HOUSE BILL 43

50TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SPECIAL SESSION, 2011

INTRODUCED BY

Miguel P. Garcia

.187465.1

AN ACT

RELATING TO CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING; ESTABLISHING

CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS FOR THE ELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVES TO

THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS; CHANGING PROVISIONS OF THE ELECTION

CODE RELATING TO PRECINCTS; AMENDING, REPEALING AND ENACTING

SECTIONS OF THE NMSA 1978.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:

SECTION 1. Section 1-15-15 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1969, Chapter 240, Section 365, as amended) is amended to read:

"1-15-15. UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE--CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS ESTABLISHED.--New Mexico is divided into three congressional districts to be known and designated as congressional district [number] one, congressional district [number] two and congressional district [number] three."

SECTION 2. Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

(1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 1) is repealed and a new Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:

"1-15-16. [NEW MATERIAL] UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE --COMPOSITION OF DISTRICTS. --

Congressional district one is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 31 and 93; Catron county; Cibola county; Dona Ana county precincts 1 through 4, 7 through 58, 60, 63, 74, 78 through 101, 105, 107, 108, 111, 115 and 120; Grant county; Hidalgo county; Los Alamos county; Luna county; McKinley county; Otero county precincts 11 through 14 and 38; Rio Arriba county precincts 24 and 29; San Juan county; Sandoval county precincts 4, 9 through 23, 25, 27, 30 through 54, 57 through 75 and 78 through 86; Sierra county; Socorro county precincts 1 through 11, 13 through 21 and 23 through 26; and Valencia county precincts 1 through 15, 17 through 19, 21 through 23, 25 through 28, 31, 32, 35 through 37 and 39 through 41.

Congressional district two is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 96, 98, 257, 258, 278, 286, 289 through 308, 311 through 318, 321 through 324, 326 through 333, 372, 373, 400 through 430, 434, 439 through 441, 445 through 454, 456, 461 through 466, 471 through 478, 480 through 500, 502 through 573 and 601 through 603; Chaves county; Curry county precincts 2 through 15, 17 through 33 and 35 through 37; Dona Ana county precincts 5, 6, 59, 61, 62, 64 through 73, 75

.187465.1

through 77, 102 through 104, 106, 109, 110, 112 through 114 and
l16 through 119; Eddy county; Lea county; Lincoln county; Otero
county precincts 1 through 10, 15 through 37 and 39 through 41;
Roosevelt county; Socorro county precincts 12 and 22; Torrance
county; and Valencia county precincts 16, 20, 24, 29, 30, 33,
34 and 38.

C. Congressional district three is composed of
Bernalillo county precincts 1 through 30, 32 through 92, 94,

Bernalillo county precincts 1 through 30, 32 through 92, 94, 95, 97, 99, 101 through 125, 127 through 129, 131 through 144, 150 through 154, 161 through 166, 170, 171, 180 through 187, 191 through 197, 211, 212, 214 through 217, 221, 223 through 226, 241 through 246, 251 through 256, 271 through 275, 281 through 285, 287, 341 through 347, 351 through 358, 371, 374, 375, 381 through 387, 431 through 433, 435 through 438, 442 through 444 and 455; Colfax county; Curry county precincts 1, 16 and 34; De Baca county; Guadalupe county; Harding county; Mora county; Quay county; Rio Arriba county precincts 1 through 23, 25 through 28 and 30 through 42; San Miguel county; Sandoval county precincts 1 through 3, 5 through 8, 24, 26, 28, 29, 55, 56 and 76; Santa Fe county; Taos county; and Union county."

SECTION 3. Section 1-15-16.1 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 (lst S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 2) is amended to read:

"1-15-16.1. PRECINCTS.--

A. Precinct designations and boundaries used in the .187465.1

bracketed material]

1

2

3

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

[1991] 2011 congressional redistricting are those precinct designations and boundaries established pursuant to the Precinct Boundary Adjustment Act and revised and approved pursuant to that act by the secretary of state as of [August 16, 1991] August 31, 2011.

В. The boards of county commissioners shall not create any precinct that lies in more than one congressional district, nor shall the boards of county commissioners divide any precinct so that the divided parts of the precinct are situated in two or more congressional districts. Votes cast in any general, primary or other statewide election from precincts created or divided in violation of this subsection shall be invalid and shall not be counted or canvassed."

SECTION 4. TEMPORARY PROVISION--COMPILATION INSTRUCTIONS. -- The compiler shall remove from the NMSA 1978 the provisions of Section 1-15-15.1 NMSA 1978 (copy of congressional districts established by Final Judgment and Order in Jepsen v. Vigil-Giron, D-0101-CV-2001-02177 (1st Dist. Ct., filed January 8, 2002)).

4 -