January 25, 2018

HOUSE EXECUTIVE MESSAGE NO. 86

The Honorable Brian Egolf, Jr., Speaker of the House and Members of the House of Representatives State Capitol Building Santa Fe, NM 87501

Honorable Speaker Egolf and Members of the House:

I have this day SIGNED HOUSE BILL 1, with emergency clause, enacted by the Fifty-Third Legislature, Second Session, 2018, except the following part or parts, item or items, which I have vetoed pursuant to Article IV, Section 22 of the Constitution of the State of New Mexico:

On page 1, line 7, I have vetoed the words "THE SENATE RULES COMMITTEE," as these portions of the bill title no longer relate to the content of the bill.

On page 6, line 25, I have vetoed beginning with the semicolon through the end of the line.

On page 7, I have vetoed all of line 1 and all of line 2, up to, but not including, the period.

On page 9, I have vetoed lines 5 through 8.

For seven years, the Senate Rules Committee has, with the support of leadership in the Senate, shirked its constitutional responsibility to hear nominations. As a result, 85 appointed positions are currently unconfirmed. This results in uncertainty and volatility across boards and commissions, including to our universities and public safety positions. Since last year's bill that funded the Rules Committee, over \$4,000 of taxpayer money has been spent for the confirmation of just five nominees, including the confirmation of one appointee to a term that has already expired. The excuses offered by leadership and the chair are insulting. They cannot deny that the reason for the delay in holding confirmation hearings is purely partisan. New Mexicans deserve better and the Senate Rules Committee does not deserve to be given taxpayer funds when they are not providing any work for those taxpayers.

HOUSE EXECUTIVE MESSAGE NO. 86 The Honorable Brian Egolf, Jr. January 25, 2018 Page 2	5
Respectfully yours,	
Susana Martinez Governor	
RECEIVED FROM THE OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR	
Time: a.m. p.m. Date:, 2018	BySecretary of State
Time: a.m. p.m. Date:, 2018	ByChief Clerk of the House