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F I S C A L    I M P A C T    R E P O R T 
 

 
SPONSOR Griego, P. 

ORIGINAL DATE  
LAST UPDATED 

02/05/09 
03/20/09 HB  

 
SHORT TITLE NM Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing Act SB 

342/aSJC/aSCORC/ 
aSFC/aSFL/aHJC 

 
 

ANALYST C. Sanchez 
 

APPROPRIATION (dollars in thousands) 
 

Appropriation Recurring 
or Non-Rec 

Fund 
Affected 

FY09 FY10   

None None   
 (Parenthesis ( ) Indicate Expenditure Decreases) 
 

REVENUE (dollars in thousands) 
 

Estimated Revenue Recurring 
or Non-Rec 

Fund 
Affected 

FY09 FY10 FY11   

NA $2,825.0 $2,825.0 Recurring Mortgage 
Regulatory 

 (Parenthesis ( ) Indicate Revenue Decreases) 
 

ESTIMATED ADDITIONAL OPERATING BUDGET IMPACT (dollars in thousands) 
 

 FY09 FY10 FY11 3 Year 
Total Cost 

Recurring 
or Non-Rec 

Fund 
Affected 

Total $0.1 $900.0 $1,823.0 $2,723.0 Recurring Mortgage 
Regulatory 

(Parenthesis ( ) Indicate Expenditure Decreases) 
             
SOURCES OF INFORMATION 
LFC Files 
 
Responses Received From 
Regulation and Licensing Department (RLD) 
Attorney General’s Office (AGO) 
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SUMMARY 
 

Synopsis of HJC Amendment 
 
The House Judiciary Committee amendments make several technical corrections to the original 
bill. Under Section 18 (Confidentiality) the amendment strikes several requirements.  
 
The amendment also adds a new section to read, "A. The director shall exercise general 
supervision and control over mortgage loan originators doing business in New Mexico. In 
addition to the other duties imposed on the director by law, the director shall make reasonable 
rules necessary for the implementation of the New Mexico Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing 
Act; provided that promulgated rules shall be subject to judicial review in the manner set forth in 
Section 12-8-8 NMSA 1978." 
 

Synopsis of SFL Amendment 
 
According to the AGO, the Senate Floor Amendment to SB 342 clarifies the second sentence of 
Section 58-21-18 to permit the inclusion of additional costs and fees as permissible charges when 
the fees are assessed in connection with a mortgage loan.  The additional costs and fees include 
charges for reasonable settlement, origination, transaction and other fees or charges not 
prohibited by law.  This language recognizes that mortgage companies incur additional costs and 
fees associated with the originating of a loan beyond the broker fee and permits the collection of 
those costs and fees.    

 
Synopsis of SFC Amendments 

 
The SFC amendment changes the effective date of the provisions of Section 4 and 16 to July 31, 
2010. The amendment also changes the effective date of the provisions of Sections 1, 3, 5 
through 15, and 17 through 60 to July 31, 2009.  
 
All other changes are technical and clean up and clarify the introduced bill version.  
 

Synopsis of SCORC Amendments 
 
Amendment 1 reverts language back to surety bond coverage liability for exclusive agents to 
being provided under the mortgage loan company umbrella and corrects duplicative language in 
the paragraph. 
 
Amendments 2, 4, 7, 8, and 12 make technical changes. 
 
Amendment 3, 9, and 11 add the definition of servicer not previously defined in the New Mexico 
Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing Act, Mortgage Loan Company Act, and Home Loan 
Protection Act. 
 
Amendment 5 expands the exemption from compliance with the Act to include mortgage loan 
originators, who are currently licensed in anther state through the nationwide mortgage licensing 
system and registry for more than 90 days, by permitting the issuing of temporary New Mexico 
licenses, to be valid for 90 days, in order to allow the originators time to complete the education 
and testing requirements as required by this Act. 
 
 
 
Amendment 6, 10, and 13 exempt government sponsored enterprise loans from being subject to 
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the “ability to repay” standard as defined by the New Mexico Mortgage Loan Originator 
Licensing Act, Mortgage Loan Company Act, and  Home Loan Protection Act.   
 
Amendment 14 – clarifies the measure of the lifetime interest cap of 6% as beginning from the 
initial loan rate.   
 
Amendment 15 deletes the application of the Act to loans made after April 1, 2004.   
 

Synopsis of SJC Amendments 
 
Amendment 1 - This amendment replaces the exemption contained in Section 4 (B) (3) of The 
New Mexico Loan Originator Licensing Act (SB 342 Original bill).  Formerly, an individual 
who offers or negotiates terms of a residential mortgage loan secured by a dwelling that served 
as the individual's residence has been changed to state: “an individual who offers or negotiates 
terms of a real property sale financed in whole or in part by the seller and secured by the seller's 
real property”. According to the AGO, this amendment may not be in compliance with the 
federally approved model state law in which The New Mexico Loan Originator Licensing Act is 
based. 
 
Amendment 2 – this amendment excludes juvenile courts from this provision. 
 
Amendment 3 – removes “exclusive agent” from the bonding provisions. 
 
Amendment 4 – this amendment removes “customers” from the purview of the regulators 
authority in this section. 
Amendment 5 – is just a stylistic change 
 
Amendment 6 – This amendment replaces language in the Original SB 342, making any 
violation of The New Mexico Loan Originator Licensing Act a violation of the Unfair Practices 
Act, with new language allowing any person who has suffered injury by reason of any method, 
act or practice in violation of the New Mexico Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing Act to sue in 
district court.  The attorney general may also bring an action in the name of the state alleging 
violations of that act. 
 
Amendment 7 – adds the standard of “knowingly” to the aids and abets enforcement provision. 
 
Amendment 8 and 9 – are technical and stylistic changes. 
 
Amendment 10 – adds language requirement the notice be in such a manner as to be able to be 
“understood by a reasonable borrower.” 
 
Amendment 11 – adds an exemption for government agencies and government sponsored 
enterprises to prove borrowers reasonable ability to repay the mortgage. According to the AGO, 
this added language is duplicative of current language in same section and/or paragraph and may 
render the paragraph vague for constitutional purposes. 
 
Amendment 12 – added language allows lenders to utilize additional tests other than equity in 
the home to determine borrower qualification. 
 
Amendment 13 - eliminates the appropriation for start up costs. 
 
Amendment 14 – changes the effective date. 
 
 
This SJC amendment removes the $500,000 appropriation and reverting fund that is necessary to 
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hire four additional staff to start up a Mortgage Originator Licensing program. 
 

Synopsis of Original Bill 
 
This Bill would enact a new law entitled the New Mexico Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing 
Act that would regulate and license mortgage loan originators and it would amend the current 
Mortgage Loan Company and Loan Broker Act and the Home Loan Protection Act.  This bill 
identifies certain prohibited practices under the Unfair Trade Practices Act.  The highlights of 
this Bill are as follows: 
 
New Mexico Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing Act  
 
This portion of the Bill should meet or exceed the standards set forth by the Federal SAFE 
Mortgage Licensing Act that was signed into law July 30, 2008. 
 
The mortgage loan originator will be subject to the following requirements: 
 

• Licensing of all Mortgage Loan Originators; 
• National and State approved initial and continuing education courses regarding mortgage 

laws, ethics and business; 
• National and State testing for license approval; 
• National background checks (fingerprinting and credit report checks); 
• Surety Bond requirements based on the volume of loan originations annually; 
• Annual Continuing Education through approved courses in mortgage laws, ethics and 

business; 
• Creates a fiduciary relationship between mortgage loan originator and borrower; 
• Nationwide tracking of mortgage loan originators and licenses they hold in all states, 

complaints and disciplinary and enforcement actions against mortgage loan originators; 
• Examination and investigation; 
• Minimum standards for licensing.  
 

In addition, the Act includes provisions for administrative due process, confidentiality and 
enforcement powers.   
 
This Act also creates a non-reverting fund and an appropriation to support the Financial 
Institutions Division’s administration of this Act. 
 
Mortgage Loan Company Act 
 
This portion of the Bill will revise the current Mortgage Loan Company Act (58-21-1, et seq.) as 
follows: 
 
• Coordinate with the New Mexico Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing Act; 
• Change mortgage loan company approvals from a registration process to a licensing process; 
• Require mortgage loan companies to designate a Qualified Manager who needs to meet 

certain requirements including years of experience and licensing under the New Mexico 
Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing Act before a license is issued to the mortgage loan 
company; 

• Update the licensing fees charged to the mortgage loan companies including charging for 
licenses for divisions and branches of the mortgage loan company; 

• Impose bonding requirements based on the volume of loan originations annually; 
• Create new fees that would be deposited into the mortgage regulatory fund to administer the 
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costs of licensing and supervision of the mortgage industry; 
• Update the violations, due process, enforcement and penalties portions of the Act so that the 

Financial Institutions Division may enhance and expand its regulation and supervision of the 
mortgage industry; 

• Introduce new disclosure requirements; 
• Introduce a requirement for an annual Mortgage Call Report; 
• Synchronize the licensing cycle, bonding, enforcement, due process and penalties with 

mortgage loan originators to coincide with the National Licensing System. 
 
Home Loan Protection Act 
 
The portion of the Bill will amend the Home Loan Protection Act (58-21A-1 et seq.) as follows: 
 

• Add the upfront government and private mortgage insurance premiums and veteran 
administration funding fees to the list of fees exempt from the points and fees threshold test; 

• Add to the list of prohibited practices and change some prohibited practices for high cost 
home loans to pertain to all home loans. 

 
FISCAL IMPLICATIONS  
 
This SJC amendment removes the $500,000 appropriation and reverting fund that is necessary to 
hire four additional staff to start up a Mortgage Originator Licensing program. 
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According to RLD, the first table below shows the proposed budget for the initial start-up of the 
program.  These expenses can be covered by a $500,000 appropriation from the General Fund to 
the Mortgage Regulatory Fund.  At start-up, the Financial Institutions Division will hire 2 
mortgage examiners and 2 licensing specialists to assist the current staff implement the licensing 
process that will require licensure of approximately 1200 Mortgage Loan Companies and 
Branches, 3000 Mortgage Loan Originators and an undetermined number of Manufactured 
Housing Companies and sales personnel.  It also allows for office space and FF&E for the entire 
Mortgage Licensing and Regulation Unit. 

Proposed cost - FY 09 Appropriation    
     
Financial Examiners    
     
 FTE Cost Total  
Salary 2  $      53,040.00  $      106,080.00   
Benefits   $      21,216.00  $        42,432.00   
Computer /printer/ equipment   $        4,220.00  $          8,440.00   
Office Furniture / Supplies   $        5,355.00  $        10,710.00   
Car / Gas   $        7,500.00  $        15,000.00   
Technical Training   $        1,500.00  $          3,000.00   
Per Diem   $        7,000.00  $        14,000.00   
Cell Phones   $           900.00  $          1,800.00   
  Sub Total   $    201,462.00 
     
Court, Municipal Licensing Clerk - A   
     
 FTE Cost Total  
Salary 2  $      30,000.00  $        60,000.00   
Benefits   $      12,000.00  $        24,000.00   
Computer /printer/equipment   $        2,500.00  $          5,000.00   
Office Furniture / Supplies   $        5,355.00  $        10,710.00   
   Sub Total     $      99,710.00 
     
TOTAL   $    301,172.00 
     
Office Space and Equipment   
     
Lease Space 3420 square feet   $        92,340.00   
Total Furniture, Supplies     
and Office Equipment    $      105,296.00   
     
  Sub Total  $      197,636.00   $    197,636.00 
     
TOTAL   $    498,808.00 
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Once the program is fully staffed, RLD anticipates the annual budget shown in the table below.  
The Mortgage Licensing and Regulation Unit, at full staff, will consist of 3 persons in 
management, 1 attorney, 1 office manager, 3 licensing specialists and 12 mortgage 
examiners/investigators. After the start up costs from the appropriation, the entire Mortgage 
Licensing and Regulation Unit, and all costs associated with the administration and enforcement 
of the New Mexico Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing Act and the Mortgage Loan Company 
Act, will be funded by the fees collected and deposited into the non-reverting Mortgage 
Regulatory Fund. All fees will be set by rule and no longer by statute. 

Annual Total Revenues And Expenses For The Mortgage 
Licensing And Regulation Unit 

 

    

Revenue  General Fund Non-reverting 
Fund 

 

License Fees   $       62,500.00  $       600,000.00   
License Renewal Fees   $     400,000.00  $                     -     
License Late Fees   $       50,000.00  $                     -     
License Amendment Fees   $       10,000.00  $                     -     
Application Fees   $                   -    $       662,500.00   
Supervisory Fees   $                   -    $       600,000.00   
Branch Location Fee   $                   -    $       200,000.00   
Investigation Fees   $     240,000.00  $                     -     
Sub Totals   $     762,500.00  $    2,062,500.00   
Total Revenues     $ 2,825,000.00 
    
Expenditures General Fund Non-reverting 

Fund 
 

Salaries/Benefits    $    1,479,072.00   
Office Lease Space    $         92,340.00   
Car/Gas    $         75,000.00   
Office Supplies/Phone    $         34,989.00   
Cell Phones/Wireless Internet   $         25,200.00   
Technical Training    $         22,500.00   
Per Diem    $         94,000.00   
Total Expenditures     $ 1,823,101.00 
     
Revenue Surplus     $ 1,001,899.00 
     
Revenue to the General Fund   $    762,500.00 
     
Revenue to the Mortgage Regulatory Fund  $    239,399.00 
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The FY 10 “Estimated Additional Operating Budget Impact” shown above is less than the 
estimated expense of the full program expenditure because the expenses will be less in the 
beginning as the program ramps up. RLD shows these figures as “Estimated Additional 
Operating Budget Impact” because although the revenue will more than cover the program 
expenses, the bill does not provide an appropriation for start up.  RLD asks that the Legislature 
provide sufficient appropriations from the Mortgage Regulatory Fund so as to not impact the 
General Fund. 
 
According to the December 2008 revenue estimate, FY10 recurring revenue will only support a 
base expenditure level that is $293 million, or 2.6 percent, less than the FY09 appropriation. All 
appropriations outside of the general appropriation act will be viewed in this declining revenue 
context. 
  
SIGNIFICANT ISSUES 
 
The Act adds 9 specific fiduciary duties of the loan originator to the borrower, includes 25 
prohibited practices for licensees and 2 new disclosure requirements in the New Mexico 
Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing Act.  
 
The Director may deny, suspend, revoke or decline to renew a license for: violating the New 
Mexico Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing Act or rules, failing to meet licensing standards, 
withholding information and making material misstatements.  The director may order restitution, 
impose fines, order affirmative action, bar or suspend a license, issue orders and directives. 
 
The Director may pursue violations in district court with penalties that include a civil penalty of 
up to twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) for each violation, disgorgement, declarative 
judgment, restitution to the consumers and other relief the court deems just. 
The Act addresses penalties for mortgage loan originators and mortgage loan companies who 
originate mortgage loans in New Mexico without being properly licensed.  
 
Mortgage Loan Originators will be subject to background checks and finger printing. If they 
have been convicted of a felony involving an act of fraud or dishonesty, a breach of trust or 
money laundering, that individual will not be able to work in the mortgage industry. 
 
OTHER SUBSTANTIVE ISSUES 
 
According to the National conference of State Legislators (NCSL) if New Mexico fails to 
implement the Federal Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act (SAFE) by July 
31, 2009 the state’s authority to license and regulate mortgage loan originators will be 
preempted. Mortgage loan originators in any state that fails to act by July 31, 2009 would be 
licensed and regulated by the federal Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) 
 
CONFLICT,  
 
HB 316 duplicates and conflicts with the changes to the Home Loan Protection Act addressed in 
this bill. 
 
WHAT WILL BE THE CONSEQUENCES OF NOT ENACTING THIS BILL 
 
The Federal SAFE Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 requires that if a State does not enact a law 
requiring Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing, the Department of Housing and Urban 
Development (HUD) shall be in charge of administering the Federal Licensing law for that State 
and all fees collected, under that law, by the Department of Housing and Urban Development 
(HUD) will remain with the Federal government. 
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The Mortgage Loan Company Act would revert back to its original form and the Financial 
Institutions Division would still be in charge of the regulation of mortgage loan companies, loan 
brokers and independent mortgage loan originators, which will lead to dual regulation of the 
mortgage industry in New Mexico by both federal and state agencies without the additional 
revenue.    
The Home Loan Protection Act would revert to its present form without the new consumer 
protections and prohibited practices.  Additionally, it would reduce the availability of FHA, VA 
and PMI insured mortgages.  
 
CS/mt:mc:svb                              


