A MEMORIAL

ENCOURAGING ECONOMIC AND CULTURAL EXCHANGE WITH THE REPUBLIC OF GREECE.

WHEREAS, modern Greece traces its roots to the civilization of ancient Greece, generally considered to be the cradle of western civilization; and

WHEREAS, Greece is the birthplace of democracy, western philosophy, western literature and historiography, political science, major scientific and mathematical principles and western drama, including both tragedy and comedy; and

WHEREAS, Greece was the first area in Europe where advanced early civilizations emerged; and

WHEREAS, Greece has the tenth longest coastline in the world and features approximately one thousand four hundred islands, over two hundred of which are inhabited; and

WHEREAS, Greece was a founding member of the United Nations; and

WHEREAS, the annual growth of Greek gross domestic product has surpassed the respective levels of most of its European Union partners; and

WHEREAS, Greek literature includes the monumental works of Homer, Aeschylus, Sophocles and Euripides; and

WHEREAS, Greek cuisine is often cited as an example of the healthy Mediterranean diet; and WHEREAS, Greece, home to the first modern Olympics, holds a long tradition in sports; and

WHEREAS, the Greek men's national soccer team won the union of European football associations championship in 2004 in one of the biggest surprises in the history of the sport; and

WHEREAS, the Greek men's national basketball team has a decades-long tradition of excellence in the sport and is currently ranked fourth in the world by the international basketball federation;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO that the governor be requested to encourage a significant and ongoing economic and cultural exchange with Greece; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the rich history and natural beauty of Greece be recognized and applauded; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this memorial be transmitted to the office of the governor, the office of the lieutenant governor, the economic development department, the tourism department and the cultural affairs department.