16

17

18

19

21

22

23

24

25

1

2

3

5

6

7

8

9

10

HOUSE BILL 50

50TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SPECIAL SESSION, 2011

INTRODUCED BY

William "Bill" R. Rehm

RELATING TO CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING; ESTABLISHING CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS FOR THE ELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVES TO THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS; CHANGING PROVISIONS OF THE ELECTION CODE RELATING TO PRECINCTS; AMENDING, REPEALING AND ENACTING SECTIONS OF THE NMSA 1978.

AN ACT

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:

SECTION 1. Section 1-15-15 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1969, Chapter 240, Section 365, as amended) is amended to read:

"1-15-15. UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE--CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS ESTABLISHED. -- New Mexico is divided into three congressional districts to be known and designated as congressional district [number] one, congressional district [number] two and congressional district [number] three."

SECTION 2. Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991

.187591.1

(1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 1) is repealed and a new Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:

"1-15-16. [NEW MATERIAL] UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE-COMPOSITION OF DISTRICTS.--

A. Congressional district one is composed of
Bernalillo county precincts 2 through 79, 81 through 92, 94
through 99, 101 through 114, 116, 119 through 125, 127, 128,
131 through 144, 150 through 154, 161 through 166, 170, 171,
180 through 187, 191 through 197, 211, 212, 214 through 217,
221, 223 through 226, 241 through 246, 251 through 258, 271
through 275, 278, 281 through 287, 289 through 308, 311 through
318, 321 through 324, 326 through 333, 341 through 347, 351
through 358, 371 through 375, 381 through 387, 400 through 456,
461 through 466, 471 through 478, 480 through 500, 502 through
573 and 601 through 603; Sandoval county precincts 1 through 5,
29, 38, 52, 55, 56, 64, 74 and 76; Santa Fe county precincts
15, 18, 73, 84 and 85; and Torrance county.

B. Congressional district two is composed of Bernalillo county precinct 93; Catron county; Chaves county; Cibola county precincts 1, 2 and 4 through 25; De Baca county; Dona Ana county; Eddy county; Grant county; Guadalupe county precinct 4; Hidalgo county; Lea county; Lincoln county; Luna county; McKinley county precincts 26, 27, 29 and 30; Otero county; Sierra county; Socorro county; and Valencia county.

C. Congressional district three is composed of .187591.1

Bernalillo county precincts 1, 80, 115, 117, 118 and 129;
Cibola county precinct 3; Colfax county; Curry county;
Guadalupe county precincts 1 through 3 and 5; Harding county;
Los Alamos county; McKinley county precincts 1 through 25, 28,
31 through 50 and 52 through 59; Mora county; Quay county; Rio
Arriba county; Roosevelt county; San Juan county; San Miguel
county; Sandoval county precincts 6 through 28, 30 through 37,
39 through 51, 53, 54, 57 through 63, 65 through 73, 75 and 78
through 86; Santa Fe county precincts 1 through 14, 16, 17, 19
through 72, 74 through 83 and 86 through 88; Taos county; and
Union county."

SECTION 3. Section 1-15-16.1 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 (1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 2) is amended to read:

"1-15-16.1. PRECINCTS.--

A. Precinct designations and boundaries used in the [1991] 2011 congressional redistricting are those precinct designations and boundaries established pursuant to the Precinct Boundary Adjustment Act and revised and approved pursuant to that act by the secretary of state as of [August 16, 1991] August 31, 2011.

B. The boards of county commissioners shall not create any precinct that lies in more than one congressional district, nor shall the boards of county commissioners divide any precinct so that the divided parts of the precinct are situated in two or more congressional districts. Votes cast in .187591.1

any general, primary or other statewide election from precincts created or divided in violation of this subsection shall be invalid and shall not be counted or canvassed."

SECTION 4. TEMPORARY PROVISION--COMPILATION

INSTRUCTIONS.--The compiler shall remove from the NMSA 1978 the provisions of Section 1-15-15.1 NMSA 1978 (copy of congressional districts established by Final Judgment and Order in Jepsen v. Vigil-Giron, D-0101-CV-2001-02177 (1st Dist. Ct., filed January 8, 2002)).

- 4 -