1	SENATE BILL 13
2	45TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SPECIAL SESSION, 2001
3	INTRODUCED BY
4	Manny M. Aragon
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	AN ACT
11	RELATING TO CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING; ESTABLISHING
12	CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS FOR THE ELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVES TO
13	THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS; CHANGING A PROVISION OF THE
14	ELECTION CODE RELATING TO PRECINCTS; AMENDING, REPEALING AND
15	ENACTING SECTIONS OF THE NMSA 1978.
16	
17	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:
18	Section 1. Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991
19	(1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 1) is repealed and a new
20	Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:
21	"1-15-16. [<u>NEW MATERIAL</u>] UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE
22	COMPOSITION OF DISTRICTS
23	A. Congressional district one is composed of
24	Bernalillo county precincts 3 through 18, 20 through 28, 30,
25	32 through 55, 61 through 67, 71 through 77, 83, 86, 88, 90
	. 138903. 1

<u>underscored material = new</u> [bracketed mterial] = delete

I

through 99, 101 through 107, 111 through 114, 120 through 125, 131 through 133, 135, 150 through 154, 161 through 166, 180 through 187, 191 through 197, 211, 212, 214 through 217, 221, 223 through 226, 241 through 246, 251 through 257, 271 through 275, 278, 281, 282, 341 through 347, 351 through 358, 371, 374, 375, 381 through 387, 431 through 433, 435 through 438 and 442 through 444; Catron county; Dona Ana county; Grant county; Hidalgo county; Luna county; Sierra county; Socorro county; and Valencia county.

B. Congressional district two is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 258, 283 through 287, 289 through 308, 311 through 318, 321 through 323, 326 through 333, 372, 373, 400 through 430, 434, 439 through 441, 445 through 447, 449 through 454, 461 through 466, 471 through 478, 480 through 500, 502 through 569, 571, 573, 601 and 602; Chaves county; Curry county; De Baca county; Eddy county; Guadalupe county; Harding county; Lea county; Lincoln county; Otero county; Quay county; Roosevelt county; Torrance county; and Union county.

C. Congressional district three is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 1, 2, 29, 31, 80 through 82, 84, 85, 87 and 89; Cibola county; Colfax county; Los Alamos county; McKinley county; Mora county; Rio Arriba county; San Juan county; San Miguel county; Sandoval county; Santa Fe county; and Taos county."

Section 2. Section 1-15-16.1 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 .138903.1

<u>underscored material = new</u> [bracketed mterial] = delete 1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

1

(1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 2) is amended to read:

"1-15-16.1. PRECINCTS.--

2 3

4

5

6

7

8

A. Precinct designations and boundaries used in the [1991] 2001 congressional redistricting are those precinct designations and boundaries established pursuant to the Precinct Boundary Adjustment Act and revised and approved pursuant to that act by the secretary of state as of [August 16, 1991] August 31, 2001.

9 B. [The boards] <u>A board</u> of county commissioners 10 shall not create any precinct that lies in more than one congressional district [nor] and shall [the boards of county 11 12 commissioners] not divide any precinct so that the divided 13 parts of the precinct are situated in two or more 14 congressional districts. Votes cast in [any general, primary 15 or other] a statewide election from precincts created or 16 divided in violation of this subsection shall be invalid and 17 shall not be counted or canvassed."

- 3 -

<u>underscored mterial = new</u> [bracketed mterial] = delete

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

. 138903. 1