TT/T	\mathbf{r}	птт	т	, ,
H()	I 🥆 Н	RTT.		Цn

50TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SPECIAL SESSION, 2011

INTRODUCED BY

Joseph Cervantes

AN ACT

RELATING TO CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING; ESTABLISHING

CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS FOR THE ELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVES TO

THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS; CHANGING PROVISIONS OF THE ELECTION

CODE RELATING TO PRECINCTS; AMENDING, REPEALING AND ENACTING

SECTIONS OF THE NMSA 1978.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:

SECTION 1. Section 1-15-15 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1969, Chapter 240, Section 365, as amended) is amended to read:

"1-15-15. UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE--CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS ESTABLISHED.--New Mexico is divided into three congressional districts to be known and designated as congressional district [number] one, congressional district [number] two and congressional district [number] three."

SECTION 2. Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991

.187566.1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

(1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 1) is repealed and a new Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:

"1-15-16. [NEW MATERIAL] UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE-COMPOSITION OF DISTRICTS.--

Congressional district one is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 1 through 41, 43, 45 through 48, 50, 51, 55 through 57, 59, 61 through 63, 68 through 70, 78 through 87, 89, 94, 95, 101 through 108, 110 through 125, 127 through 129, 131 through 138, 150 through 154, 161 through 166, 170, 171, 180 through 187, 191 through 197, 211, 212, 214 through 217, 221, 223 through 226, 241 through 246, 251 through 258, 271 through 275, 278, 281 through 287, 289 through 308, 311 through 318, 321 through 324, 326 through 333, 341 through 347, 351 through 358, 371 through 375, 381 through 387, 400 through 456, 461 through 466, 471 through 478, 480 through 500, 502 through 573 and 601 through 603; Sandoval county precincts 1 through 6, 11 through 13, 28 through 36, 38, 40 through 46, 48 through 50, 52 through 60, 62, 64, 72, 74, 76, 81, 83, 85 and 86; Santa Fe county precincts 15, 16, 18, 19, 72, 73, 84 and 85; and Torrance county precincts 1 through 10 and 13 through 16.

B. Congressional district two is composed of
Bernalillo county precincts 42, 44, 49, 52 through 54, 58, 60,
64 through 67, 71 through 77, 88, 90 through 93, 96 through 99,
109 and 139 through 144; Catron county; Chaves county precincts
.187566.1

36, 42, 43, 51, 52, 61 through 63, 71 through 73, 85, 90 through 94 and 101 through 104; Cibola county precincts 1 through 5 and 7 through 25; Dona Ana county; Eddy county; Grant county; Hidalgo county; Lea county precincts 11, 12, 14 through 17, 22 through 36, 41 through 44, 51 through 55, 61, 62 and 71 through 74; Luna county; McKinley county precincts 26, 29 and 30; Otero county precincts 1 through 10 and 12 through 41; Sierra county; Socorro county; and Valencia county.

C. Congressional district three is composed of
Chaves county precincts 1 through 7, 9 through 16, 21 through
25, 31 through 35, 41, 44 through 47 and 81 through 84; Cibola
county precinct 6; Colfax county; Curry county; De Baca county;
Guadalupe county; Harding county; Lea county precincts 2, 3,
10, 13, 18, 20 and 21; Lincoln county; Los Alamos county;
McKinley county precincts 1 through 25, 27, 28, 31 through 50
and 52 through 59; Mora county; Otero county precinct 11; Quay
county; Rio Arriba county; Roosevelt county; San Juan county;
San Miguel county; Sandoval county precincts 7 through 10, 14
through 27, 37, 39, 47, 51, 61, 63, 65 through 71, 73, 75, 78
through 80, 82 and 84; Santa Fe county precincts 1 through 14,
17, 20 through 71, 74 through 83 and 86 through 88; Taos
county; Torrance county precincts 11 and 12; and Union county."

SECTION 3. Section 1-15-16.1 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 (1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 2) is amended to read:

"1-15-16.1. PRECINCTS.--

.187566.1

2

3

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

A. Precinct designations and boundaries used in the
$[\frac{1991}{2011}]$ congressional redistricting are those precinct
designations and boundaries established pursuant to the
Precinct Boundary Adjustment Act and revised and approved
pursuant to that act by the secretary of state as of [August
16, 1991] August 31, 2011.

The boards of county commissioners shall not create any precinct that lies in more than one congressional district, nor shall the boards of county commissioners divide any precinct so that the divided parts of the precinct are situated in two or more congressional districts. Votes cast in any general, primary or other statewide election from precincts created or divided in violation of this subsection shall be invalid and shall not be counted or canvassed."

SECTION 4. TEMPORARY PROVISION--COMPILATION INSTRUCTIONS. -- The compiler shall remove from the NMSA 1978 the provisions of Section 1-15-15.1 NMSA 1978 (copy of congressional districts established by Final Judgment and Order in Jepsen v. Vigil-Giron, D-0101-CV-2001-02177 (1st Dist. Ct., filed January 8, 2002)).