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SUMMARY 
 
     Synopsis of Bill 
 

House Bill 376 would create new sections of law by defining correctional facility, inmate, 
isolated confinement, and serious mental illness. The bill would restrict inmates with serious 
mental illness or those under the age of eighteen from being placed in isolated confinement. 
Additionally, inmates shall not be placed in isolated confinement for more than fifteen 
consecutive days and a total of sixty days in a twelve-month period. Lastly, the bill requires 
correctional facilities to submit reports on the usage of isolated confinement to county 
commissions and to the legislature. For private correctional facilities, the bill requires reporting 
of monetary settlements paid to inmates or inmate families.  
 

FISCAL IMPLICATIONS  
 
With higher staff to inmate ratios and less efficient prison space usage, the cost to house inmates 
in isolated confinement is more expensive than housing inmates in the general population. 
Reducing the use of isolated confinement could reduce costs; however, the cost of having these 
inmates in the general population is unquantifiable. Isolated inmates reduce tension in the 
general population. Having fewer isolated inmates may require increased guard to prisoner ratios 
and increased litigation. 
 
The association of counties stated that without the use of solitary confinement, there will be an 
increase in inmate altercations. The cost of inmate assault claims varies a great deal depending 
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upon the extent of injuries. Over the past 4 years the average cost per county detention claim 
arising out of inmate on inmate altercation has been $35,740 with the most expensive single 
claim costing $245 thousand. 
 
As of late November, NMCD housed about 300 inmates in security level V and VI segregation 
units at Penitentiary of New Mexico (PNM). Neither LFC nor NMCD has a marginal cost 
estimate for these inmates, but the average per inmate per day cost to house inmates at PNM in 
FY14 was $138.28, or 37 percent more than the average of all facilities. PNM facilities include a 
range of security levels, but the PNM average cost is higher because of the roughly 300 inmates 
in segregation there. Other states, such as Arizona, have put the cost of housing maximum 
security inmates at about $50 thousand annually compared to $20 thousand for inmates housed 
among the general population.  There is no estimate for how many inmates would be moved 
from isolated confinement to the general population under this bill.  
 

Requiring correctional facilities to report on the usage of solitary confinement will result in 
additional costs to county and state correctional facilities.  The NMCD estimated that the 
reporting requirements of the bill to track 15-day limits would require the hiring of one FTE at a 
cost of approximately $60 thousand per year.   
 
This bill would decrease costs in some areas and increase costs in others making the fiscal 
implications of this bill indeterminate.    
 

SIGNIFICANT ISSUES 
 

NMCD provided the following analysis:  
Because the bill requires NMCD to report by name inmates in segregation with a serious 
mental illness, it seems likely that at least some inmates will sue NMCD for alleged 
violations of the  Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA).  
Violations of HIPAA would expose the NMCD and its employees to civil penalties of up 
to $25 thousand per year, and criminal penalties ranging from a $50 thousand fine and 
one year in prison up to a fine of $250,000 and ten years in prison. 

 
HB376 would force the New Mexico Corrections Department (NMCD) to place high risk 
inmates, who have been previously assessed as predatory and dangerous, back into 
general population after 15 consecutive days in segregation.  It would also force the 
NMCD to place protective custody inmates voluntarily placed in segregation for their 
own safety back into the general population after only 15 consecutive days in 
segregation.  When the predatory inmates then harm or kill their original victim or other 
inmates, the NMCD may be sued under both the New Mexico Tort Claims Act and 42 
United States Code Section 1983.   Callaway v. New Mexico Department of Corrections, 
1994-NMCA-049, 117 N.M. 637, 875 P.2d 393 (Ct. App. 1994) (NMCD’s immunity 
from liability under Section 41-4-6 NMSA 1978 of the Tort Claims Act was waived 
when it created a dangerous condition on the premises of the penitentiary by allowing 
inmates with a known propensity for violence to roam the facility with access to potential 
weapons); Farmer v. Brennan, 511 U.S. 825, 114 S.Ct. 1970 (1994)) (Prison officials 
have a duty under the Eighth Amendment to protect prisoners from violence committed 
by other prisoners). While the Tort Claims Act does ultimately cap damages, Section 
1983 has no such cap.   
 
While NMCD does not know just exactly how many Tort Claims Act and/or Section 
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1983 lawsuits would be filed each year as a result of this bill, NMCD estimates that 
anywhere from ten to thirty such lawsuits would be filed each year, ranging in damages 
from $30 thousand up to and in excess of $1 million.  Punitive damages in any particular 
case can range from none up to hundreds of thousands of dollars, depending on the 
circumstances of the case.   
 
Additionally, fifteen days is simply not enough time to locate a suitable population in 
another NMCD prison for prisoners placed in voluntary segregation or protective custody 
at their own request. Voluntary segregation inmates typically have very sensitive issues 
resulting in voluntary segregation placement: these inmates are sometimes former gang 
members, have drug debts, have testified against other inmates, or have committed a sex 
offense.  
 
The Department, after consulting with the VERA Institute and researching best practices, 
will very shortly implement the new Special Management Program (SMP).  Inmates who 
have engaged in predatory or other significant disruptive behavior (assaults of staff or 
other inmates, sexual assaults, prison disturbances, escape attempts, etc.) will be placed 
in the 360 day SMP program with the right to appeal placement.   
 

The goal of the SMP is to change predatory or violent behavior and thinking through the 
use of a four step program where inmates are provided extensive programming and 
incrementally increased visits, phone calls, and other earned privileges.   
 Step 1--the evaluation phase--lasts thirty days, and provides the inmates with 

programming (religious, art therapy, journaling, work book, etc.) in their cell, in 
addition to five weekly recreation periods, three weekly showers, two monthly phone 
calls and one monthly visit.   

 Step 2--the Self Accountability phase--lasts ninety days, and provides focused 
programming (interpersonal relationships, anger management, conflict resolution, 
thinking for change, GED, etc.) in a cubicle or chair where other step 2 inmates are 
present but kept by restraints from assaulting or attacking each other, along with 
numerous weekly showers and recreation periods and four monthly phone calls and 
two monthly visits.  

 Step 3--the cultural competency phase--last four months, and provides focused 
programming (cultural diversity training, etiquette class, GED/College, etc.) in a 
cubicle or chair, access to television and other electronics, along with numerous 
weekly showers and recreation periods and six monthly phone calls and four monthly 
visits.   

 Step  4--the re-integration phase--last four months, and provides continued extensive 
programming in small groups of four to twelve unrestrained inmates, shared meals 
and five hours of tier time per week, along with numerous weekly showers and 
recreation periods and ten monthly phone calls and six monthly visits.     

 
According to the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) there are eight states 
prohibiting or limiting the usage of solitary confinement among juveniles including Texas, 
Nevada, Alaska, and Connecticut.  NCSL states that solitary confinement, or “seclusion,” is the 
most extreme form of isolation in a detention setting and can include physical and social 
isolation in a cell for 22 to 24 hours per day. The American Academy of Child & Adolescent 
Psychiatry says solitary confinement of juveniles can lead to depression, anxiety and even 
psychosis. In recent years, seven states have passed laws that limit or prohibit the use of solitary 
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confinement for youth in detention facilities. For example, Connecticut law states that no child at 
any time shall be held in solitary confinement, but “seclusion” may be used periodically if 
authorized and the young person is checked every thirty minutes.  
 

CYFD provided the following analysis: 
This bill prohibits the use of isolated confinement, defined as confining an inmate in a 
cell for twenty-two or more hours each day, in CYFD facilities. CYFD does not confine 
the clients in our facilities in this way. CYFD internal procedure P.21.18 addresses room 
restriction/room confinement. The policy does not permit room restriction for more than 
nine hours, and that term would be during sleeping hours from 9 pm to 6 am. The policy 
outlines many scenarios in which room restriction might be used and the very limited 
lengths of time which are permitted – usually not more than one hour.  
 

This bill does not provide for exceptions in the case of quarantine or other medical 
circumstances that might require client segregation. These exceptions are addressed in 
CYFD internal procedures 4.10 (Environmental Health and Safety and Infection Control) 
and 5.32D (Epidemics or Pandemics).  
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