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SHORT TITLE Increase Penalty for Felon Possessing Firearm SB
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ESTIMATED ADDITIONAL OPERATING BUDGET IMPACT (dollars in thousands)

3 Year Recurring or Fund
FY19 FY20 Fy21 Total Cost | Nonrecurring | Affected
Up to Up to Up to . General
Total None | ¢4 754 5% | §4.754.5% §9,509* | Recurring Fund

(Parenthesis () Indicate Expenditure Decreases)
*See fiscal implications section.

SOURCES OF INFORMATION
LFC Files

Responses Received From

Department of Public Safety (DPS)

Public Defender Department (PDD)
Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC)
New Mexico Attorney General (NMAGQG)

New Mexico Sentencing Commission (NMSC)

Responses Not Received From
Administrative Office of the District Attorneys (AODA)
New Mexico Corrections Department (NMCD)

SUMMARY

Synopsis of Bill (if bill is amended state “Synopsis of Original Bill”)

HB 316 amends Section 30-7-16 NMSA 1978, regarding firearms or destructive devices, to
increase the penalty for a felon receiving, transporting, or possessing a firearm or destructive
device from a fourth to a third degree felony.

The effective date of the provisions in this bill should it become law is July 1, 2019.

FISCAL IMPLICATIONS

Enhanced sentences over time will increase the population of New Mexico’s prisons and long-
term costs to the general fund. According to the New Mexico Corrections Department (NMCD),
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the cost per day to house an inmate in public state prisons in FY 18 was an average of $123.90
per day, or about $45 thousand per year. Increased length of stay would increase the cost to
house the offender in prison. In addition, sentencing enhancements could contribute to overall
population growth as increased sentence lengths decrease releases relative to the rate of
admissions pushing the overall prison population higher. NMCD’s general fund budget, not
including supplemental appropriations, has grown by an average of two percent between FY15
and FY19 and the FY19 legislative budget recommendation is 9 percent higher than FY15,
closely mirroring the inmate population growth of 10 percent. The LFC reported in its FY19
budget recommendation that NMCD ended FY 18 with a $3.5 million budget shortfall.

Societal benefits, particularly to potential victims, would also accrue through enhanced sentences
if they reduce or delay re-offenses. LFC cost-benefit analysis of criminal justice interventions
shows that avoiding victimization results in tangible benefits over a lifetime for all types of
crime and higher amounts for serious violent offenses. These include tangible victim costs, such
as health care expenses, property damage and losses in future earnings and intangible victim
costs such as jury awards for pain, suffering and lost quality of life.

If more, higher-penalty trials result, the Public Defender Department (PDD) may need to hire
more trial attorneys with greater experience. These felonies would be handled by mid-level
felony capable attorneys (Associate Trial Attorneys). Depending on the volume of cases in the
geographic location there may be a significant recurring increase in needed FTEs for the office
and contract counsel compensation. An Associate Trial Attorney’s mid-point salary including
benefits is $92 thousand in Albuquerque/Santa Fe and $99 thousand in the outlying areas (due to
necessary salary differential to maintain qualified employees). Recurring statewide operational
costs per attorney would be $2 thousand with start-up costs of $3 thousand; additionally, average
support staff (secretarial, investigator and social worker) costs per attorney would total $77
thousand.

As of June 30, 2018, there were 69 offenders committed to the custody of the New Mexico
Corrections Department who had a conviction for felon receiving, transporting, or possessing a
firearm or destructive device as their highest charge. In lieu of additional information, costs
assume commitments remain the same, that there are approximately 69 commitments a year, and
that most cases result in commitment, the additional cost of the bill can be approximated using
69 offenders whose commitments could increase up to an additional 18 months. This equates to
approximately $4.7 million a year in incarceration costs, and up to $97 thousand a year in
defense costs, not including any potential additional prosecution or juror costs.

Additionally, an increase in the number of jury trials and appeals is possible, given the increase
in the penalty. In general, prosecutions brought pursuant to laws with increased penalties can
take up a considerable amount of judicial time and resources.

SIGNIFICANT ISSUES

The basic sentence for a third degree felony is up to three years imprisonment/$5,000 fine/two
years parole versus up to 18 months imprisonment/$5,000 fine/one year parole for a fourth
degree felony. Section 31-18-15 NMSA 1978.
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