## 13 15

## SENATE MEMORIAL 28

## 47th Legislature - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - second session, 2006

## INTRODUCED BY

Timothy Z. Jennings

6 7

1

2

3

4

5

8 9

10

11

12

14

16

17

18

19

20 21

22

23

24 25 A MEMORIAL

CONGRATULATING THE UNIVERSITY OF NEW MEXICO SOCCER TEAM FOR ITS OUTSTANDING 2005 SEASON.

WHEREAS, the university of New Mexico soccer team capped an outstanding 2005 season by taking second place in the national collegiate athletic association championship tournament and finishing with eighteen wins, just two losses and three ties; and

WHEREAS, the spirited play of the Lobos filled New Mexicans with pride through the season and the last several years, as the team made its fourth trip to the national collegiate athletic association tournament in the last five years; and

WHEREAS, the 2005 team had a uniquely New Mexican flavor, with nine of its players being from the land of enchantment; .161526.1

and

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

WHEREAS, honors received by team members and the coach during and after the 2005 season included a semifinalist finish for the Hermann trophy for Jeff Rowland; academic all-American team honors for Ben Ashwill, Jeff Rowland, Matt Wootton and Brandon Moss; and mountain pacific sports federation co-coach of the year honors for Coach Jeremy Fishbein;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO that hearty congratulations be extended to the university of New Mexico soccer team for its outstanding 2005 season; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this memorial be transmitted to the university of New Mexico soccer team.

- 2 -