CFN	ישיח אז	RTII	٠

50TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SPECIAL SESSION, 2011

INTRODUCED BY

Linda M. Lopez

AN ACT

RELATING TO CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING; ESTABLISHING

CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS FOR THE ELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVES TO

THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS; CHANGING PROVISIONS OF THE ELECTION

CODE RELATING TO PRECINCTS; AMENDING, REPEALING AND ENACTING

SECTIONS OF THE NMSA 1978.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:

SECTION 1. Section 1-15-15 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1969, Chapter 240, Section 365, as amended) is amended to read:

"1-15-15. UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE--CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS ESTABLISHED.--New Mexico is divided into three congressional districts to be known and designated as congressional district [number] one, congressional district [number] two and congressional district [number] three."

SECTION 2. Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991

.186969.1

(1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 1) is repealed and a new Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:

"1-15-16. [NEW MATERIAL] UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE-COMPOSITION OF DISTRICTS.--

A. Congressional district one is composed of
Bernalillo county precincts 1 through 30, 32 through 99, 101
through 125, 127 through 129, 131 through 144, 150 through 154,
161 through 166, 170, 171, 180 through 187, 191 through 197,
211, 212, 214 through 217, 221, 223 through 226, 241 through
246, 251 through 258, 271 through 275, 278, 281 through 287,
289 through 308, 311 through 318, 321 through 324, 326 through
333, 341 through 347, 351 through 358, 371 through 375, 381
through 387, 400 through 456, 461 through 466, 471 through 478,
480 through 500, 502 through 573 and 601 through 603; Santa Fe
county precincts 18, 73, 84 and 85; Torrance county; and
Valencia county precinct 13.

- B. Congressional district two is composed of
 Bernalillo county precinct 31; Catron county; Chaves county;
 Cibola county; De Baca county; Dona Ana county; Eddy county;
 Grant county; Guadalupe county; Hidalgo county; Lea county;
 Lincoln county; Luna county; Otero county; Roosevelt county
 precincts 2 through 6 and 19; Sierra county; Socorro county;
 and Valencia county precincts 1 through 12 and 14 through 41.
- C. Congressional district three is composed of Colfax county; Curry county; Harding county; Los Alamos county; .186969.1

McKinley county; Mora county; Quay county; Rio Arriba county; Roosevelt county precincts 1, 7 through 13, 15, 17, 18 and 21; San Juan county; San Miguel county; Sandoval county; Santa Fe county precincts 1 through 17, 19 through 72, 74 through 83 and 86 through 88; Taos county; and Union county."

SECTION 3. Section 1-15-16.1 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 (1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 2) is amended to read:

"1-15-16.1. PRECINCTS.--

A. Precinct designations and boundaries used in the [1991] 2011 congressional redistricting are those precinct designations and boundaries established pursuant to the Precinct Boundary Adjustment Act and revised and approved pursuant to that act by the secretary of state as of [August 16, 1991] August 31, 2011.

B. The boards of county commissioners shall not create any precinct that lies in more than one congressional district, nor shall the boards of county commissioners divide any precinct so that the divided parts of the precinct are situated in two or more congressional districts. Votes cast in any general, primary or other statewide election from precincts created or divided in violation of this subsection shall be invalid and shall not be counted or canvassed."

SECTION 4. TEMPORARY PROVISION--COMPILATION

INSTRUCTIONS.--The compiler shall remove from the NMSA 1978 the provisions of Section 1-15-15.1 NMSA 1978 (copy of .186969.1

```
congressional districts established by Final Judgment and Order in Jepsen\ v.\ Vigil-Giron,\ D-0101-CV-2001-02177 (1st Dist. Ct., filed January 8, 2002)).
```

- 4 -