. in the Vista Room at the Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder in Santa Fe.

Absent

Rep. D. Wonda Johnson, Co-Chair	Rep. Zachary J. Cook
Sen. Shannon D. Pinto, Co-Chair	Sen. Leo Jaramillo
Rep. Eliseo Lee Alcon	Rep. Derrick J. Lente
Rep. Anthony Allison	Rep. Georgene Louis
Rep. Kelly K. Fajardo (8/16)	Sen. Brenda G. McKenna
Sen. Cliff R. Pirtle	Sen. Nancy Rodriguez

Sen. Cliff R. Pirtle

Rep. Patricia Roybal Caballero Sen. Benny Shendo, Jr.

Rep. Martin R. Zamora

Advisory Members

Present

Rep. Gail Chasey (8/17) Rep. Doreen Y. Gallegos Sen. Linda M. Lopez (8/17) Rep. Harry Garcia

Sen. Bill B. O'Neill Sen. Stuart Ingle

Sen. William P. Soules Rep. Patricia A. Lundstrom Sen. Michael Padilla

Rep. Elizabeth "Liz" Thomson

Sen. Joshua A. Sanchez

Sen. William E. Sharer

Guest Legislator

Rep. Rachel A. Black (8/16)

Staff

Lenaya Montoya, Staff Attorney, Legislative Council Service (LCS) Sara Wiedmaier, Research Assistant, LCS Sheila Keleher, Research Assistant, LCS

Guests

The guest list is in the meeting file.

Handouts

Handouts and other written testimony are in the meeting file and posted on the legislature's website.

References to Webcast

The time reference noted next to each agenda item in this document is cross-referenced to the webcast of the committee meeting, which can be found at www.nmlegis.gov, under the "Webcast" tab. The presentations made and committee discussions for agenda items can be found on the recorded webcast for this meeting.

Tuesday, August 16

Welcome and Introductions (10:11 a.m.)

Senator Pinto welcomed everyone and invited members of the committee, staff and the audience to introduce themselves.

Welcome and Status Update (10:20 a.m.)

Jenelle Roybal, governor, Pueblo of Pojoaque; Douglas Brenner, chief grant writer; Pueblo of Pojoaque; and Idak Fierro, chief operations officer, Pueblo of Pojoaque, welcomed the committee and provided a brief history of the pueblo and an update on its COVID-19 response measures, as well as current and future development projects for the pueblo.

Update on Voting Precincts Post-Redistricting (11:44 a.m.)

Charlotte Chinana, deputy director, Bureau of Elections, Office of the Secretary of State, highlighted changes to voting precincts in Native American communities that occurred as a result of recent redistricting. The presentation can be found here:

https://www.nmlegis.gov/handouts/IAC%20081622%20Item%202%20Voting%20Precincts%20Post-Redistricting.pdf.

Public Comment

There was no public comment.

Update on the Gold King Mine Spill Settlement (1:38 p.m.)

Maggie Hart Stebbins, natural resources trustee, Office of Natural Resources Trustee, and Rebecca Roose, deputy secretary of administration, Department of Environment, provided an update on the progress of cleanup, restoration and compensation and discussed projects that may be eligible for funding provided by the Gold King Mine spill settlement. The presentation materials can be found here:

https://www.nmlegis.gov/Committee/Handouts?CommitteeCode=IAC&Date=8/16/2022&ItemNumber=3.

Native American Culture and Language Preservation (2:58 p.m.)

James Rivera, Government and Public Affairs, Knifewing Productions, Native Stars Studios, Language and Cultural Preservation Project, and Mike Meyer, director, Native Stars Studios, showed an example of a film clip that was dubbed over in the Navajo language and discussed the development goals and vision of Native Stars Studios in helping to preserve Native American culture and language. The presentation can be found here:

https://www.nmlegis.gov/handouts/IAC%20081622%20Item%204%20Native%20American%20Culture%20&%20Language%20Preservation.pdf.

Recess

The committee recessed at 3:41 p.m.

Wednesday, August 17

Reconvene

Senator Pinto reconvened the meeting at 10:11 a.m. and invited committee members to introduce themselves.

Fire Prevention and Mitigation Efforts on Tribal Lands (10:13 a.m.)

Thora Padilla, director, Division of Resource Management and Protection, Mescalero Apache Tribe, discussed strategies for past fires, current efforts and future mitigation plans. The presentation can be found here:

 $\frac{https://www.nmlegis.gov/handouts/IAC\%20081622\%20Item\%205\%20Mescalero\%20presentation.pdf.$

Preservation of Native American Culture and Language Through Youth Film (11:21 a.m.)

Rosey Hayett, director, Film Prize Junior New Mexico; DezBaa', Santa Fe-based actor, filmmaker, AMC's *Dark Winds* staff writer, and judge at the 2022 Film Prize Junior New Mexico festival; Isaac Casados, Nambé-based filmmaker and chair of the Native American Democratic Caucus of New Mexico; and Jordan Fragua, language teacher, Picuris Pueblo Tiwa Language Program, discussed the work being done to preserve Native American culture and language through a statewide youth film educational program and competition.

Megan James, student filmmaker of *The Sound of Drums*, Hiroshi Miyamura High School; Jessica Mermejo, student filmmaker of *Pinwel Tah*, Picuris Pueblo Tiwa Language Program; and Dylan Fragua, student filmmaker of *Pinwel Tah*, Picuris Pueblo Tiwa Language Program, shared their films with the committee and discussed their experiences as student filmmakers and the impact of the Film Prize Junior New Mexico on their work. The presentation can be found here:

 $\frac{https://www.nmlegis.gov/handouts/IAC\%20081622\%20Item\%206\%20\%20Film\%20Prize\%20Jr\%20NM\%20presentation.pdf.$

Approval of Minutes (12:58 p.m.)

On a motion made by Representative Roybal Caballero, seconded by Representative Allison, and without objection, the minutes of the July 11-13, 2022 meeting were approved.

Adjournment

There being no further business before the committee, the meeting adjourned at 12:59 p.m.