Fiscal impact reports (FIRs) are prepared by the Legislative Finance Committee (LFC) for standing finance committees of the NM Legislature. The LFC does not assume responsibility for the accuracy of these reports if they are used for other purposes.

Current and previously issued FIRs are available on the NM Legislative Website (<u>www.nmlegis.gov</u>) and may also be obtained from the LFC in Suite 101 of the State Capitol Building North.

FISCAL IMPACT REPORT

SPONSOR	Ortiz y Pino	ORIGINAL DATE LAST UPDATED	2/27/15	HB	
SHORT TITLE ABQ-Bernali		ater Authority Board El	ection	SB	609

ANALYST Armstrong

<u>APPROPRIATION</u> (dollars in thousands)

Appropr	iation	Recurring	Fund Affected
FY15	FY16	or Nonrecurring	
	NFI		

SOURCES OF INFORMATION LFC Files

LFC Files

<u>Responses Received From</u> Attorney General's Office (AGO) Public Regulation Commission (PRC)

SUMMARY

Synopsis of Bill

Senate Bill 609 amends Section 72-1-10 NMSA 1978, to provide that the board of directors of the Albuquerque-Bernalillo County Water Utility Authority (ABCWUA) shall be elected, beginning with the general election of 2016. Under SB 609, the existing board would serve until January 15, 2017. The bill reduces the board membership from seven to five, with the elected directors representing the same five districts as Bernalillo County Commissioners. Elected members of the board serve staggered four-year terms that begin on January 1 of the year following the directors' election. The board elected in 2016 will determine among themselves which three of the five directors serve for terms of four years and which two directors serve two year terms. Subsequently, all directors serve four-year terms. Directors are entitled to receive per diem and mileage in accordance with the provisions of the Per Diem and Mileage Act.

FISCAL IMPLICATIONS

No fiscal impact.

SIGNIFICANT ISSUES

Currently the membership of the Board of Directors of the ABCWUA consists of seven members representing both the city and the county. The municipal members are mayor and three city councilors appointed by the Albuquerque City Council. The county members are three county commissioners appointed by the Bernalillo County Board of County Commissioners. A city councilor member designates another city councilor to serve in the member's absence. A county commissioner member designates the chief executive officer of the municipality, a city councilor or a county commissioner to serve in the mayor's absence. City councilors serve one-year terms at the city council president's discretion.

In statute there are two other similar authorized organizations, the Lower Rio Grande Water Authority (LRGWA), 73-26-1 NMSA 1978 and the Eastern New Mexico Water Authority (ENMWA), 73-27-1 through 73-27-19 NMSA 1978. LRGWA directors are elected and the ENMWA directors are appointed by local government entities.

JA/aml