| 11 |
|----|
| 12 |
| 13 |
| 14 |
| 15 |
| 16 |
| 17 |
| 18 |
| 19 |
| 20 |
| 21 |
| 22 |
| 23 |
| 24 |

25

1

2

3

4

8

9

10

HOUSE BILL 2

45TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SPECIAL SESSION, 2001

INTRODUCED BY

James G. Taylor

AN ACT

RELATING TO THE REDISTRICTING OF THE CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS;
ESTABLISHING CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS FOR THE ELECTION OF
REPRESENTATIVES TO THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS; AMENDING,
REPEALING AND ENACTING SECTIONS OF THE NMSA 1978.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:

Section 1. Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 (1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 1) is repealed and a new Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:

"1-15-16. [NEW MATERIAL] UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE--COMPOSITION OF DISTRICTS. --

A. Congressional district one is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 2 through 18, 20 through 30, 32 through 55, 61 through 67, 71 through 77, 81 through 84, 86, 88 through 99, 101 through 107, 111 through 114, 120 through .138947.1

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

125, 131 through 133, 135, 150 through 154, 161 through 166, 180 through 187, 191 through 197, 211, 212, 214 through 217, 221, 223 through 226, 241 through 246, 251 through 256, 271 through 274, 341 through 347, 351 through 358, 381 through 387 and 438; Catron county; Dona Ana county; Grant county; Hi dal go county; Luna county; Sierra county; Socorro county; and Valencia county.

- Congressional district two is composed of В. Bernalillo county precincts 257, 258, 275, 278, 281 through 287, 289 through 308, 311 through 318, 321 through 323, 326 through 333, 371 through 375, 400 through 437, 439 through 447, 449 through 454, 461 through 466, 471 through 478, 480 through 500, 502 through 569, 571, 573, 601 and 602; Chaves county; Curry county; De Baca county; Eddy county; Lea county; Lincoln county; Otero county; Roosevelt county; and Torrance county.
- C. Congressional district three is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 1, 31, 80, 85 and 87; Cibola county; Colfax county; Guadalupe county; Harding county; Los Alamos county; McKinley county; Mora county; Quay county; Rio Arri ba county; San Juan county; San Miguel county; Sandoval county; Santa Fe county; Taos county; and Union county."

Section 1-15-16.1 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 Section 2. (1st S. S.), Chapter 7, Section 2) is amended to read:

"1-15-16.1. PRECINCTS. --

. 138947. 1

| A. Precinct designations and boundaries used in |
|--|
| the $[\frac{1991}{2001}]$ congressional redistricting are those precinct |
| designations and boundaries established pursuant to the |
| Precinct Boundary Adjustment Act and revised and approved |
| pursuant to that act by the secretary of state as of [August |
| 16, 1991] <u>August 31, 2001</u> . |
| |

B. [The boards] A board of county commissioners shall not create any precinct that lies in more than one congressional district [nor] and shall [the boards of county commissioners] not divide any precinct so that the divided parts of the precinct are situated in two or more congressional districts. Votes cast in [any general, primary or other] a statewide election from precincts created or divided in violation of this subsection shall be invalid and shall not be counted or canvassed."

- 3 -