A MEMORIAL

CONGRATULATING THE LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS ON ITS NINETIETH BIRTHDAY AND PROCLAIMING JANUARY 26, 2010 "LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS DAY" IN THE NEW MEXICO SENATE.

WHEREAS, the league of women voters was founded on February 14, 1920 by Carrie Chapman Catt just six months before the nineteenth amendment to the United States constitution was ratified, giving women the right to vote; and

WHEREAS, the league of women voters began as a "mighty political experiment" designed to help twenty million women carry out their new responsibilities as voters; and

WHEREAS, August 26, 2010 will mark the ninetieth anniversary of women's suffrage in the nation; and

WHEREAS, sixty years ago, in October 1949, the league of women voters of New Mexico was formed; and

WHEREAS, since that time, the league of women voters of New Mexico has been an active partner in the league of women voters of the United States and is proud to have New Mexico resident Mary Wilson currently serving as president of that league; and

WHEREAS, the league of women voters has encouraged millions of women to carry out their responsibilities as voters by conducting candidate forums and by publishing voter

guides that allow candidates for public office to present their views in a nonpartisan environment; and

WHEREAS, the league of women voters continues to research and study current issues from all sides in order to build consensus within the league and to assist Americans and New Mexicans to be informed by presenting information on issues of vital concern to the public; and

WHEREAS, the league of women voters has further helped its members to engage in nonpartisan political action to shape public policy in agreement with its adopted positions; and

WHEREAS, the league of women voters continues to advocate for responsible and responsive government at all levels and for the general welfare of the residents of New Mexico and the nation;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO that the league of women voters be congratulated on its ninetieth birthday and that January 26, 2010 be proclaimed "League of Women Voters Day" in the senate; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this memorial be transmitted to Mary Wilson, president of the league of women voters of the United States, and to Katherine Campbell, president of the league of women voters of New Mexico.