HOUSE	DITT	1 1
HOHSE	KIII.	

## 50TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SPECIAL SESSION, 2011

INTRODUCED BY

Mary Helen Garcia

AN ACT

RELATING TO CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING; ESTABLISHING

CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS FOR THE ELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVES TO

THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS; CHANGING PROVISIONS OF THE ELECTION

CODE RELATING TO PRECINCTS; AMENDING, REPEALING AND ENACTING

SECTIONS OF THE NMSA 1978.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:

SECTION 1. Section 1-15-15 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1969, Chapter 240, Section 365, as amended) is amended to read:

"1-15-15. UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE--CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS ESTABLISHED.--New Mexico is divided into three congressional districts to be known and designated as congressional district [number] one, congressional district [number] two and congressional district [number] three."

**SECTION 2.** Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991

.186972.1

(1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 1) is repealed and a new Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:

"1-15-16. [NEW MATERIAL] UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE-COMPOSITION OF DISTRICTS.--

A. Congressional district one is composed of
Bernalillo county precincts 2 through 30, 32 through 79, 81
through 83, 86 through 92, 94 through 99, 101 through 114, 116,
119 through 125, 131 through 144, 150 through 154, 161 through
166, 170, 171, 180 through 187, 191 through 197, 211, 212, 214
through 217, 221, 223 through 226, 241 through 246, 251 through
258, 271 through 275, 278, 281 through 287, 289 through 308,
311 through 318, 321 through 324, 326 through 333, 341 through
347, 351 through 358, 371 through 375, 381 through 387, 400
through 456, 461 through 466, 471 through 478, 480 through 500,
502 through 573 and 601 through 603; Sandoval county precincts
1 through 5, 28, 29, 38, 52, 55 through 57, 64, 74 and 76;
Santa Fe county precincts 15, 73 and 84; Torrance county; and
Valencia county precincts 6, 16, 22, 24 and 28.

B. Congressional district two is composed of
Bernalillo county precincts 31 and 93; Catron county; Chaves
county; Cibola county; Curry county precinct 36; De Baca
county; Dona Ana county; Eddy county; Grant county; Guadalupe
county; Hidalgo county; Lea county; Lincoln county; Luna
county; McKinley county precincts 26 through 30; Otero county;
Roosevelt county precincts 3 through 6, 9 and 17; Sierra

county; Socorro county; and Valencia county precincts 1 through 5, 7 through 15, 17 through 21, 23, 25 through 27 and 29 through 41.

C. Congressional district three is composed of
Bernalillo county precincts 1, 80, 84, 85, 115, 117, 118 and
127 through 129; Colfax county; Curry county precincts 1
through 35 and 37; Harding county; Los Alamos county; McKinley
county precincts 1 through 25, 31 through 50 and 52 through 59;
Mora county; Quay county; Rio Arriba county; Roosevelt county
precincts 1, 2, 7, 8, 10 through 13, 15, 18, 19 and 21; San
Juan county; San Miguel county; Sandoval county precincts 6
through 27, 30 through 37, 39 through 51, 53, 54, 58 through
63, 65 through 73, 75 and 78 through 86; Santa Fe county
precincts 1 through 14, 16 through 72, 74 through 83 and 85
through 88; Taos county; and Union county."

SECTION 3. Section 1-15-16.1 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 (1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 2) is amended to read:
"1-15-16.1. PRECINCTS.--

A. Precinct designations and boundaries used in the [1991] 2011 congressional redistricting are those precinct designations and boundaries established pursuant to the Precinct Boundary Adjustment Act and revised and approved pursuant to that act by the secretary of state as of [August 16, 1991] August 31, 2011.

B. The boards of county commissioners shall not .186972.1

2

3

5

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

create any precinct that lies in more than one congressional district, nor shall the boards of county commissioners divide any precinct so that the divided parts of the precinct are situated in two or more congressional districts. Votes cast in any general, primary or other statewide election from precincts created or divided in violation of this subsection shall be invalid and shall not be counted or canvassed."

SECTION 4. TEMPORARY PROVISION--COMPILATION INSTRUCTIONS. -- The compiler shall remove from the NMSA 1978 the provisions of Section 1-15-15.1 NMSA 1978 (copy of congressional districts established by Final Judgment and Order in Jepsen v. Vigil-Giron, D-0101-CV-2001-02177 (1st Dist. Ct., filed January 8, 2002)).

4 -