AN ACT

RELATING TO CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING; ESTABLISHING CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS FOR THE ELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVES TO THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS; CHANGING A PROVISION OF THE ELECTION CODE RELATING TO PRECINCTS; AMENDING, REPEALING AND ENACTING SECTIONS OF THE NMSA 1978.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:

Section 1. Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 (1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 1) is repealed and a new Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:

"1-15-16. UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE--COMPOSITION OF DISTRICTS.--

A. Congressional district one is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 6 through 10, 86, 101, 102, 107, 215, 216, 223, 241 through 246, 251 through 258, 271 through 275, 278, 281 through 287, 289 through 308, 311 through 318, 321 through 323, 326 through 333, 341 through 344, 346, 351 through 358, 371 through 375, 381 through 387, 400 through 447, 449 through 454, 461 through 466, 471 through 478, 480 through 500, 502 through 566, 568, 569, 571, 573, 601 and 602; Chaves county precincts 1 through 7, 9 through 16, 21 through 25, 31 through 36, 41 through 43, 51, 52, 61 through 63, 71 through 73, 81 through 85, 90 through 93 and 101 through 103; Colfax county precincts 4, 5, 7 and 10 through 22; Curry county; De Baca county; Eddy county precincts 1 through 8 and 41 through 43; Harding county; Lea county precincts 2, 3, 10 through 18, 20 through 35, 41 through 44, 51 and 61; Lincoln county precincts 1 through 11; Quay SB 33 Page 1 county; Roosevelt county; San Miguel county precinct 15;

Sandoval county precinct 28; Santa Fe county precincts 15, 18, 19, 73, 84 and 85; Socorro county precinct 12; Torrance county; Union county; and Valencia county precincts 4 through 6, 9 through 11, 14 through 16, 18, 28 through 30, 34 and 36.

B. Congressional district two is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 4, 5, 11 through 18, 21 through 30, 32 through 55, 61 through 67, 71 through 77, 88, 90 through 99, 103 through 106, 120 through 125, 131 through 133, 135, 150 through 154, 161 through 166, 180 through 187, 191 through 197, 211, 212, 214, 217, 221, 224 through 226, 345 and 347; Chaves county precinct 104; Dona Ana county; Eddy county precincts 9 through 21, 23, 25 through 40, 44 and 45; Grant county; Hidalgo county; Lea county precincts 36, 52 through 55, 62 and 71 through 74; Lincoln county precincts 12 and 13; Luna county; Otero county; Sierra county; Socorro county precincts 1 through 11, 13, 14, 16 and 17; and Valencia county precincts 1 through 3, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 19 through 27, 31 through 33, 35, 37 and 38.

C. Congressional district three is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 1 through 3, 20, 31, 80 through 85, 87, 89, 111 through 114 and 567; Catron county; Cibola county; Colfax county precincts 1 through 3; Guadalupe county; Los Alamos county; McKinley county; Mora county; Rio Arriba county; San Juan county; San Miguel county precincts 1 through 14 and 16 through 28; Sandoval county precincts 1 through 27, 29 through 51, 53 through 56, 58 through 64 and 67; Santa Fe county precincts 1 through 14, 16, 17, 20 through 72, 74 through 83 and 86; Socorro county precinct 15; and Taos county."

Section 2. Section 1-15-16.1 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 Page 2

(1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 2) is amended to read: SB 33 "1-15-16.1. PRECINCTS.-- Page 3

A. Precinct designations and boundaries used in the 2001 congressional redistricting are those precinct designations and boundaries established pursuant to the Precinct Boundary Adjustment Act and revised and approved pursuant to that act by the secretary of state as of August 31, 2001.

B. A board of county commissioners shall not create any precinct that lies in more than one congressional district and shall not divide any precinct so that the divided parts of the precinct are situated in two or more congressional districts. Votes cast in a statewide election from precincts created or divided in violation of this subsection shall be invalid and shall not be counted or canvassed."