[bracketed material] = delete

1

2

3

8

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

SFNA	TF	MEMO	RT A	\T .	29

46TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SESSION, 2003 INTRODUCED BY

Manny M. Aragon

A MEMORIAL

DECLARING FEBRUARY 17, 2003 AS "COMMUNITY COLLEGE DAY" AT THE STATE LEGISLATURE AND RECOGNIZING THE 2003 COMMUNITY COLLEGE ALL-STATE ACADEMIC TEAM

WHEREAS, community colleges in New Mexico are strategically located around the state for easy access to the post-secondary and lifelong learning needs of our citizens; and

WHEREAS, community colleges now educate and train over fifty-eight thousand New Mexicans in credit programs, or fiftyfour percent of the total higher education student population, and another estimated ninety thousand New Mexicans in noncredit adult and continuing education; and

WHEREAS, community colleges play an important role in local, regional and statewide efforts in literacy training, work force development, economic development and welfare

. 144946. 1

reform: and

1

2

4

7

8

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

WHEREAS, community colleges are committed to teaching excellence and produce students who excel in their academic and career development;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE

OF NEW MEXICO that in recognition of the importance of

community colleges in New Mexico, February 17, 2003 be

designated as "Community College Day" at the legislature; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the nominated community college academic all-state team, consisting of the following students, be congratulated and recognized by the state senate: Jennifer Bayley and Sharon Gordon, Albuquerque technicalvocational institute, main campus; Sabrina Archuleta and Derek Thompson, Albuquerque technical-vocational institute, Montoya campus; Matthew Wheeler, Albuquerque technical-vocational institute, south valley campus; Katherine McElroy and Debra Weir, Clovis community college; Kimberly Hancock, eastern New Mexico university, Roswell; Andria Bailey and Adriana Romero, eastern New Mexico university, Ruidoso; Robyn Olson and Mary Tomita, luna community college; Wayne Chaddick, mesalands community college; D'Arcy Jackson and Katrina Summers, New Mexico junior college; Michael Downey and Shayne Lauritzen, New Mexico military institute; Daina Ham and Rebecca Hubbard, New Mexico state university, Alamogordo; Alicia Garcia and Neil Whatley, New Mexico state university, Carlsbad; Anabel Knapp, . 144946. 1

New Mexico state university, Dona Ana; Martha Russell and Elizabeth Solano, New Mexico state university, Grants; Celia Harlow and Arthur Montoya, northern New Mexico community college; Melanie Smaka, San Juan college; Hollie Medina and Robyn Reede, Santa Fe community college; Heba Almasri and Michael Krueger, university of New Mexico, Gallup; Crystal Salazar, university of New Mexico, Los Alamos; and Steven Gomez and Suzanne Smith, university of New Mexico, Valencia.

- 3 -