1	SENATE BILL 9
2	50TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SPECIAL SESSION, 2011
3	INTRODUCED BY
4	Linda M. Lopez
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	AN ACT
11	RELATING TO THE REDISTRICTING OF THE PUBLIC REGULATION
12	COMMISSION; ESTABLISHING PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICTS
13	FOR THE ELECTION OF PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSIONERS; PROVIDING
14	FOR THE ELECTION AND APPOINTMENT OF PUBLIC REGULATION
15	COMMISSIONERS; SETTING PRECINCTS; AMENDING, REPEALING AND
16	ENACTING SECTIONS OF THE NMSA 1978.
17	
18	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:
19	SECTION 1. Section 8-7-4 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1997,
20	Chapter 262, Section 4, as amended) is amended to read:
21	"8-7-4. ELECTIONVACANCY
22	A. Members of the public regulation commission
23	shall be elected for staggered four-year terms. [provided that
24	commission members elected at the 1998 general election shall
25	classify themselves by lot so that two commission members shall
	.186998.1

<u>underscored material = new</u> [bracketed material] = delete

initially serve terms of two years and three commission members 2 shall serve terms of four years. Thereafter, all] Commission members shall serve four-year terms; provided that, after 3 serving two consecutive terms, a commission member shall be ineligible to hold office as a commission member until one full term has intervened.

Β. The governor shall by appointment fill vacancies on the public regulation commission. An appointment to fill a vacancy on the public regulation commission shall be for a term ending on December 31 after the next general election, at which election a person shall be elected to fill any remainder of the unexpired term.

C. An appointment to fill a vacancy on the public regulation commission made before the general election of [2002] 2012 shall be made from the district as it was described in Laws [1997, Chapter 262, Sections 6 through 10] 2001 (1st S.S.), Chapter 3, Sections 3 through 7. After the general election of [2002] 2012, a vacancy shall be filled by appointment from the district set out in Sections 8-7-6 through 8-7-10 NMSA 1978."

SECTION 2. Section 8-7-5 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1997, Chapter 262, Section 5, as amended) is amended to read: "8-7-5. PRECINCTS.--

Α. Designations and boundaries used in the Public Regulation Commission Apportionment Act are those precinct .186998.1 - 2 -

bracketed material] = delete underscored material = new

1

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

designations and boundaries established pursuant to the Precinct Boundary Adjustment Act and revised and approved by the secretary of state as of August 31, [2001] 2011.

B. A board of county commissioners shall not create any precinct that lies in more than one public regulation commission district and shall not divide any precinct so that the divided parts of the precinct are situated in two or more public regulation commission districts. Votes cast in a [statewide] public regulation commission election from precincts created or divided in violation of this subsection are invalid and shall not be counted or canvassed."

SECTION 3. Section 8-7-6 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 2001 (1st S.S.), Chapter 3, Section 3) is repealed and a new Section 8-7-6 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:

"8-7-6. [NEW MATERIAL] PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT ONE.--Public regulation commission district one is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 4, 5, 7 through 18, 30, 39, 83, 94 through 96, 98, 101 through 110, 114, 121 through 125, 131 through 133, 135, 150 through 154, 161 through 166, 180 through 187, 191 through 197, 211, 212, 214 through 217, 221, 223 through 226, 241 through 246, 251 through 258, 271 through 275, 278, 281 through 287, 289 through 302, 304 through 308, 311 through 318, 321 through 324, 326 through 333, 341 through 347, 351 through 358, 371 through 375, 381 through 387, 400 through 456, 461 through 466, 471 through 478, 480 through .186998.1

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

- 3 -

500, 502 through 550, 560 through 566, 568, 569 and 601 through 603."

SECTION 4. Section 8-7-7 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 2001 (1st S.S.), Chapter 3, Section 4) is repealed and a new Section 8-7-7 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:

"8-7-7. [<u>NEW MATERIAL</u>] PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT TWO.--Public regulation commission district two is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 303, 551 through 559 and 570 through 573; Chaves county; Colfax county; Curry county; De Baca county; Eddy county; Guadalupe county; Harding county; Lea county; Mora county; Otero county precincts 1 through 10, 15 through 37 and 39 through 41; Quay county; Roosevelt county; San Miguel county; Santa Fe county precincts 18, 19, 73, 84 and 85; Torrance county; and Union county."

SECTION 5. Section 8-7-8 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 2001 (1st S.S.), Chapter 3, Section 5) is repealed and a new Section 8-7-8 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:

"8-7-8. [NEW MATERIAL] PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT THREE.--Public regulation commission district three is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 1 through 3, 6, 19, 68, 69, 78 through 80, 84 through 87, 89, 115 through 118, 127 through 129, 170, 171 and 567; Los Alamos county; Rio Arriba county; Sandoval county precincts 1 through 23, 27 through 76 and 78 through 86; Santa Fe county precincts 1 through 17, 20 through 72, 74 through 83 and 86 through 88; and Taos county." .186998.1

- 4 -

<u>underscored material = new</u> [bracketed material] = delete 1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

1 SECTION 6. Section 8-7-9 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 2001 (1st 2 S.S.), Chapter 3, Section 6) is repealed and a new Section 3 8-7-9 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read: [NEW MATERIAL] PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION 4 "8-7-9. 5 DISTRICT FOUR.--Public regulation commission district four is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 20 through 29, 31 6 7 through 38, 40 through 67, 70 through 77, 81, 82, 88, 90 8 through 92, 97, 99, 111 through 113, 119, 120, 134 and 136 9 through 144; Cibola county; McKinley county; San Juan county; 10 Sandoval county precincts 24 through 26; and Socorro county 11 precinct 15." 12 SECTION 7. Section 8-7-10 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 2001 (1st 13 S.S.), Chapter 3, Section 7) is repealed and a new Section 14 8-7-10 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read: "8-7-10. [NEW MATERIAL] PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION 15 16 DISTRICT FIVE.--Public regulation commission district five is 17 composed of Bernalillo county precinct 93; Catron county; Dona 18 Ana county; Grant county; Hidalgo county; Lincoln county; Luna 19 county; Otero county precincts 11 through 14 and 38; Sierra 20 county; Socorro county precincts 1 through 14 and 16 through 26; and Valencia county." 21 SECTION 8. Section 8-7-11 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 2001 (1st 22

"8-7-11. ELECTION OF PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSIONERS.--Commissioners for public regulation commission districts two, .186998.1

S.S.), Chapter 3, Section 8) is amended to read:

bracketed material] = delete underscored material = new

23 24

25

- 5 -

	1	four and five shall be elected from the districts described in
	2	Sections 8-7-7, 8-7-9 and 8-7-10 NMSA 1978 at the [2002] <u>2014</u>
	3	and subsequent general elections. Commissioners for public
	4	regulation commission districts one and three shall be elected
	5	from the districts described in Sections 8-7-6 and 8-7-8 NMSA
[bracketed material] = delete	6	1978 at the [2004] <u>2012</u> and subsequent general elections."
	7	- 6 -
	8	
	9	
	10	
	11	
	12	
	13	
	14	
	15	
	16	
	17	
	18	
	19	
	20	
	21	
	22	
	23	
	24	
	25	
		.186998.1

<u>underscored material = new</u>