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APPROPRIATION 

 

Appropriation Contained Estimated Additional Impact Recurring 
or Non-Rec 

Fund 
Affected 

FY02 FY03 FY02 FY03   

   30.0 Nonrecurring General Fund 

   $1,120.0 Recurring General Fund 
(Parenthesis ( ) Indicate Expenditure Decreases) 
 
Conflicts with  House Joint Resolution 13 and House Bill 266 
              
 
SOURCES OF INFORMATION 
 
LFC files 
 
SUMMARY 
 
     Synopsis of Bill 
 
Senate Joint Resolution 9 proposes to amend Article 4, Section 10 of the New Mexico Constitu-
tion to provide legislator’s with a monthly salary of $2.0, except during regular sessions, the 
monthly salary is $1.0 for those months when the legislature is in session for a part of the month. 
 
     Significant Issues 
 
FISCAL IMPLICATIONS 
 
The next general election that would include constitutional questions on the ballot will be in No-
vember 2002.  If the question is approved by the voters, the change would not make a fiscal im-
pact until the 2003 Legislature.  The total recurring cost to the general fund during FY03 would 
be $1,120.0.   The total cost for a full fiscal year would be $2,464.0 for years with 60-day ses-
sions ($22.0 per member x 112 members) and $2,352.0 for years with 30-day sessions. 


Begin typing on the * in replace mode.  Do not add or delete spaces.
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If passed, this question would appear on the ballot in the November 2002 general election.  The 
Secretary of State reports it costs $30.0 to place an item on the ballot for advertising and print-
ing. Included in the cost is: (1) the publishing of constitutional amendments in English and Span-
ish for four consecutive weeks in one newspaper in each county of the state; (2) the oral transla-
tion and radio broadcast into the Native American languages of Tewa, Tiwa, Towa, Keres, Zuni, 
Mescalero Apache, Jicarilla Apache and Navajo; and (3) the printing of amendments booklets in 
English and Spanish (including Spanish language translation cost) and distribution to all county 
clerks (100,000 booklets were printed for 2000 general election).  Therefore, there would be a 
nonrecurring cost to the general fund of $30.0 in FY03.  This legislation does not include an ap-
propriation needed to fund these costs. 
 
CONFLICT 
 
House Joint Resolution proposes to amend the constitution to provide for a cap on legislative 
salaries to the average paid in the five contiguous states.  A companion measure, House Bill 226 
amends Section 2-1-8 NMSA 1978 to provide for an annual salary of $21.0.  See attachment for 
National Conference of State Legislature’s study of legislative compensation for the five con-
tiguous states. 
 
DKB/njw 
Attachment



Attachment 
LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT 

 
TABLE 1. COMPENSATION & LIVING EXPENSE ALLOWANCE DURING SESSION, 2000 

State Salary Per Diem 

Arizona $24,000/year. $35/day for 1st 120 days of regular session and special session and $10/day there-
after.  Members residing outside Maricopa County receive an additional $25/day 
for the 1st 120 days of a regular session and a special session and an additional 
$10/day thereafter. Set by statute. 

Colorado $30,000/year. $45/day for members living in the Denver metro area. $99/day for members liv-
ing outside Denver. Per diem is determined by the legislature. 

New Mexico None. $136/day tied to federal rate & the constitution. 

Oklahoma $38,400/year. $103/day tied to federal rate. 

Texas $ 7,200/year. $118/day set by the Ethics Commission. 

Utah $   100/day. $75/day lodging allotment for each calendar day, tied to federal rate. $42/day per 
diem for each calendar day. (NOTE: Regular session is 45 days long.) 

 
TABLE 2. LIVING EXPENSE ALLOWANCE DURING INTERIM, 2000 

State Interim Per Diem 

Arizona $35/day with prior approval of presiding officer set by statute. 

Colorado Members are reimbursed for actual expenditures. 

New Mexico $136/day tied to federal rate. 

Oklahoma $25/day set by the legislature. 

Texas Senators receive $118/day for legislative business in Travis County, not to exceed 10 days per 
month.  Representatives receive $118/day for legislative business in Travis County, not to exceed 
12 days per month.  Per diem amount is determined by the Ethics Commission and the number of 
days is determined by the Senate Caucus and the Committee on House Administration. 

Utah $42/day meals; up to $75/day for lodging. 

 
TABLE 3. ADDITIONAL COMPENSATION FOR HOUSE/ASSEMBLY LEADERS, 1999 

State Presiding Officer Majority Leader Minority Leader Other Leaders 
Arizona None. None. None. None. 

Colorado All leaders receive $99/day during interim when in attendance at committee or leadership matters. 

New Mexico None. None. None. None. 

Oklahoma $17,932 $12,364 $12,364 Speaker pro tem, $12,364 

Texas None. None. None. None. 

Utah $1,000 $500 $500 Whips and asst whips, $500 

 
TABLE 4. ADDITIONAL COMPENSATION FOR SENATE LEADERS, 1999 

State Presiding Officer Majority Leader Minority Leader Other Leaders 
Arizona $500 None. None. None. 

Colorado All leaders receive $99/day during interim when in attendance at committee or leadership matters. 

New Mexico None. None. None. None. 

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures Page 1 
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LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT 

 
TABLE 4. ADDITIONAL COMPENSATION FOR SENATE LEADERS, 1999 

Oklahoma $17,932 $12,364 $12,364 None. 

Texas None. None. None. None. 

Utah $1,000 $500 $500 Whips and asst  whips, $500 

 
TABLE 5. ADDITIONAL COMPENSATION FOR COMMITTEE CHAIRS, 1999 

State Additional Compensation for Committee Chairs 
Arizona None. 

Colorado None. 

New Mexico None. 

Oklahoma $12,364 for Appropriations and Budget Committee Chairs. 

Texas None. 

Utah None. 

 
TABLE 6. STATE LEGISLATORS’ TRAVEL ALLOWANCE, 1999 

State Mileage Access to State Autos Credit 
Card 

Phone Card/ Phone 
Allowance 

Arizona 30¢/mile on actual 
miles. 

Access to motorpool 
for legislative trips 
only. 

No. No. 

Colorado 20¢ or 24¢ if 4wd vehi-
cle. Actual miles paid. 

No. No. Yes. Official state busi-
ness only. 

New Mexico 32.5¢/mile tied to fed-
eral rate 

No. No. No. 

Oklahoma 32.5¢/mile tied to fed-
eral rate. 

No. No. $1,000 during interim. 

Texas 28¢/mile set by General 
Appropriations bill; an 
allowance for single, 
twin and turbo engines 
from 40¢ to $1/mile is 
also given. 

No. Members are eligi-
ble for American 
Express Cards for 
official use. 

Official state business 
only.  House members 
are limited to available 
balance in their monthly 
operating accounts. 

Utah 31¢/mile, round trip 
from home to capital. 

No. No. Yes. Legislative use 
only. 

 
TABLE 7. CAPITOL OFFICE, DISTRICT OFFICE AND STAFFING ALLOWANCES, 1999 

State Allowances 
Arizona None. 

Colorado $2,000/year. 

New Mexico None. 

Source: National Conference of State Legislators Page 2 



Attachment 
LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT 

 
TABLE 7. CAPITOL OFFICE, DISTRICT OFFICE AND STAFFING ALLOWANCES, 1999 

Oklahoma $350/year for unvouchered office supplies plus seven rolls of stamps. 

Texas Senate: $25,000/month for staff salaries.  House:$9,750/month for staff salaries, supplies, station-
ery, postage, district office rental, telephone expense, etc. 

Utah None. 

 
TABLE 8. HEALTH, DENTAL AND OPTICAL INSURANCE BENEFITS FOR STATE LEGISLATORS, 

1999 
State Health Dental Optical 

Arizona State pays a set amount, legislator pays 
remaining balance; depending on plan 
selected. 

Optional at legislator’s 
expense. 

Optional at legislator’s 
expense. 

Colorado State pays a portion, legislator pays a 
portion; amount differs according to 
plan selected. 

State pays full amount. 
Dependents coverage at 
legislator’s expense. 

Not available. 

New Mexico Not available. Not available. Not available. 

Oklahoma State pays full amount. State pays full amount. Optional at legislator’s 
expense, 

Texas State pays for legislator, legislator pays 
for dependent coverage. 

Optional at legislator’s 
expense. 

Included in health cover-
age. 

Utah State pays full amount depending on 
plan chosen. 

State pays full amount de-
pending on plan chosen. 

Optional at legislator’s 
expense. 

 
TABLE 9. DISABILITY AND LIFE INSURANCE BENEFITS FOR STATE LEGISLATORS, 1999 
State Disability Insurance Same as State 

Employee Plan 
Life Insurance Same as State 

Employee Plan 
Arizona State pays portion and legis-

lator pays portion for long-
term disability; short-term 
disability available at legis-
lator’s expense. 

Yes. Legislator may opt to pur-
chase up to 3 times additional 
life insurance above the stan-
dard $10,000 base that all 
state employees receive. 

Yes. 

Colorado Not available. No. State pays full amount for 
$12,000 policy. 

Yes. 

New Mexico Not available. No. Not available. No. 

Oklahoma State pays full amount. Yes. Same as 
management 
employees. 

State pays full amount 
($20,000). For optional 
amounts above that, legisla-
tor pays. 

Yes. Same as 
management 
employees. 

Texas Optional at legislator’s ex-
pense. 

Yes. Optional at legislator’s ex-
pense. 

Yes. 

Utah Optional at legislator’s ex-
pense. 

Yes. State pays full amount for 
basic coverage ($18,000). 
Additional coverage optional 
at legislator’s expense. 

Yes. 

 
 
 

TABLE 10. RETIREMENT BENEFITS FOR LEGISLATORS, 1999 

Source: National Conference of State Legislators Page 3 



Attachment 
LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT 

 
TABLE 10. RETIREMENT BENEFITS FOR LEGISLATORS, 1999 

State Participation Same as State 
Employees 

Minimum Age and Service Re-
quirement 

Contribution Rate 

Arizona Optional. No. Age 65 with 5+ years of service; or 
age 60 with 25+ years of service. 

7%. 

Colorado Mandatory. No. Age 60 with 5 years of service. 8% of gross salary. 

New Mexico Optional. No. Age 65 with 5+ years of service;  
age 64 with 8+ years of service;  
age 63 with 12+ years of service; or 
any age with 14+ years of service. 

$100 per year for 
service after 1959. 

Oklahoma Optional. No. Age 60 with 6 years of service. Optional contribution 
of 4.5%, 6%, 7.5%, 
8.5%, 9% or 10%. 

Texas Optional. No. Age 60 with 8 years of service; or age 
50 with 12 years. 

8% 

Utah Mandatory. No. Age 65 with 4 years of service. Non-contributory. 

 
TABLE 11. RETIREMENT BENEFITS FOR LEGISLATORS, 1999 

 
Estimated Monthly 

State 4 Years 12 Years 20 Years Benefit Formula 
Arizona $333.33/month. $1,000/month. $1,667/month. 4%/year of credited service x 3 

year average; maximum is 30% of 
member’s average yearly salary. 

Colorado Not yet vested. $350/month. $729/month. 2.5% x HAS x creditable service 
through 20 years plus 1.5% x HAS 
for 21 through 40 years.  Maxi-
mum benefit = 80% of employee’s 
HAS. 

New Mexico $83.33/month. $250/month. $416.66/month. $250 x years of service (after 
1959) 

Oklahoma $426.68 at 10%. $1,280.04 at 10%. $2,133.40 at 10%. Average participated salary x 
length of service x computation 
factor depending on optional con-
tributions ranging from .019 to 
.040. 

Texas Not eligible. $2,288.25/month. $3,813.75/month. 2.25% x district judge’s salary 
(currently $8,475) x length of ser-
vice. 

Utah Varies. Varies. Varies. $10/month x years of service; ad-
justed semi-annually according to 
consumer price index, limited to 
maximum of 4%. 

 

Source: National Conference of State Legislators Page 4 
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