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House Bill 500 amends a section of the Public School Code pertaining to licensed school 
employees to require all licensed school employees of school districts and charter schools 
complete a “day-of-safety” professional development course on the detection and reporting of 
child abuse and neglect. 
 
House Bill 500 appropriates $100.0 thousand from the general fund to the Public Education 
Department for expenditure in FY18 and FY19 to develop a day-of-safety professional 
development course for training school personnel on detecting and reporting child abuse and 
neglect. 
 
FISCAL IMPLICATIONS  
 
The appropriation of $100.0 thousand contained in this bill is a recurring expense to the general 
fund. Any unexpended or unencumbered balance remaining at the end of fiscal year 2019 shall 
revert to the general fund.  PED indicates the development of a training course could be 
accomplished with this appropriation. 
 
SIGNIFICANT ISSUES 
 
For purposes of the section, “child abuse and neglect” is defined as actions or inactions that 
constitute “abandonment” as defined in the Abuse and Neglect Act, or that cause a child to be an 
“abused child” or a “neglected child” as defined in the Abuse and Neglect Act. 
 
House Bill 500 requires PED to develop a training course with a minimum of 8 hours of 
instruction to train school district and charter school personnel.  This bill also requires school 
districts and charter schools to adopt written policies to be included in the course materials.  The 
policies must include the following:  establish a process for internal coordination and tracking of 
child abuse and neglect reports made by schools; must clarify that school personnel may contact 
law enforcement or other state officials to report child abuse or neglect and they are not required 
to report the concerns through an internal chain of command; and prohibit schools from adopting 
a policy releasing school personnel from their duty to report suspected child abuse or neglect.   
 
PED is required to coordinate the development of the day-of-safety professional development 
course with various agencies and now includes the Attorney General. 
 
PED provides the following: 
 

The PED rule (6.29.1.9), Standards for Excellence, requires all licensed school personnel, 
including substitute teachers, educational assistants, school nurses, school counselors, 
school psychologists and other instructional service providers to complete training in the 
detection and reporting of child abuse or neglect, within their first year of employment. 
 
In the 2014 legislative session, House Bill 92, also known as “Erin’s Law” was passed by 
the New Mexico legislature and signed into law. The legislation and subsequent law 
required the PED to work with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to develop an 
evidence-based section on child sexual abuse and assault.  
 
The PED, CYFD, DOH, and New Mexico State University (NMSU) collaborated on an e-
learning training for school personnel and health providers that addressed the requirement 
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for all school personnel to complete training in the detection and reporting of child abuse or 
neglect. This may be accessed at http://ped.state.nm.us/sfsb/index.html 
 
In New Mexico, between July 2015 and June 2016 there were 184 cases of substantiated 
allegations of sexual abuse. It is unclear how many incidents go unreported each year 
(https://cyfd.org/docs/360ANNUAL_FY16_FINAL.pdf ) 
 
In that same time frame 20,766 total number of accepted (screened-in) and not-accepted 
(screened-out) reports of abuse and neglect were received by CYFD central intake. 
(https://cyfd.org/docs/360ANNUAL_FY16_FINAL.pdf) 
 
The detection and reporting of child abuse or neglect is required by both the Children's Code 
(32A-4-3 NMSA 1978) and the Public School Code (22-5-4.2 NMSA 1978). 

 
CYFD provides the following: 
 

For the federal fiscal year from October 2015 through September 2016, CYFD investigated 
18,510 cases, of which 2,693 (approximately 15%) were referrals from school personnel.  

 
PERFORMANCE IMPLICATIONS 
 
PED indicates that this bill supports the strategic lever ensuring that students are ready for 
success by providing a safe, inviting, and caring learning environment. 
 
CYFD indicates the agency does not have a specific measure directly related to this bill, CYFD 
is capable of tracking changes in reports made by school personnel. 
 
ADMINISTRATIVE IMPLICATIONS  
 
The Office of the Attorney General indicates that involvement in assisting to develop a new 
policy and ensuring enforcement of the policy and training efforts would require additional staff 
hours. 
 
According to CYFD, efforts to collaborate with PED on the development of this training can be 
absorbed with existing resources. 
 
RELATIONSHIP 
 
HB500 relates to: SB115 Safe Schools for Students Act; SB397 School Protections for Certain 
Students; and SB406 Education Department Sexual Assault Reporting 
 
TECHNICAL ISSUES 
 
PED notes the following: 
 

HB500 clarifies that school districts and charter school personnel may contact law 
enforcement or other state officials directly to report child abuse or neglect concerns. 
HB500 is unclear as to who constitute “state officials.” Section 32A-4-3 of the New Mexico 
Children’s Code mandates that anyone who has knowledge or a reasonable suspicion that a 
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child is an abused or neglected child must report it immediately. The report may be made to 
(1) a law enforcement agency; (2) the New Mexico Children, Youth, and Families 
Department; or (3) a tribal law enforcement or social services agency for any child residing 
in Indian Country. The legislature may wish to define “state officials” in alignment with 
Section 32A-4-3.  

 
OTHER SUBSTANTIVE ISSUES 
 
OAG notes the following: 
 

The internal reports on who reported the abuse do not appear to be subject to confidentiality 
and are subject to discovery. See, NM Rules of Court 11-509 (indicating that 
communications regarding juveniles are confidential when it is the parent who wishes to 
protect communications between himself and a social worker, etc). This privilege does not 
extend to personnel who are independently reporting abuse. While the person who reported 
the abuse may be willing to be a witness, a person’s track record of reporting said abuse is 
also subject to presentation before the court. A person who has a track record of reporting 
abuse that is later unsubstantiated becomes an unreliable witness. Similarly, a person who 
reports abuse “too often” can be seen as too eager. 

 
PED indicates that reporting child abuse or neglect concerns may be made confidentially, and it 
is unclear if school districts or charter schools would maintain the internal tracking and maintain 
confidentiality of the person or persons making the referral.  
 
CF/al             


