HOUSE BILL 42

50TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SPECIAL SESSION, 2011

INTRODUCED BY

Joseph Cervantes

AN ACT

RELATING TO CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING; ESTABLISHING

CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS FOR THE ELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVES TO

THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS; CHANGING PROVISIONS OF THE ELECTION

CODE RELATING TO PRECINCTS; AMENDING, REPEALING AND ENACTING

SECTIONS OF THE NMSA 1978.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:

SECTION 1. Section 1-15-15 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1969, Chapter 240, Section 365, as amended) is amended to read:

"1-15-15. UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE--CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS ESTABLISHED.--New Mexico is divided into three congressional districts to be known and designated as congressional district [number] one, congressional district [number] two and congressional district [number] three."

SECTION 2. Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991

.187499.1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

(1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 1) is repealed and a new Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:

"1-15-16. [NEW MATERIAL] UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE--COMPOSITION OF DISTRICTS.--

Congressional district one is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 1 through 30, 32 through 43, 45 through 53, 55, 56, 59, 60, 68 through 70, 78 through 87, 89, 94, 95, 101 through 108, 110 through 125, 127 through 129, 131 through 138, 150 through 154, 161 through 166, 170, 171, 180 through 187, 191 through 197, 211, 212, 214 through 217, 221, 223 through 226, 241 through 246, 251 through 258, 271 through 275, 278, 281 through 287, 289 through 308, 311 through 318, 321 through 324, 326 through 333, 341 through 347, 351 through 358, 371 through 375, 381 through 387, 400 through 456, 461 through 466, 471 through 478, 480 through 500, 502 through 573 and 601 through 603; Sandoval county precincts 1 through 6, 11 through 13, 29 through 33, 35, 36, 38, 47, 52 through 57, 59, 64, 67 through 72, 74, 76 and 84 through 86; Santa Fe county precincts 14 through 18, 72, 73, 84, 85 and 88; and Torrance county precincts 1, 3, 5, 7 and 13 through 16.

Congressional district two is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 31, 44, 54, 57, 58, 61 through 67, 71 through 77, 88, 90 through 93, 96 through 99, 109 and 139 through 144; Catron county; Chaves county precincts 72, 73, 94 and 101 through 104; Cibola county; Dona Ana county; Eddy

.187499.1

county; Grant county; Hidalgo county; Lea county precincts 15 through 17, 20, 22 through 36, 41 through 44, 51 through 55, 61, 62 and 71 through 74; Lincoln county; Luna county; McKinley county precincts 26, 27, 29 and 30; Otero county; Sierra county; Socorro county; Torrance county precincts 4 and 10; and Valencia county.

C. Congressional district three is composed of
Chaves county precincts 1 through 7, 9 through 16, 21 through
25, 31 through 36, 41 through 47, 51, 52, 61 through 63, 71, 81
through 85 and 90 through 93; Colfax county; Curry county; De
Baca county; Guadalupe county; Harding county; Lea county
precincts 2, 3, 10 through 14, 18 and 21; Los Alamos county;
McKinley county precincts 1 through 25, 28, 31 through 50 and
52 through 59; Mora county; Quay county; Rio Arriba county;
Roosevelt county; San Juan county; San Miguel county; Sandoval
county precincts 7 through 10, 14 through 28, 34, 37, 39
through 46, 48 through 51, 58, 60 through 63, 65, 66, 73, 75
and 78 through 83; Santa Fe county precincts 1 through 13, 19
through 71, 74 through 83, 86 and 87; Taos county; Torrance
county precincts 2, 6, 8, 9, 11 and 12; and Union county."

SECTION 3. Section 1-15-16.1 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 (1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 2) is amended to read:

"1-15-16.1. PRECINCTS.--

A. Precinct designations and boundaries used in the $[\frac{1991}]$ 2011 congressional redistricting are those precinct .187499.1

designations and boundaries established pursuant to the Precinct Boundary Adjustment Act and revised and approved pursuant to that act by the secretary of state as of [August 16, 1991] August 31, 2011.

B. The boards of county commissioners shall not create any precinct that lies in more than one congressional district, nor shall the boards of county commissioners divide any precinct so that the divided parts of the precinct are situated in two or more congressional districts. Votes cast in any general, primary or other statewide election from precincts created or divided in violation of this subsection shall be invalid and shall not be counted or canvassed."

SECTION 4. TEMPORARY PROVISION--COMPILATION INSTRUCTIONS.--The compiler shall remove from the NMSA 1978 the provisions of Section 1-15-15.1 NMSA 1978 (copy of congressional districts established by Final Judgment and Order in Jepsen v. Vigil-Giron, D-0101-CV-2001-02177 (1st Dist. Ct., filed January 8, 2002)).

- 4 -