1	AN ACT	
2	RELATING TO THE REDISTRICTING OF THE PUBLIC REGULATION	
3	COMMISSION; ESTABLISHING PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION	
4	DISTRICTS FOR THE ELECTION OF PUBLIC REGULATION	
5	COMMISSIONERS; PROVIDING FOR THE ELECTION AND APPOINTMENT OF	
6	PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSIONERS; SETTING PRECINCTS; AMENDING,	
7	REPEALING AND ENACTING SECTIONS OF THE NMSA 1978.	
8		
9	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:	
10	SECTION 1. Section 8-7-4 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1997,	
11	Chapter 262, Section 4, as amended) is amended to read:	
12	"8-7-4. ELECTIONVACANCY	
13	A. Members of the public regulation commission	
14	shall be elected for staggered four-year terms. Commission	
15	members shall serve four-year terms; provided that, after	
16	serving two consecutive terms, a commission member shall be	
17	ineligible to hold office as a commission member until one	
18	full term has intervened.	
19	B. The governor shall by appointment fill	
20	vacancies on the public regulation commission. An	
21	appointment to fill a vacancy on the public regulation	
22	commission shall be for a term ending on December 31 after	
23	the next general election, at which election a person shall	
24	be elected to fill any remainder of the unexpired term.	
25	C. An appointment to fill a vacancy on the public	SB Pac

SB 24 Page l

1 regulation commission made before the general election of 2 2012 shall be made from the district as it was described in 3 Laws 2001 (1st S.S.), Chapter 3, Sections 3 through 7. After the general election of 2012, a vacancy shall be filled by 4 5 appointment from the district set out in Sections 8-7-6 6 through 8-7-10 NMSA 1978." 7 SECTION 2. Section 8-7-5 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1997, 8 Chapter 262, Section 5, as amended) is amended to read: 9 "8-7-5. PRECINCTS.--10 Α. Designations and boundaries used in the Public 11 Regulation Commission Apportionment Act are those precinct 12 designations and boundaries established pursuant to the 13 Precinct Boundary Adjustment Act and revised and approved by 14 the secretary of state as of August 31, 2011. 15 B. A board of county commissioners shall not 16 create any precinct that lies in more than one public 17 regulation commission district and shall not divide any 18 precinct so that the divided parts of the precinct are 19 situated in two or more public regulation commission

districts. Votes cast in a public regulation commission election from precincts created or divided in violation of 22 this subsection are invalid and shall not be counted or canvassed."

20

21

23

24

25

"SECTION 3. Section 8-7-6 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 2001 (1st S.S.), Chapter 3, Section 3) is repealed and a new

SB 24 Page 2 1

16

17

18

Section 8-7-6 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:

2 "8-7-6. PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT ONE. --3 Public regulation commission district one is composed of 4 Bernalillo county precincts 4 through 18, 86, 94 through 96, 5 98, 101 through 109, 121 through 125, 131 through 133, 135, 6 150 through 154, 161 through 166, 180 through 187, 191 7 through 197, 211, 212, 214 through 217, 221, 223 through 226, 8 241 through 246, 251 through 258, 271 through 275, 278, 281 9 through 287, 289 through 302, 304 through 308, 311 through 10 318, 321 through 324, 326 through 333, 341 through 347, 351 11 through 358, 371 through 375, 381 through 387, 400 through 12 456, 461 through 466, 471 through 478, 480 through 500, 502 13 through 550, 560 through 569 and 601 through 603; and 14 Sandoval county precincts 1 through 6, 11 through 13, 29, 53 15 through 57, 74 and 76."

SECTION 4. Section 8-7-7 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 2001 (1st S.S.), Chapter 3, Section 4) is repealed and a new Section 8-7-7 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:

"8-7-7. PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT TWO.-Public regulation commission district two is composed of
Bernalillo county precincts 303, 551 through 559 and 570
through 573; Chaves county; Colfax county; Curry county; De
Baca county; Eddy county; Guadalupe county; Harding county;
Lea county; Mora county precincts 9 and 11; Otero county;
Quay county; Roosevelt county; San Miguel county precincts

SB 24 Page 3 14, 15, 17, 18 and 20; Santa Fe county precincts 15, 18, 19, 73, 84 and 85; Torrance county; and Union county."

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

SECTION 5. Section 8-7-8 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 2001 (1st S.S.), Chapter 3, Section 5) is repealed and a new Section 8-7-8 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:

"8-7-8. PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT THREE.--Public regulation commission district three is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 1 through 3, 19 through 22, 24, 25, 68, 69, 78 through 85, 87, 89, 110 through 118, 127 through 129, 170 and 171; Los Alamos county; Mora county precincts 1 through 8 and 10; Rio Arriba county precincts 1 through 23, 28 and 31 through 42; San Miguel county precincts 13 1 through 13, 16, 19 and 21 through 28; Sandoval county precincts 9, 19, 20, 28, 30 through 52, 58 through 73, 75 and 80 through 86; Santa Fe county precincts 1 through 14, 16, 17, 20 through 72, 74 through 83 and 86 through 88; and Taos county."

SECTION 6. Section 8-7-9 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 2001 (1st S.S.), Chapter 3, Section 6) is repealed and a new Section 8-7-9 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:

21 "8-7-9. PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT FOUR.--22 Public regulation commission district four is composed of 23 Bernalillo county precincts 23, 26 through 67, 70 through 77, 24 88, 90 through 93, 97, 99, 119, 120, 134 and 136 through 144; SB 24 25 Cibola county; McKinley county; Rio Arriba county precincts

Page 4

24 through 27, 29 and 30; San Juan county; Sandoval county precincts 7, 8, 10, 14 through 18, 21 through 27, 78 and 79; Socorro county precinct 15; and Valencia county precinct 13." SECTION 7. Section 8-7-10 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 2001 (1st S.S.), Chapter 3, Section 7) is repealed and a new Section 8-7-10 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read: "8-7-10. PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION DISTRICT FIVE.--Public regulation commission district five is composed of

Catron county; Dona Ana county; Grant county; Hidalgo county; Lincoln county; Luna county; Sierra county; Socorro county precincts 1 through 14 and 16 through 26; and Valencia county precincts 1 through 12 and 14 through 41."

SECTION 8. Section 8-7-11 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 2001 (1st S.S.), Chapter 3, Section 8) is amended to read:

"8-7-11. ELECTION OF PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSIONERS.--Commissioners for public regulation commission districts two, four and five shall be elected from the districts described in Sections 8-7-7, 8-7-9 and 8-7-10 NMSA 1978 at the 2014 and subsequent general elections. Commissioners for public regulation commission districts one and three shall be elected from the districts described in Sections 8-7-6 and 8-7-8 NMSA 1978 at the 2012 and subsequent general elections."_____ SB 24 Page 5

25

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14